Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Thule
I recently nearly lost a bike off the car roof when an old rack failed on the motorway so I decided to splash out and bought the X2 pack of this item from Sandicliffe Shop via Amazon.

Like other Thule products, this is top quality equipment and once installed on roof bars, fitting the bikes is a doddle. The rack is adjustable to fit a wide range of bike...
Published on 9 Aug 2012 by Mick Agar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Secure' from driving but not from theft.
These bike mounts are great at securing the bike to the roof. They are easy to use and withstand motorway speeds with full assurance that they aren't going anywhere.

As for the lockable aspect - turns out this is just an inconvenience for the owner. Do not be misled that this means your bike is secure up there from theft. Ours was stolen this morning after...
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. Vanessa O'brien


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Thule, 9 Aug 2012
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
I recently nearly lost a bike off the car roof when an old rack failed on the motorway so I decided to splash out and bought the X2 pack of this item from Sandicliffe Shop via Amazon.

Like other Thule products, this is top quality equipment and once installed on roof bars, fitting the bikes is a doddle. The rack is adjustable to fit a wide range of bike sizes.

Others have commented on the packaging and the rack is in a strong cardboard box, probably more sutable for sale in a shop than mail order, but it's hard to imagine a vendor unpacking the box and repacking it with bubble wrap or something similar. The keys are in a little slot on the rack, but the box has push-out holes to form handles and the loss of keys another reviewer experienced is a problem waiting to happen. Sandicliffe Shop did wrap mine in strong polythene, making it much less likely and mine arrived quickily and in good condition.

The instructions are the usual Thule diagrams which you either understand or you don't. Happily for those of us who don't, there are videos on youtube showing how the job is done. It's fiddly but not difficult, once you know how.

Other reviewers have mentioned the locks which are the standard Thule type. I think they probably deter people from stealing roof bars simply because wrecking them defeats the point of stealing them. Bearing in mind that even bike locks costing as much as this rack are regularly defeated by experienced thieves, expecting Thule cylinder locks to keep a bike safe is probably unrealistic.

Otherwise the product description on Amazon is clear and accurate so I've not commented on those features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product and good value, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
Well made and light weight, offering the possibilty of changing the holding bar to the other side if two racks are being used. Two systems for fixing to roof bars are supplied, one for T slot bars taking 20 x 20mm fixings, and the other a clamp system. The capacity of these clamps will accommodate small square bars but possibly not larger cross section non T slot types. Good pictorial instructions and assembly is easy though two pairs of hands saves frustration in trying to balance the holder, the plastic locking lever, a threaded T slot bolt and the nut it screws into at the same time. The system locks with a key and it would take a determined person to remove the bike. The holder is adjustable for the bike wheel spacing by sliding the rear plastic retainer. The clamp for the arm opens wide. It tightens via a hand wheel and releases in one press button movement. The price for a Thule product with free delivery in mid 2012 looks very competitive. There was no packaging around the manufacturer's box and the keys were floating loose inside and could fall out in delivery as another reviewer has commented.

Why four stars? The clamp has v shaped jaws but even so, on oval frame tube, they hold the bike only by tangential contact gripping acoss the widest part of the tube. The number of warnings in the instruction book and an additional label saying that the tube must be placed centrally in the clamp suggest this has been a source of problems, Clearly there is a risk that if not centralised and with limited contact, the bike could become dangerously loose in motion. (I have another bike holder with a very clever offset system for the jaws that holds oval tubes across the narow dimension, unlike this Thule). Secondly, if you are unlucky with the wheel base of your bike as I was, the straps that go through the wheels will foul the holder in which the back wheel sits, making it hard to do up the strap tightly. Luckily my other bike was ok on this rack but if you have one bike and this rack you might have to struggle. Perhaps this is what the pictogram in the instructions of a flexing bulging bicep means.

Overall recommended but be sure to make sure the bike is firmly in the right position when loaded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
easy to use and had no issues as all three bikes were completely secure, little tip when putting bikes onto rack, use a bungee cord to fasten front wheel to bike frame as this makes lifting ( the hardest part) the bike a lot easier as thwe front wheel is not flaying about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product, 13 April 2014
By 
T. V. Ager "Teresa" (Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
I recently downsized my car from a massive people carrier to a small estate car and decided that roof bars and a box would be needed for our camping holidays. After a lot of research I also decided to try these bike carriers instead of the rear mounted one that made me paranoid every time I drove with it on the car. The rear one was quite frankly a pain - needing to remove it to access the boot, worrying about it coming lose while driving and the hassle of loading / unloading bikes and installing the carrier meant we were doing a lot less cycling than I wanted.

As a single 5'2 woman with a good sized car and 4 children I was somewhat worried about whether I would cope with these racks and lifting the bikes on and off the car but I am so pleased to say that it is a doodle as long as I have some steps handy. The initial installation of these and the roof bars took me a while but now it's set up and I know how it works I can load them and the bikes in 10 mins. After our ride it is literally 5 mins to secure the bikes so we can head home with no more pinched fingers as I used to get with the other rack. It no longer feels like mission impossible to head out cycling and best of all I can even leave the racks (minus bikes) on the car overnight if they will be used again the next day and will still be able to load the car in the morning!

For me I would go with these over other roof racks every time as the clamp style makes loading as easy as it can be and they are definately preferable to the cheapo racks that you mount on the boot. I no longer have to worry about the rack or bikes wobbling while I drive - they are solid and I feel safe. Handling is effected slightly but not enough to worry about and if the wind blows the wrong way there's a bit of whistling but even I feel perfectly safe and I get a bit paranoid.

Security wise I would not trust the locks for any long period of time or in a high risk area but to pop into a service station or cafe they are adequate.

All in all a fantastic purchase that is helping to bring the joy back to family cycling trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stylish and solid, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
great bike carrier. it looks very elegant, but is solid and holds the bike very securely. easy to use too, clever design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A time-saving and easy to use device, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
Several people have queried the mountings. This came with two modes of mounting: 1. with 20mm 'T' shaped bolts that can fit within the track of a suitable roof-rack crossbar and 2. with rain gutter style brackets that can fit around a roof-rack crossbar.

Choosing a compatible roof-rack can be problematic. I found micksgarage to have the best priced racks and they gave excellent advice on suitability.

It's important to tighten the wheel straps when not in use as otherwise the wheel mounts might slide off and be lost. I've light 'cruz' plastic mudguards on my bike and I found it necessary to tie the rear ends of the guards to the wheels to prevent them vibrating to smithereens while on the car. The jaws of the bike clamp have a clever and easily accessible release button. It has a little curve in it that might suggest this is the direction it needs to be pushed to operate but it's actually the other way. This is no big deal if you remember that it takes very little effort to operate this release button even if the jaws have been over-tightened.

I must put a note on my dash reminding me of the increased height clearance required - it's nearly 3 metres on my car with a bike mounted.

Other reviewers gave given good advice by noting:
- don't regard this unit or it's included locks as an effective anti-theft device.
- there is surprisingly little windage noise (barely noticeable at 100 kph).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Dec 2014
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
I purchased this instead of a rear bike carrier rack. So far very impressed. It's relatively easy to operate and seems fairly well made. There is just a few things to note.
1.Although it is lockable the device will not deter a thief one iota. Do not leave the bike unattended in the rack!
2.When not in use, make sure the quick straps are engaged so the wheel holders remain in place.
3. I always use a couple of bungee cables as a back up to the main frame clamp ( my bike did slip out of the clamp once and nearly put my drivers side window through).
4. The clamp itself may damage delicate carbon frames so it might be an idea to put some form of padding either on the frame or the clamp itself.

There is only one minor issue I can see with the design that Thule could sort. When you try to lift your bike onto the rack and locate the tyres into the wheel holder the quick straps frequently get in the way. After a while you get the knack of trying to lift the edge of the straps with your tires as you place the bike onto the rack and position the frame into the clamp. All fairly tricky at night with a 15kg bike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OK For Carbon Frames, 12 July 2013
By 
J. Nelson (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
Got a new Carbon road bike and did not want to use the the Thule 531 side load clamps I currently owned. Read up on some reviews on this with carbon bikes and decided to go for it. The v-clamp ratchet system works well and you can control the amount of grip to not over stress the bike. Delivery from Allen parts was superb and the best price I found online at the time. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Secure' from driving but not from theft., 31 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Vanessa O'brien "Vanessa" (Diss, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
These bike mounts are great at securing the bike to the roof. They are easy to use and withstand motorway speeds with full assurance that they aren't going anywhere.

As for the lockable aspect - turns out this is just an inconvenience for the owner. Do not be misled that this means your bike is secure up there from theft. Ours was stolen this morning after seemingly just being yanked and yanked until the broken bits fell all over the floor.

I will be looking for a replacement that clamps the bike from both sides or maybe locks in more than one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best roof bike carrier, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thule ProRide 591 (Automotive)
This bike carrier is beautiful, very easy and safely.

My only complain is with the amazon's packaging that it's non-existence. They send the bare box
and the keys included were lost; the keys included do not came in a bag, came loose in
the box and slipped for a hole to handle the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thule ProRide 591
68.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews