Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased ordered on the afternoon and delivered next day our ...
Very pleased ordered on the afternoon and delivered next day our son was very pleased said will be ordering again .
Published 1 month ago by kevin weir

versus
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty bit of duplicity on the cover ....
This was a let down. I had really high hopes for this and I was definitely DUPED by the box cover. I thought it said from the DIRECTOR who brought you Kidulthood and Adulthood and so was very keen on the film as both these films are amazing and all the more so dfor the gifted director/actor/scriptwriter in them. However... it's ver dodgy as what it says is the film is...
Published on 24 Aug. 2010 by A. Cresswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty bit of duplicity on the cover ...., 24 Aug. 2010
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This was a let down. I had really high hopes for this and I was definitely DUPED by the box cover. I thought it said from the DIRECTOR who brought you Kidulthood and Adulthood and so was very keen on the film as both these films are amazing and all the more so dfor the gifted director/actor/scriptwriter in them. However... it's ver dodgy as what it says is the film is from the DISTRIBUTOR who brought you those films. So what? Who cares about Distribution? It's not going to effect the quality of script or photography or actors is it? They definitely did this on purpose and like a mug I was sucked in.
To show you how bad the film was though, I was only a quarter the way through before I started thinking how bad the film was and I really couldn't get my head around the difference in quality and knew something was wrong and hence picked the box up and re-read it and discovered my mistake.
So what's up with the film then? Well it's pretty dire acting. Unfortunately the young star of the film is too young. You know when you see schoolkids in school plays and how they rush their lines and think that the way to emote anger, stress, passion etc. is to shout everything .... Yup he does all this. Someone should have coached him better.
Next is the theme and construction of the script. The basis is the kid goes on a tour of London trying to get help and sanction to kill the murderer of his brother who's also a member of another gang. It's here that you get the impression the story isn't cohesive and it seems to be a set of sub themes bolted together that don't merge very well. For example the meeting with Whisper another London mini-Don is really badly put together and the DJ featured in the nightclub scene must have been promised they'd play his whole song because it's dire, adds nothing to the story or atmosphere and it goes on and on like a mini showcase. Very bad and obvious what's happening. The whole thing is pretty badly done with a lot of initial experimentation of camera angles and lighting but after 20 mins or so it settles down and the film becomes watchable. The film never moves from poor and is below average. If you appreciate the review then please vote and keep the voting system alive please. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A jumbled disaster of a film, 17 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting a gritty film and gritty is largely what you get. Beyond that the screen play appears to have been written by one of the more neanderthall characters it seeks to portray.

Poorly written with a storyline that would have no difficulty in being written twice on half a postage stamp, mostly one dimensional acting at best there was so very little to involve the audience here. Even my 15 year old son thought this one of the worst films he had seem and he appears capable of tolerating a high level of gangsta drivel.

The attempts at Tarentino were laughable and meaningless with anime cuts serving no appreciable purpose. I would have at the very least expected a decent dub step based soundtrack but that seemed absent as well.

This film fails to engage at the most basic level. Perhaps it should be returned to the cutting room floor and reworked as a dark comedy but then it would have to find wit and a modicum of intelligence from somewhere. This was a film that is the DVD first for me to have found its way into the bin within minutes of the credits rolling at the end.

This is a truely bad film presumably marketed at an audience of the gangs it depicts and those who want to be in them. My advice is - Avoid like the plague !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lord above what is this?, 2 April 2011
By 
Andy (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This film disapointed me, its set in the future and the gangs have took over, instead of gangs fighting over drugs and mooney they fight for food, 'bashy' is only in the film for the first 20 minutes, and the 'top boy' who is apparently the 'hardest' man around is the worst actor ever, not worth your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 1 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
well just watched SHANK, i was expecting something on parr with adult/kidulthood but it was way below that class. Deacon as always is a top actor, didnt like the main character junior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Substandard cinema, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
Shank is the story of London in 2015, the rich have pulled up the drawbridge and left the council estates as completely self-regulating entities. As life spirals into survival of the fittest, guns & drugs have all but disappeared from the street replaced by the hustle for food, or "munchies" as it is endlessly referred to. When Junior (Kedar Williams-Stirling) is accosted by a gang known as 'the Souljahs' his brother Rager (brilliantly played by Bashy) is forced to step in, getting 'shanked' - stabbed - in the ensuing tussle. Junior swears revenge on the Souljahs and will stop at nothing to get it.

As a supporter of British films, I honestly wanted to like Shank and from the get-go it looked like a solid premise and some decent material to work with. However the execution of this film was simply terrible; the chase scenes (of which there are many) are horrendously shaky & blurry meaning they are near-impossible to follow. There is a totally unneccesary dog-fight, where neither dog is shown on screen but you have two streetfighter-esque health bars progressively going down whilst the crowd shouts & spits in a series of close-ups as fake blood is sprayed on the concrete. Truly awful cinema.

The soundtrack is prmiarily grime with some drum'n'bass and has some stand out tracks; the scene where they go and see 'Whisper' - the overseer of the estates - is set in a club and the live music act is fantastically soulful and rhythmic. The shining star of this dross is the gorgeous Kaya Scodelario (Skins) who has a small role but steals every scene she is in. The rest of Rager & Junior's crew are a group of racial clichés that add nothing to the story.

I am very surprised with the number of positive reviews this film has, this is a shocking film, with a tenuous plot, poor direction and a contradictory message that glamorises violence & how 'sticky' (rough, unsafe) council estates are. How can you possibly base a film around how awful the effect of someone dying because of gang violence, then finish the film with the protagonist doing the exact same thing to another?? Do something else with 90 minutes of your life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Vastly Overrated, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Shank [2010] [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
This film has quite a high reputation but sadly it's not deserved as it is let down by the most important aspect of any movie: the script. The characters set out on a journey to get revenge, they walk up to someone for advice start banging their chests and threatening each other then they calm down and ares sent to meet someone else who they meet, start banging their chests and threatening each other then calm down and are sent to meet someone else, who they meet, start banging their chests ect ect. This is the narrative of the film and it does it repeatedly about 5 times and it gets real old, real fast.
The dialogue is interesting in that they try to do a slight Clockwork Orange type thing all talking in slang and rhyme unique to this future vision of London, which would work if they were talking about anything more interesting than their own egos. The characters are all very one dimensional and have no development. You expect one of them to have betrayed the group and have that as a twist at the climax but no.
However, the film does get a star for having really strong visuals and great directing. It looks really good with decent cinematography and a few really striking images at the start that really work well. There are two dream sequences one in the style of a CGI video game and the other in the style of a anime action movie. These both look great but the problem is that they don't develop the narrative at all. You could remove them and the story would still be the same.
At it's best the film feels like a graphic novel with it's strong visuals, style and voice over. However, the narrative is so weak and after the first act (a very good first act that gets your hopes up) goes absolutely nowhere. Characters and situations are introduced but then they are completely dropped and aren't developed at all. It is only 90 minutes but feels much longer because you are so bored for the last two thirds of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I know a word that rhymes with Shank..., 27 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Shank [2010] [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
From the upstart, this film does not know what it wants to be.

In one instant, it tries to be a Noel Clarke 'ghetto' type movie, and in the next, it wants to be some steam punk movie from the eighties.

It fails on every level, but it demands to be watched until the very end, because of its random set pieces, and really uncomfortable comedy.

Set in the future, or five tears away, there is a shortage of food, and people now freerun or ride bikes for transport.

Rich people still eat sandwiches, but hey, this film is aimed at the white collar wearing sun readers of the future, and this is another chink in its armour, it doesn't know how to treat the demographic its aiming at.

So instead of sending out a message, it treats us to everyone's favourite screen hoodie Adam Deacon vomiting and talking the lingo he does in every. Single. Film. He's. In.

there's a random CGI segment thrown in, and an animated segment to try and make it a little more cool, but again, it fails.

The film has tried too hard to be something different, and this is destined to become obscure very, very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad even Danny Dyer wasn't in it, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
james "dicaldio" (cambridge, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is so bad I could go on and on about it, but I won't.
It's just awful, don't even watch it, let alone buy it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mix Reactions to Another Rough Urban Youth Life in London, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
Shank doesn't really stand on it's own, being a movie about rough urban London and youth going at it again, it feels alot like Kidulthood and someone decided to make a movie and branch off from that with it's own story and unique setting. There loads more cliches in this movie, such as runs in with the police and nightclubs in London and etc. It feels like you've seen it all before.

First time I saw it, I was having mix reactions of this movie, it was everything wrong about London and it's future. It doesn't feel 'futuristic' in a science fiction sense of alot of lights and etc, it's more like nature gone wild around the next block or down the street or in some council estate for the sake of it.

The characters are your typical stereotype of a common someone. I do think there much need for it and it's nice that there some room for presenting this. I'm surprised that most of the characters do feel a bit real, are bold and present themselves very well in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Tosh, 11 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Shank [2010] [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Loved Kidulthood, Bullet Boy etc , all those gritty U.K based dramas. Shank unfortunatley fails on every level there is. For those intrested on the blu ray picture- its very good and crisp but for some bizarre reason theres no subtitle option for the film and I hated that. Its always good to be able to catch every part of the dialogue and this is hard especally in the narrative parts of the film where you cant really make out what the main character saying half the time unless you have the volume stupidly loud. As far as the film goes, it was just depressing and very predictable. Bullet boy had a real point to the film that hit home, same as Kidulthood. Not this. I couldnt help but think it was just a bunch of stupid kids running around an estate trying to outdo each other on the "i look harder than you do" level. No real character development, or a good display of londons backstreets or different cultures. Could have been sooo much more. A dissapointment and a shame really.

Blu ray picture 5/5
Story 1.5/5
Acting 1/5
Replayability 0/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shank [2010] [DVD]
Shank [2010] [DVD] by Mo Ali (DVD - 2010)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews