Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Delighted with my purchase and the very fast delivery
Published 1 month ago by G Steward

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty bit of duplicity on the cover ....
This was a let down. I had really high hopes for this and I was definitely DUPED by the box cover. I thought it said from the DIRECTOR who brought you Kidulthood and Adulthood and so was very keen on the film as both these films are amazing and all the more so dfor the gifted director/actor/scriptwriter in them. However... it's ver dodgy as what it says is the film is...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by A. Cresswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty bit of duplicity on the cover ...., 24 Aug 2010
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This was a let down. I had really high hopes for this and I was definitely DUPED by the box cover. I thought it said from the DIRECTOR who brought you Kidulthood and Adulthood and so was very keen on the film as both these films are amazing and all the more so dfor the gifted director/actor/scriptwriter in them. However... it's ver dodgy as what it says is the film is from the DISTRIBUTOR who brought you those films. So what? Who cares about Distribution? It's not going to effect the quality of script or photography or actors is it? They definitely did this on purpose and like a mug I was sucked in.
To show you how bad the film was though, I was only a quarter the way through before I started thinking how bad the film was and I really couldn't get my head around the difference in quality and knew something was wrong and hence picked the box up and re-read it and discovered my mistake.
So what's up with the film then? Well it's pretty dire acting. Unfortunately the young star of the film is too young. You know when you see schoolkids in school plays and how they rush their lines and think that the way to emote anger, stress, passion etc. is to shout everything .... Yup he does all this. Someone should have coached him better.
Next is the theme and construction of the script. The basis is the kid goes on a tour of London trying to get help and sanction to kill the murderer of his brother who's also a member of another gang. It's here that you get the impression the story isn't cohesive and it seems to be a set of sub themes bolted together that don't merge very well. For example the meeting with Whisper another London mini-Don is really badly put together and the DJ featured in the nightclub scene must have been promised they'd play his whole song because it's dire, adds nothing to the story or atmosphere and it goes on and on like a mini showcase. Very bad and obvious what's happening. The whole thing is pretty badly done with a lot of initial experimentation of camera angles and lighting but after 20 mins or so it settles down and the film becomes watchable. The film never moves from poor and is below average. If you appreciate the review then please vote and keep the voting system alive please. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A jumbled disaster of a film, 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting a gritty film and gritty is largely what you get. Beyond that the screen play appears to have been written by one of the more neanderthall characters it seeks to portray.

Poorly written with a storyline that would have no difficulty in being written twice on half a postage stamp, mostly one dimensional acting at best there was so very little to involve the audience here. Even my 15 year old son thought this one of the worst films he had seem and he appears capable of tolerating a high level of gangsta drivel.

The attempts at Tarentino were laughable and meaningless with anime cuts serving no appreciable purpose. I would have at the very least expected a decent dub step based soundtrack but that seemed absent as well.

This film fails to engage at the most basic level. Perhaps it should be returned to the cutting room floor and reworked as a dark comedy but then it would have to find wit and a modicum of intelligence from somewhere. This was a film that is the DVD first for me to have found its way into the bin within minutes of the credits rolling at the end.

This is a truely bad film presumably marketed at an audience of the gangs it depicts and those who want to be in them. My advice is - Avoid like the plague !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lord above what is this?, 2 April 2011
By 
Andy (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This film disapointed me, its set in the future and the gangs have took over, instead of gangs fighting over drugs and mooney they fight for food, 'bashy' is only in the film for the first 20 minutes, and the 'top boy' who is apparently the 'hardest' man around is the worst actor ever, not worth your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 1 Aug 2010
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
well just watched SHANK, i was expecting something on parr with adult/kidulthood but it was way below that class. Deacon as always is a top actor, didnt like the main character junior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Substandard cinema, 4 Aug 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
Shank is the story of London in 2015, the rich have pulled up the drawbridge and left the council estates as completely self-regulating entities. As life spirals into survival of the fittest, guns & drugs have all but disappeared from the street replaced by the hustle for food, or "munchies" as it is endlessly referred to. When Junior (Kedar Williams-Stirling) is accosted by a gang known as 'the Souljahs' his brother Rager (brilliantly played by Bashy) is forced to step in, getting 'shanked' - stabbed - in the ensuing tussle. Junior swears revenge on the Souljahs and will stop at nothing to get it.

As a supporter of British films, I honestly wanted to like Shank and from the get-go it looked like a solid premise and some decent material to work with. However the execution of this film was simply terrible; the chase scenes (of which there are many) are horrendously shaky & blurry meaning they are near-impossible to follow. There is a totally unneccesary dog-fight, where neither dog is shown on screen but you have two streetfighter-esque health bars progressively going down whilst the crowd shouts & spits in a series of close-ups as fake blood is sprayed on the concrete. Truly awful cinema.

The soundtrack is prmiarily grime with some drum'n'bass and has some stand out tracks; the scene where they go and see 'Whisper' - the overseer of the estates - is set in a club and the live music act is fantastically soulful and rhythmic. The shining star of this dross is the gorgeous Kaya Scodelario (Skins) who has a small role but steals every scene she is in. The rest of Rager & Junior's crew are a group of racial clichés that add nothing to the story.

I am very surprised with the number of positive reviews this film has, this is a shocking film, with a tenuous plot, poor direction and a contradictory message that glamorises violence & how 'sticky' (rough, unsafe) council estates are. How can you possibly base a film around how awful the effect of someone dying because of gang violence, then finish the film with the protagonist doing the exact same thing to another?? Do something else with 90 minutes of your life!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad even Danny Dyer wasn't in it, 19 Sep 2011
By 
james "dicaldio" (cambridge, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is so bad I could go on and on about it, but I won't.
It's just awful, don't even watch it, let alone buy it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Tosh, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Shank [2010] [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Loved Kidulthood, Bullet Boy etc , all those gritty U.K based dramas. Shank unfortunatley fails on every level there is. For those intrested on the blu ray picture- its very good and crisp but for some bizarre reason theres no subtitle option for the film and I hated that. Its always good to be able to catch every part of the dialogue and this is hard especally in the narrative parts of the film where you cant really make out what the main character saying half the time unless you have the volume stupidly loud. As far as the film goes, it was just depressing and very predictable. Bullet boy had a real point to the film that hit home, same as Kidulthood. Not this. I couldnt help but think it was just a bunch of stupid kids running around an estate trying to outdo each other on the "i look harder than you do" level. No real character development, or a good display of londons backstreets or different cultures. Could have been sooo much more. A dissapointment and a shame really.

Blu ray picture 5/5
Story 1.5/5
Acting 1/5
Replayability 0/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars juvenile rubbish, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
Like others, i was expecting something along the lines of Noel Clarke's very reasonable Adult and kidadulthood.This however is quite possibly the most childish load of pulp i have yet witnessed and only serves to illustrate just how culturally low Uk standards have fallen.As for a dystopian future, this film is more of a badly made documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shank, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Shank [2010] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the worst films i have ever seen, the biggest load of rubbish ever!! If you liked kidulthood which i thought was very good and your hoping this is the same FORGET it, Dont waste your money what a load of crap shame on you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars needs subtitles!!, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Shank [2010] [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
Was genuinely looking forward to watching this after reading the back of the box and expecting it to be a UK version of the warriors, but oh how wrong could I have been!this film is atrocious, its concept that the UKs economy could crumble and implode is worryingly believable in these times but thats about the only good thing i can find in this film. The rest is slung together with some poor dialogue and a "grime" soundtrack, maybe im just too old (28) to be watching this type of film but I found that there was too many pointless scenes where nothing happens. cant even tell you what happens in the end because id turned it off well before then! avoid like a rough London council estate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shank [2010] [DVD]
Shank [2010] [DVD] by Mo Ali (DVD - 2010)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews