Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartrending yet Powerful Cinema
'The Girl Next Door' is a horror/drama/love story that released in USA in 2007 and took three years to release in the UK via DVD. The movie is critically acclaimed, however has generally went unnoticed on both releases. The film is an adaptation of the 1989 novel of the same name written by Jack Ketchum. It's also loosely based on the true story of Sylvia Likens...
Published on 9 July 2010 by Mitun

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Mrs. Chandler must love having her around"
It's 1958 and David is fishing for crayfish when he's interrupted by Meg Loughlin, they seem to hit it off and she has a go at catching one herself. He asks about a large scar on her arm, and she tells him that she got it from an accident that killed her parents and permanently injured her younger sister. Before she leaves, she reveals that she is staying with her aunt...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by West25


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars I Couldn't Watch it!, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this as I was under the impression that when the info says "All regions", you are able to view it in any region. However, all the DVD players I have tried this disc in are unable to recognise it. Either there is a fault with the disc, or it is the wrong region. Anyway, I am disappointed that I can't watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the girl next door dvd, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
i liked this film, but some bits were very disturbing, cause of how the girls were treated, it was sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So Cruel, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
Horror films are normally not to be taken serious,this one is a true story of a mad drunken crazy woman,that can destroy a pure innocent female of all her modesty. Hard to watch..but deeply deeply disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Girl Next Door, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
Horrific, far more so that many horror films. It never ceases to stun me that there are people that could be so lacking in the human spirit. Not so much the mother, she was just mad; it was the children and teenagers who were going to the house day after day mindlessly torturing this poor girl. Nobody seemed to think this was wrong and report it not even the boy who was sympathetic towards her. Makes you wonder how they can live with themselves. Compelling viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
This film is quite shocking to find out it was based on a true story.i enjoyed it but it was really sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
This is one powerful movie. Based on a true story. I was recommended this movie by a friend and found it one of
the most moving movies I have ever seen. Be prepared to be horrified by this, without your ghosts and vampires etc;
etc; This is real life !!! Buy it, rent it, whatever. But watch it and weep !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars girl next door, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
a good horror with a twist in very good condition, sent really quickly, so I was able to view it really quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, Heartbreaking & Emotional, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most touching films i have ever watched, throughout the whole film i was completely engrossed. It had such a powerful emotional side to it. You really felt for the Characters. Extremely phenomenal acting. The film was hard to watch in certain places (i won't give the story line away). The fact it was based on true events made it a thousand times worse. I feel like this film will stay in your mind for many months to come analyzing over every aspect. How people can be so cruel. Please do give this film a chance, you will be totally engrossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so sad and evil, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is so sad to watch as it made me cry to what that girl went though
and the torture and punishment she had to bare.
This film is based on a true story it hard to believe that it did happen in real life.
The acting by all the cast where excellent and dam good.
It is well directed and it the most moving film I ever seen.
The ending to this film is so sad I was hoping she got away.
IF you haven't seen this yet I would recommended that you do.
Would of like to have known what happened to the boys and her sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I Expected, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Next Door [DVD] (DVD)
I read the reviews for the film a number of years ago, and had seen a very short clip on the web.
The story line is excellent, and very well played by all the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl Next Door [DVD]
The Girl Next Door [DVD] by Gregory Wilson (DVD - 2010)
4.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews