Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Austerity, Faith and Redemption.
I have long had a fascination with Russia, a country that has had more than its fair share of suffering. It is also a country that has produced fine novelists, composers and artists over the years, as if off a huge production line. But such artistry and talent could often lead to the Gulags during the communist era, where being part of the intelligentsia was looked upon...
Published on 30 July 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, simplified acting
The gorgeous setting and great story is somewhat played down by the overly sentimentalized acting (though less in the part of the main character) and the unusually high pace for this type of a picture. Mind you, that does not undermine the setting and story, but the film is probably better appreciated by those who are more ardent admirers of "the Russian spirit".
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by Margus Lattik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Austerity, Faith and Redemption., 30 July 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have long had a fascination with Russia, a country that has had more than its fair share of suffering. It is also a country that has produced fine novelists, composers and artists over the years, as if off a huge production line. But such artistry and talent could often lead to the Gulags during the communist era, where being part of the intelligentsia was looked upon with suspicion. But the arrival of perestroika has allowed men like Pavel Lounquine the freedom to make fine films like "The Island", which would have been inconceivable before this time when religion suffered repression. But now society is more open and people have been able to turn back to the church. Time can be a great healer, and past sins can be erased and even forgiven in the new Russia.

The film commences in the northern seas of Russia during World War Two, when two men are captured transporting coal by the Germans. One of the men desperate to survive shoots the other in order to survive. Following an explosion he is rescued by monks from a nearby monastery situated on a desolate island nearby. There he becomes a monk who is haunted by the memory of his act, and continually prays for the soul of the dead man and forgiveness for himself. He works in the boiler room of the monastery constantly hauling coal. His eccentric and erratic behaviour causes consternation amongst his brothers, but they recognise his gifts of healing and clairvoyancy. Thirty years after the war he is an ill man, but life has a final twist before he is due to meet his maker.

The lead actor Pyotr Mamonov was a rock musician in the USSR before converting to the Russian orthodox church in the 1990's. He now lives on an island much like the character he plays in the film. No wonder he is able to give such a virtuoso performance, as he simply plays himself. The character is based on a "Holy Fool", like St Francis of Assisi. Someone with a crazy sort of wisdom. The film is shot in beautiful monochrome colours, which together with the desolate scenery gives the film a magnificent look of austerity. There are shots of stunted shrubs and lichen covered rocks. The landscape is covered in ice and snow that appears of Arctic intensity. I was reminded of medieval monks who sought closeness to God in solitude, when they inhabited remote islands like the Skelligs off the coast of Ireland. Such harshness and appearance of austere poverty make the movie very Russian in character.

The film swept the Russian oscars winning 5 Nika awards including best film, and I can easily see why. It is genuinely touching at times, especially in the relationships between the monks who have a genuine love of their eccentric brother. My favourite scene is where the eccentric brother burns the boots and blanket of a fellow brother, who covets these possessions, which brings an unsuspected warmth between the two. The director himself said that he wished to show that there is a God, and that we are not alone in the world. Through the central character he has achieved this aim. The film posseses a haunting beauty the like of which I cannot recall, and tells a story of faith and redemption that tugs at the heart. It is in short a fine achievement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very Russian film, it tills the ground of the human soul, 1 May 2011
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This film was a wonderful surprise, I did not expect it to be so profound. It started out very bleak, and it continued to be very 'bleak' but somehow a deeply human situation was emerging. The actor playing Father Anatoly gives a deep insight into Faith and Salvation. This film is an antidote to Hollywood, so if you like superficial action, materialism and violence don't buy this film, as you will not last more than five minutes.

It is one of the best films I have ever seen,it reminded me of my father who was a bit like Father Anatoly.
I can not recommend it highly enough, however, it may not be everyones cup of tea but once you get into it, it is well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unorthodox view of the Orthodox Belief in Redemption, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The island is a journey into redemption, a pilgrim's progress towards purifying the being and spirit. Father Anatoly carries a great deal of guilt which appears to be indelibly branded on to his conscience and soul. He seeks redemption in whatever ways he can - healing people, challenging the liturgy and challenging the father superior of the church - these are not without really very funny consequences. He continues to live in a world of maddening guilt. His attempts at redemption and forgiveness prove almost futile.

It is a beautifully photographed and atmospheric film, most of the time it is filmed in steely blue tones. There is an understated humour which provides hilarious comic relief. Wonderfully scripted, directed and acted.

A lovely, powerful and moving film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Man is an Island...., 25 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Somehow, Father Anatoly, (born again Christian ex rock star Pyotr Mamanov) a rather unorthodox Orthodox monk who lives on the titular Russian Baltic island, is very much his own island.

Anti-social, dirty, and a prankster that both annoys and causes discomfort to his fellow monks, Anatoly is a troubled old man who is harbouring a soul-destroying act that he was forced to commit, over forty years previous.

Strangely, this unkempt and rather obnoxious figure seems to hold healing powers that his superiors do not understand or particularly approve of. A string of characters visit the almost impossible to reach monastery and they target Father Anatoly, who is dressed in rags and not in the Orthodox robes of the others.

This film reminded me so much of the excellent south Korean film 'Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter....Spring', which in some ways is unfortunate for The Island as I am comparing it against the former. That's why I'm awarding 4 stars, not five. Whilst hauntingly beautiful throughout, with its poetically arctic landscapes, it lacks the subtlety and ultimate tenderness that would really make it special. The comical moments are just a little clumsy and some of the miraculous undertakings are a little beyond credibility.

Spiritually, the ending is glorious and special, with the silent soundtrack before rousing to a joyous climax.

I rented this DVD from my local library, showing how diverse and useful their collections can be. Try them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A prayer in film form, 21 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
As a sometime student and practioner of Orthodox spirituality I found this film to be a delight - it starts with the words of the Jesus Prayer "Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, Have Mercy on Me a Sinner" and tells the story of a monk in a remote monastary in Northern Russia. Is he a prophet, a healer, a saint or a madman? There is an interesting sub-plot of the monk's experiences in the Second World War and, impliedly, of the monastary's relationship with soviet Russia.

The Island feels like a prayer in film form - and that is meant as a compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly beautiful film, 1 Jan 2011
By 
A. Kelly (London,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
There is no need to repeat what has already been said in other reviews, so I would just like to add that this is one of the most profound religious films in decades. It does not fall, as many films that try to explore the Christian faith do, into an over-pious or conventional sentimentality. The film has some sentiment, for sure, but there's nothing wrong with that. It has slightly comical moments and is a little unconventional like it's main character. It's a fantastic film so just go watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This film is amazing, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is Russian cinema at it's finest. Subtle, thought-provoking, cold and desolate, yet fearlessly beautiful. This film will cleanse you. Watch it and let it influence you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is quite simply a classic of Orthodox spirituality. It presents Orthodox themes through the story of a man who has committed a terrible sin. It is stunning to look at and deeply moving. I have watched this film many times over the years and bought copies for friends. I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unusually good modern film..., 30 April 2013
By 
Mrs. Maryna Lytvyn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I heard about this film before and was really impressed when watching. Sin and guilt that followed Father Anatoly almost his whole life , true repentance and forgiveness... He has a simple faith, but this faith has extraordinary power to change the lives of other and reveal their sins and obstacles on the way to salvation...

would love to see more such films...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monks are real people!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Island [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
One of my all-time favourite movies (though admittedly I am Orthodox!). It shows monks as neither impossibly saintly nor as corrupt and greedy but as normal people with failings who are sincerely trying to work out their salvation. It is a story of repentance and ultimate redemption despite our failings - 'our' because this applies to lay people as much as to monastics. I particularly enjoyed the scene in which Fr Anatoly shows the abbot - by most standards a holy man - that he is still in the grip of pride.

I am a little concerned at the freedom allowed to Fr Anatoly to receive lay people, particularly women, alone in his 'cell', though there is a precedent in St Seraphim of Sarov, but the overall 'feel' of the film is one of the triumph of Christ and of simple, uncomplicated faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Island [DVD] [2006]
The Island [DVD] [2006] by Pavel Lungin (DVD - 2010)
8.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews