Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you so very very much, Bones Studio, etc!
Some time ago, Bones Studio created an anime called "Fullmetal Alchemist", based to a point on the manga by Hiromu Arakawa. However, the manga hadn't even reached its halfway point in the storyline yet, so Ms Arakawa generously conceded that the director of that anime could take the storyline wherever he and his creative team wanted to go with it.

This created...
Published on 27 Sep 2010 by Mr. P. N. C. Jay

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series But Marred By Bad Beginning
First of Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood is probably my favorite anime series of all time. So why only a 3-Star Rating? Because the first 14 or so episodes really don't live up to the rest of the series. For those unaware Fullmetal Alchemist was originally made as an anime (here, here, here and here) back in 2003. When they made the series the manga was still ongoing so...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by Arch Stanton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you so very very much, Bones Studio, etc!, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
Some time ago, Bones Studio created an anime called "Fullmetal Alchemist", based to a point on the manga by Hiromu Arakawa. However, the manga hadn't even reached its halfway point in the storyline yet, so Ms Arakawa generously conceded that the director of that anime could take the storyline wherever he and his creative team wanted to go with it.

This created a dual universe for Fullmetal fans... the one of the anime, and the one of the manga. There are probably more people familiar with the first anime just because it's very, very easy to get caught up in the world it creates. Also, it's always been simpler to watch a video than read, even in a medium that's loaded with visual imagery.

Until 2009, when a new anime of the story appeared, called "Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood" to clarify one from another. The new anime is very, very close to the storyline of the manga, although sometimes that's not "all that different". The Japanese voice cast has largely changed since the first anime's time, excepting the well-known Romi Park/Paku and Rie Kugimiya, who play Edward and Alphonse Elric respectively. On the English voice cast, it's largely unchanged, although noticeably puberty has robbed Aaron Dismuke of the Alphonse duties, giving the opportunity to Maxey Whitehead. "Brotherhood" starts with an adventure that tries to introduce everybody to the new series, even adding a new character that has been in neither the first anime nor the manga, but had been designed by Hiromu Arakawa herself. The first story gives a good feel for the new artistic style (similar to that from the first anime, but softer, yet including more manga-esque gags like chibi-heads) while also introducing the major characters smoothly for those with no familiarity with the Fullmetal universe.

The extras are not plentiful... disc one has a commentary "for Episode One" with ADR director and voice of Second Lieut Havoc, Mike McFarland, voice of both Riza Hawkeye and Rose, Colleen Clinkenbeard, voice of Col Roy Mustang, Travis Willingham, and the new voice of Alphonse Elric, Maxey Whitehead. They don't talk about the episode; they talk about their characters and how each character has changed between the first anime and "Brotherhood", and about how their families can watch entire episodes of anime they have done voices for without those family members recognizing the beloved relative. It's interesting as a look into the business of voice acting, but hardly more than that. The second disc has a similar commentary for Episode Ten, with Sonny Strait, voice of Maes Hughes, Laura Bailey, voice of Lust, and Caitlin Glass, ADR Director and voice of Winry Rockbell (they get very, very giggly during their chat session). It also includes textless playbacks of the opening and ending sequences of "credits" animation with the amazing music playing throughout.

If you liked the first anime, you'll probably enjoy this series. If you like the manga, you will NEED to buy this set as soon as each volume is released. And if you've never given anime a try, thinking it was for weird geeky people... just watch "Brotherhood". Welcome to the Dark Side... we have cookies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good beginning for new Fullmetal Alchemist, 1 Sep 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
This first volume of `Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood' contains the first thirteen episodes of this remake of the `Fullmetal Alchemist' anime. The anime is the story of the young State Alchemist Edward Elric and his younger brother Alphonse as they seek the Philosophers Stone in order to undo the terrible mistakes of their past and regain their full bodies.

`Brotherhood' differs from the original anime in that it attempts to stick to the storyline of the original manga as much as possible whereas the previous anime diverged a lot and eventually went off in a totally different path. This new anime does do a good job of sticking to the manga's story and although there are some differences in places (indeed the first two episodes are new and serve to introduce the series and the characters). These differences are nowhere near as bad as those in the original anime however.

Most of the original cast has returned for the English dub, although Alphonse is voiced by an new voice actor, and the animation is just as good if not better than that from the original anime. The storyline also advances at a far greater pace than that of the original anime and while that is quite nice in places, the series does feel somewhat rushed in places.

On the downside, the series does have a tendency to overuse super-deformed animation in places but this is also something I dislike about the original manga as well so it is consistent with the source material.

Overall these first few episodes of `Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood' are a good start for the series and while it is still too early to tell whether it will be better than the original anime (one of my top ten favourite anime series) it is defiantly shaping up well and I would give is a high four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect and true to the manga., 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be the best adaptation on manga i have seen ever and ive been an anime and manga fan for years. It stays true to the original manga unlike the other series witch strayed a bit from the story line. Improved animation and more detailed explanations of the storyline. It very well portrays the characters and there personalities, plus with added humor that the first series lacked. I would say that this series is superior to the other.
The voice acting is the same and i was very please with this as i cannot fault any of them. All very good actors and fit there role well.
Overall i found this the best anime i have ever bought, because unlike naruto and bleach i have yet to come across filler arcs and prolonged chases and traveling scenes. I have bought all the ones available and have pre ordered the next one that i cant wait for.

One word of advice to those who have not read the manga before hand. Try not to watch the openings as they have pretty bad spoilers!

Also it has the Japanese Dub with English Subtitles and English Dub. If you are a fan of the Japanese voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will be buying this., 19 April 2010
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having watched this show fansubbed online I can say now it is an awsome, well written and highly entertaining show, much like it's predessesor. Part remake/reworking of the origional series this one stays closer to the manga than the origional, these 13 episodes are mostly similar to the origional show (which I own) but will go off in a differnt and some may say better, direction as the show progresses. I'm still not wholley convinced of the merits of anime on blu-ray but if this does nothing for the show then i'll be proved right but it's certainly going to be worth the gamble as the animation quality is excellent as is the soundtrack and this is a definate must buy for fans of the origional, and those that missed the origional need not feel lost as this is a re-telling not a continuation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I could have hoped, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since I first watched Fullmetal Alchemist I was hooked. The story was compelling, the characters were deep and I could really connect with them and the world was incredibly rich. I knew that seeing it on bluray would be another experience all together and was nit disappointed. The art really comes to life in this and you get to see all the tiny detail you missed in the DVD copies. It's simply a wonderful series.

If you are looking to get into anime or are a veteran who simply hasn't seen this, I could not recommend it any higher. Far and away the best anime I,have ever seen and it's the one that originally got me into them. Beautifully crafted,in every way, FMA: Brotherhood is a must have in any movie/anime collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Shirley Spellar (Chardstock, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
Brought this as a present for my grandson, just what he wanted and was really pleased with it. Highly recommend,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just the beginning., 24 Jun 2012
By 
R. Meredith "Cons" (Wrexham, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
The first volume of Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood (FA:B) is the least awesome of the five, however every tale must start somewhere, right? Because though it starts fairly small and simple (and rather reptitive, kinda!), as it continues it grows into an epic story of depth and complexity matching that of Lord of the Rings.

However, the reason this volume has earned its rating is what each episode represents on second viewing (after watching the rest of the 64 episodes, of course). You realise how many hints you missed; how many secrets are let slip - the major story arcs beginning with the flap of a butterfly's wings - forgotten on first viewing.

If you enjoyed this disc, you should do everything in your power to get volumes two through to five. There's a reason why FA:B is the #1 rated show on animeplanet. More in the next review.

Get the second one next!
Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 2 (Eps 14-26) [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable. Amazing. Jaw-dropping., 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched and own a lot of anime, and this is by far the greatest. The first series made deviated from the true story quite soon after launching as the books had not been finished yet. Brotherhood follows the true story to a T. Admittedly, the first 10 or so episodes aren't as exhilarating as the rest because it is mostly a re-cap. That is, Bones Studio had already done this part, but recreated it for the Brotherhood series. As soon as these episodes have passed I was glued.

Never have I watched a series - anime or not - that had me literally on the edge of my seat throughout (only sitting back to rest my back). Every episode had me gasping in shock and there are plenty of moments where I laughed uncontrollably outloud. As the series progresses it became more and more intense. So much so, that I watched the discs back-to-back because I just had to know what happened next. The whole time I watched brotherhood I was completely absorbed.

Where did the time go? Each disc is about 2 hours and 30 minutes (and there are 10 discs in all: 5 parts) - that's 25 hours in total! - but it sure didn't feel like that. I watched each disc back-to-back and was absorbed in every second of it. I gritted my teeth so hard at times my jaw would hurt and laughed so much at times my stomach hurt. Never have I enjoyed a series so much as I did with this. I was genuinely surprised at the depth of the show - this isn't something that's been made up as it went along, the books (and thus the Brotherhood series) is an intertwined maze of connections, with no single character going to waste - everyone has their purpose and all are vital. This series adresses courage, strength, bravery, justice, love, desperation, greed, exploitation, corruption, morality and much more and mixes them in the solution of supernatural, political and historical phenomenon (with a touch on alchemy!).

There is no review, description or synopsis that could do Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood justice, but it is definately - without a doubt - something i would recommend to anyone. You will gasp, grit your teeth and laugh through the series, and just to make it that much better, it ends on a fantastic note (one of the best - if not the best - endings to a series I've seen). There's just one thing you need to be wary of: once the credits close on that final episode, you will be putting that first disc straight back in to watch it all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Purchase, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
Fast delivery and in excelent condition. Amazon has really a great service. As for the item itself, Fullmetal Alchemist is a a must have. Looking forward to buying the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fair enough, 28 Jan 2012
By 
Kazgirl (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a review of the show itself, if you are familar with the FMA story you don't need me to tell you about it. If you are buying it for somone else, you an just google the plot:D. The DvD itself is a fairly accute renditon of the Manga. No special features is a bit of a pity but fairly stock standard for animae. However there is the option for watching the original Japanese version with Englsih subtitles. So why should you buy this? Asd said earlier it is very close to the orginal Manga, so what you see is what you goet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood Vol 1 (Eps 1-13) [DVD]
20.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews