Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very welcome return to the past....
I'll be honest. I bought this deluxe set (and that of Ommadawn) for the original mix version rather than for the 2010 mix version. On occasion I have recalled the utter enjoyment of listening to the original 1974 LP version of Hergest Ridge in my youth and wishing it were available on CD rather than that of the subsequent 1976 'Boxed' remix. There was something...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by Robert Day

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent and Infuriating
Ok - so many mixes of this record. Love the melodies, the vibe - most effective in its most simple and pastoral form in my view.

Listening to the 2010 stereo mix.

Part 1: Beautiful start - lovely separation of the individual elements - the gentle chimes, pipes, organ etc. uh oh - delay driven mandolin not quite tight enough and mixed much too loud -...
Published 12 months ago by Neil C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
cd to replace vinyl - excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revisionist approach, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
An excellent revisionist approach to renewing your label, Mike Oldfield ahs gone back an revisited the mater-tapes creating a new 2010 mix of the album, as well as a surround version of the album, playable on all surround capable DVD players. In the deluxe editions you also get the original mix the first time the 1974 original mix has appeared on CD and a demo.

The music has themes in it which feel familiar possibly because the album was next after tubular bells. Over the music of Hergest Ridge has a nice pastoral feel to it, and the bonus track or an older version of `In Dulci Jubilo' originally a B-side and the `Spanish theme' essentially an extract of `Hergest ridge' are nice.

The surround mix is revisionism at its best opening up the surround field and using all speakers, the mix itself is defiantly discrete and up there with the best surround mixes available. The only let down being its only Dolby digital and not DTS or LPCM which would really have helped make the music zing. So I have to dock a point for that.
Otherwise an excellent deluxe edition and worthy of any Mike Oldfield fans collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intimate, beautiful album, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Jan Friedman "Marty" (Brno, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
Completely different than Tubular bells, to me a better "listen-to" album. Meditative, contemplative, transporting into another world. 5.1 mix is a fantastic addition and a reason why I bought this edition. I got what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars after almost 40 years....it finally makes sense, 14 July 2012
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
At the time of this albums original release, I was one of those many, many people for whom it made absolutely no sense, either musically or conceptually. There was always something indefinably "wrong" about Hergest Ridge - the harshness of the brass section, the messy muddy recorder rabble, the over-repetition of redundant phrases...it simply missed at the time. Over many years it's been my most-played Oldfield album, not because I suddenly liked it but because i imagined that through repetition it would become familiar, and hence make sense. This really put it in the same league as albums like Obscured by clouds, Crisis What Crisis, and anything by Yes and King Crimson - after many listens the truth would out. But it didn't, and it still hadn't clicked in 2010 when this came out. Rather than buy this then i gave the "remaster" edition a final chance, and it suddenly made perfect sense. All the right ingredients are in here, I was just experiencing them in the wrong way.

Here is the original 1974 mix which was, admittedly, a bit jumpy and overblown and was somewhat calmed down by the remaster that came out in 1976 with the "Boxed" series, and replaced it as the industry standard. So something of a lost mix here. the new remix is, ahem, possibly a victim of technology, and sounds re-recorded in places, something Mike should have done to the whole album instead of re-recording TB in 2003 - no one wanted yet another TB release, they wanted HR put "right". So this new remix, ahem, recording, puts a lot of the oddities right, and presents everything centre stage so the listener can decide which parts to focus on rather than being dictated to by a mix engineer.

It's just the same 40 minutes of music over and over again, but it's right this time round. Well done Mike, and why didn't you do this in 2003? If you'd got it right in 1974 you wouldn't have become a one-hit wonder (TB....yawn).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited release, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Robin Whitworth (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
Like many other Mike Oldfield fans I have waited a long time for this release.I shall never forget the disappointment of hearing the remixed version of Hergest Ridge in the "Boxed" set of LP'S. Since the release of the remix on CD, and the poor condition of my original vinyl, I have had to buy a good quality "original" LP from ebay and transfer it to minidisc (remember them?)
This release of the original version is excellent, and I haven't even played the 2010 remix yet.The presentation and packaging of this set is just super.Thanks Mike, a real treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great remaster, 11 Jun 2010
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
Great sound, great deluxe edition. 1974 original mix, 2010 stereo and 5.1 remix, In dulci jubilo original b'side version... A must buy for Oldifield fans and music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RIDGE OF SIGHS, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
I remember the the anticipation when this was first released,and the music was annalysed like nothing since "Sargeant pepper", Mike Oldfield was feted as a genious,and all was well with the world,this massive set kicks off with a 2010 stereo mix,of course there are comparisons with "Tubular bells" that is inevitable,but this is a
piece of work that stands on its own,part one lasts for 19.21 part two is much more organic with an innocence and purity to it,more pastoral in a way,you can almost see the lambs leaping around,it has structures somewhat simillar to Elgar,with vast vistas openning up,very English sounds,the lasst section still sounds fuzzy to me,"In dulce Jubilo" turns up next and was a B side where it should have remained,as it is a throwaway track that only bolsters the playing time of the cd.
"Spanish tune"finishes of the first cd and is beautiful,it was used as a promotional single for the album and was not commercially availiable,until this release.
CD1 44.18
Disc two features the original 1974 stereo mix which still sounds as fresh and innovative as ever,although slightly less crisp than the 2010 mix,the one thing that really stands out is that the analogue mix holds up well,and kind of fits in well considering it is 38 years old!!
Tracks Three and four are the original demo versions and are previously unreleased versions and consequentally less produced
CD TWO 78.54
Features the original 1974 stereo mixes of the album,and the rather wonderful demo recordings which stand up well
THE DVD 39.01 features some great graphics to the surround sound mix

MIKE OLDFIELD PLAYS ALL INSTRUMENTS

ORIGINAL RELEASE 1974(VIRGIN)
2010 RELEASE (MERCURY0

CD ONE.....44.18
CD TWO.....78.54
DVD.....39.011

The packaging is first class,with triple fold out sleeve and booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hergest Ridge, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
I must confess to be a Mike Oldfield fan and although he is not the best musician in the world and (sorry Mike if you are reading this) has produced some real turkeys every now and again he comes up with some real humdinger of a concept album and this is one of them. Very well remastered and a pleasure to listen too. This flash of genius makes one forgive some of the others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hergest Ridge, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
I have just added Hergest Ridge to my collection of Mike Oldfield Cd's, and am delighted. As ever, delivery from Amazon was fast, and the product arrived in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the scooping master!!, 6 Jun 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Hergest Ridge (Audio CD)
A pre curser to all things hip hop along with touches of the new life movement Hergest Ridge comes again like the glider on the sleeve (incidentally this is NOT the ariel view of said place but infact two miles south!! - apparently all repressings will show correct image).
Mick's music really shows through the bell work of his first lp. Let's hear more remixes Mick!!

Can't wait to see the live performance of Ommadawn later in the year as well!

Go buy the Platinum Deluxe Edition as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hergest Ridge
Hergest Ridge by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews