Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2015
Always like this album. Nice to have it again!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 July 2012
At the time of this albums original release, I was one of those many, many people for whom it made absolutely no sense, either musically or conceptually. There was always something indefinably "wrong" about Hergest Ridge - the harshness of the brass section, the messy muddy recorder rabble, the over-repetition of redundant simply missed at the time. Over many years it's been my most-played Oldfield album, not because I suddenly liked it but because i imagined that through repetition it would become familiar, and hence make sense. This really put it in the same league as albums like Obscured by clouds, Crisis What Crisis, and anything by Yes and King Crimson - after many listens the truth would out. But it didn't, and it still hadn't clicked in 2010 when this came out. Rather than buy this then i gave the "remaster" edition a final chance, and it suddenly made perfect sense. All the right ingredients are in here, I was just experiencing them in the wrong way.

Here is the original 1974 mix which was, admittedly, a bit jumpy and overblown and was somewhat calmed down by the remaster that came out in 1976 with the "Boxed" series, and replaced it as the industry standard. So something of a lost mix here. the new remix is, ahem, possibly a victim of technology, and sounds re-recorded in places, something Mike should have done to the whole album instead of re-recording TB in 2003 - no one wanted yet another TB release, they wanted HR put "right". So this new remix, ahem, recording, puts a lot of the oddities right, and presents everything centre stage so the listener can decide which parts to focus on rather than being dictated to by a mix engineer.

It's just the same 40 minutes of music over and over again, but it's right this time round. Well done Mike, and why didn't you do this in 2003? If you'd got it right in 1974 you wouldn't have become a one-hit wonder (TB....yawn).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
cd to replace vinyl - excellent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
An excellent revisionist approach to renewing your label, Mike Oldfield ahs gone back an revisited the mater-tapes creating a new 2010 mix of the album, as well as a surround version of the album, playable on all surround capable DVD players. In the deluxe editions you also get the original mix the first time the 1974 original mix has appeared on CD and a demo.

The music has themes in it which feel familiar possibly because the album was next after tubular bells. Over the music of Hergest Ridge has a nice pastoral feel to it, and the bonus track or an older version of `In Dulci Jubilo' originally a B-side and the `Spanish theme' essentially an extract of `Hergest ridge' are nice.

The surround mix is revisionism at its best opening up the surround field and using all speakers, the mix itself is defiantly discrete and up there with the best surround mixes available. The only let down being its only Dolby digital and not DTS or LPCM which would really have helped make the music zing. So I have to dock a point for that.
Otherwise an excellent deluxe edition and worthy of any Mike Oldfield fans collection
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 June 2010
Like many other Mike Oldfield fans I have waited a long time for this release.I shall never forget the disappointment of hearing the remixed version of Hergest Ridge in the "Boxed" set of LP'S. Since the release of the remix on CD, and the poor condition of my original vinyl, I have had to buy a good quality "original" LP from ebay and transfer it to minidisc (remember them?)
This release of the original version is excellent, and I haven't even played the 2010 remix yet.The presentation and packaging of this set is just super.Thanks Mike, a real treasure!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 13 March 2012
I remember the the anticipation when this was first released,and the music was annalysed like nothing since "Sargeant pepper", Mike Oldfield was feted as a genious,and all was well with the world,this massive set kicks off with a 2010 stereo mix,of course there are comparisons with "Tubular bells" that is inevitable,but this is a
piece of work that stands on its own,part one lasts for 19.21 part two is much more organic with an innocence and purity to it,more pastoral in a way,you can almost see the lambs leaping around,it has structures somewhat simillar to Elgar,with vast vistas openning up,very English sounds,the lasst section still sounds fuzzy to me,"In dulce Jubilo" turns up next and was a B side where it should have remained,as it is a throwaway track that only bolsters the playing time of the cd.
"Spanish tune"finishes of the first cd and is beautiful,it was used as a promotional single for the album and was not commercially availiable,until this release.
CD1 44.18
Disc two features the original 1974 stereo mix which still sounds as fresh and innovative as ever,although slightly less crisp than the 2010 mix,the one thing that really stands out is that the analogue mix holds up well,and kind of fits in well considering it is 38 years old!!
Tracks Three and four are the original demo versions and are previously unreleased versions and consequentally less produced
CD TWO 78.54
Features the original 1974 stereo mixes of the album,and the rather wonderful demo recordings which stand up well
THE DVD 39.01 features some great graphics to the surround sound mix



CD ONE.....44.18
CD TWO.....78.54

The packaging is first class,with triple fold out sleeve and booklet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 June 2013
Completely different than Tubular bells, to me a better "listen-to" album. Meditative, contemplative, transporting into another world. 5.1 mix is a fantastic addition and a reason why I bought this edition. I got what I expected.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 27 December 2011
I must confess to be a Mike Oldfield fan and although he is not the best musician in the world and (sorry Mike if you are reading this) has produced some real turkeys every now and again he comes up with some real humdinger of a concept album and this is one of them. Very well remastered and a pleasure to listen too. This flash of genius makes one forgive some of the others!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Great sound, great deluxe edition. 1974 original mix, 2010 stereo and 5.1 remix, In dulci jubilo original b'side version... A must buy for Oldifield fans and music lovers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 7 August 2010
I have just added Hergest Ridge to my collection of Mike Oldfield Cd's, and am delighted. As ever, delivery from Amazon was fast, and the product arrived in perfect condition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Ommadawn by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2010)

Hergest Ridge
Hergest Ridge by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2010)

Incantations by Mike Oldfield (Audio CD - 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.