Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£14.98+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2010
As a big Streisand fan I read the customer reviews with interest before buying this DVD. I have made negative comments about Barbra's offerings in the past ( The Movie Album was very disappointing ) but I think the various negative comments about there being too much chat or celebrity crawling in for this product are just rubbish. Anyone who has seen Streisand live (for real or on previous DVDs) knows that she likes to chat to her audience; it's very much part of her show. She does it in stadiums with 10,000+ people so it's kinda obvious that she will do the same with only around 100 people, many of whom are friends.
This is Streisand as you haven't seen her before. A unique opportunity to see a global superstar perform in an intimate basement nightclub with just a jazz quartet for backing. Barbra is very relaxed throughout the performance and the soft, laid back songs suit her perfectly maturing voice. With the tight camera angles necessitated by the small venue, you really do feel that you are part of a once in a lifetime experience. Do youself a favour and don't miss the chance to see a very unique performance.
0Comment29 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
Great DVD/CD, Barbra in fine voice as ever. Think what makes, especially the DVD special is that she is performing in front of an invited and vetted audience, you can see how much more relaxed she is than in in a "general public" audience. No criticism of Barbra meant, just the times we live in. Another plus for us dedicated fans is the inclusion of songs like "Funny Valentine" which haven't seen the light of day in her repertoire in many years. Probably one for the fans rather than the casual buyer, but then that's what the whole thing was meant to be about.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 December 2012
This is a review of the combined CD and DVD package. The inclusion of the filmed concert certainly adds to the sense of occasion and I would not recommend buying the CD without the DVD if the potential purchaser can at all help it.

The intimate concert took place on 26 September 2009 when Streisand was sixty-seven years old. And yet she's still demonstrably got that voice in terms of both strength and subtlety. At heart she is an actor who sings and it is this, I think, that is at the heart of her success in that she brings alive in a convincing manner the words that she sings.

On the eighty-three-minute film we meet briefly the waiter and friend who first pushed Streisand up onto the stage, as well as Marty Erlichman, her manager for forty-eight years. There's plenty of witty tales and entertainment between songs. There's self-deprecating humour too when Streisand leaves the stage one song too early.

This was clearly a night, a concert to remember. Its setting precluded a stadium-sized crowd but that in itself makes watching and listening to the concert all the more special. We may not have been there in person, but we have here the next best thing.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
this shows Babs. in a more intimate and informal environment, and whilst I like it, I do prefer the wonderful music she has performed in her various concerts over the years. I have idolised her since she first appeared in Funny Girl and she can do no wrong. I marvel how she can still sing and move me to tears with her performances. So far as I am concerned she is unique and wonderful.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
For those who love Streisand and wish to have a change from the large arena concerts this is an essential buy. It's so interesting to see that a voice that can reach up to the top of the O2 - where I was sitting - can also fit perfectly in a very small nightclub. Not only are the songs beautifully done, even with the slight crackle due to her mature years, her chat to the audience in between was enthralling. This is a treat for all fans at a snip of a price. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
I was a bit disappointed did not seem up to usual standard but it was different,to much chatter not enough songs
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
What a great DVD and CD. This is from the purest and most beautiful voice on the planet. Who cares if she is a bit more mature, she is 68 years of age and is still the greatest at volcalising and phrasing. The ones that say she is dissapointing should enjoy her while we can and let her go on singing. She has given us 50 years of pure magic. I say BRAVO BARBRA.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
This is more of an album for big fans of Babs as its a show in a small room of the club where she started off and an intimate setting and atmosphere but its a nice record of the event. More for a Babs fan than her usual releases.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
A lovely performance, the voice holds up well and the combo play beautifully - so why spoil it by kiss-assing the Clintons? Even hubby Brolin looked less than impressed - if not for that, this would have been a 5 star rating
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
Well what can I say. This is absolutely an amazing dvd/cd combo. Barbra's voice is perfection and the intimacy of the gathering and the excitement is palpable. I wish I was one of the lucky winners. I saw Barbra in London in 2007 and it was a dream come true. A must for every romantic.
22 comments5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse