Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic
First and foremost I have written this review due to the the two dimbwitts who have contributed so much usefull information about this trully brilliant film!!!

I have just ordered the film on DVD as I have been waiting for a region 2 release for some years now but own it on VHS so can't comment about technical qualities of the DVD.

This film is with...
Published on 5 Jun. 2011 by Benny

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor image quality and sound
Terrible image Quality it feels like someone has copied it off a VHS onto a DVD
Lots of Flickering and the sound quality is appalling

Very disappointed to say the least as i love this film

There really should have said in the description the the quality really isnt very good
Published 16 months ago by KimT


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic, 5 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
First and foremost I have written this review due to the the two dimbwitts who have contributed so much usefull information about this trully brilliant film!!!

I have just ordered the film on DVD as I have been waiting for a region 2 release for some years now but own it on VHS so can't comment about technical qualities of the DVD.

This film is with no doubts a classic and I do not understand why it is not a huge hit. I can't state this enough you must watch this movie. It follows the life of a young boy named PK from a new born baby through to a young adult and the challenges for not only blacks but non africaans whites growing up in Africa. PK is sent to live with his grandfarther when his mother is ill but he has no concept of how to look after a child so entrusts PK to his German friend Doc. Doc explains to PK how the answer to all things can be found in nature if you know where to look and brings a quiet boy to life. Doc is then sent to prison for being a German while in a British occupied country during WWII but is treated like a guest of honour by the guards in an all black prison. PK is bullied at school so Doc asks for one of the inmates to teach PK boxing which he takes to imediatly. Later in life PK becomes a school champion boxer and usese this as an inroad to the black comminity to enable him to set up schools to teach English.

Well worth buying as it is one of my favoutite films of all time. Can't wait for the post to arrive as the VHS machine has been banished to the loft for a long time now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
An amazing film, follows the story line of the book. The main character PJ was carefully chosen. I have waited a long time to buy this story on DVD as previous ediditions were sold out very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor image quality and sound, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible image Quality it feels like someone has copied it off a VHS onto a DVD
Lots of Flickering and the sound quality is appalling

Very disappointed to say the least as i love this film

There really should have said in the description the the quality really isnt very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the power of one, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
this is the story of PK who was bullied as the only English boy in an Africaans boarding school.He learnt to stand up for himself and his beliefs first by learning to box at an early age and then by taking on the South African Establishment.This is a story of one mans courage and his determination to make a difference where it mattered.As he grows to manhood the black african races regard him as a person with special powers to unite all races and name him "rainmaker".He is determined to let black people have the same chances in life as white people and opens an evening class where black people can learn to read and write.The police discover it and shut it down.He visits a black township after dark which is illegal risking his life when the police invade .A wonderful story of how one person can make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars power of one, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film, delivered fast! As good as the book with a memorable sound track. A definite must see, Morgan Freeman is outstanding, and a very young Daniel Craig is very menacing. Tremendous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
How very disappointed I was in this film. I had so loved the book which was full of South African mystery and colour, that the film was a complete let down for me. It left out huge chunks, especially PK's life-redeeming meeting with the Hoppy Gruenwald on the train, and it added totally unnecessary bits like the girlfriend, who then died anyway! Why did the story have to be changed so that Doc was nowhere near as vital to PK's life? Certainly the producers and put in colour and some atmosphere, but it didn't do it for me. Maybe I shouldn't have read the book first, but the book was a classic. The film is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of One., 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourite films. It is a powerful story of love for humanity against apartheid in South Africa. It is a film for thought and a mixture of emotions, ranging from compassion, funny and extremely sad. There is some violence and distressing scenes which depicts the ignorance, hatred and fear of the whites dominating the blacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you for yourquick delivery the film is great I loved it its just how I remember it long time since I watched it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Power of Cinema, 30 April 2014
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
Based on the novel of the same name, the film tells the story of a young English boy in South Africa during the 1930s and 40s, who both sees and faces prejudice at the hands of the Afrikanners in South Africa. Starting out a weak little critter, he grows into a idealistic boxer, with help from an exiled German pianist and a convict-turned boxing coach, who show him to fight with both brain and heart.

Despite some info-dumping narration that belie the film's novelistic origins, and unresolved plot threads, 'The Power of One' makes for gripping emotional entertainment. This is thanks to some really great performances, such as Freeman as a sympathetic and wise con man-turned prisoner who teaches the lead about the legend of 'The Rainmaker'. an inspirational figure who comes to give hope to those in despair. We also have a stirring African score by Hans Zimmer that very much foreshadows his brilliance with 'Lion King', and dashes of bloody viscerality that show the brutality and harshness of South African life at the time. All this is bound together by gorgeous cinematography of the African savannah, reminding us only more of Avildsen's gift for imagery.

As far as the negatives go, aside from the sometimes wordy narration that serves less to help us understand the lead's mindset than just to give a history lesson or spell out what we can see onscreen, is the sometimes clumsy plotting. At points, the film will raise an idea or have a powerful scene, and then there is no payoff or repercussion from it. Prime example, when one of the main characters die, their father has a funeral. He's a leading figure for Apartheid, bear in mind. At it, he sees a bunch of Black South Africans attend also, as she helped teach them. He seems stunned yet also kind of moved, and it makes for a powerful scene. However, this is the last time the father is seen on screen. We never know if this sight really meant anything and changed his views, or if he continued in his ways. It just feels incomplete, and very much also applies to the voiceover segments, where the film sends more time telling than showing.

Still, despite the bumps here and there, 'The Power of One' manages to utterly entrance. This would be Avildsen's last major hurrah in the field of the sports-drama that he had a hand in shaping with 'Rocky' and 'Karate Kid', and what a fine note to go out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
P. Bauer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power Of One [DVD] (DVD)
This really is a powerful movie about the struggles of a white boy of British descent. The story begins in pre-war South Africa and very dramatically encapsulates the history of a nation and the evils of mindless racism. Not only an extremely powerful storyline, but also some excellent acting. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power Of One [DVD]
The Power Of One [DVD] by John G. Avildsen (DVD - 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews