Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!!!
I bought this to record my XBOX 360 gameplay, and it works like a charm!
This will have many years of work, and will also help if I need to convert VHS!
If you are looking to buy this so you can record XBOX 360 or any other console game play, here is a sample of the quality: [...]
Published on 1 Sep 2012 by Joseph Maggs

versus
79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, but could be better -
After reading the huge hype on Ezcap's website and on Ezcap's forum I bought this 4 weeks ago for [...] thinking it would instantly solve all my problems of converting VHS tapes to DVD and having no voice sync problems.

But it didn't, I followed the instructions to letter and with the software supplied I recorded 1 hr of VHS tape many times to test it. Every...
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by Captain Lobster


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best!!!, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
I bought this to record my XBOX 360 gameplay, and it works like a charm!
This will have many years of work, and will also help if I need to convert VHS!
If you are looking to buy this so you can record XBOX 360 or any other console game play, here is a sample of the quality: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EzCAP 116, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
Had no problems with this unit, and it worked perfectly......allows you to take photo snapshots, but these did not come out as perfect as i had hoped, but the main reason I purchased this item was to transfer all of my vhs tapes onto my laptop ready to burn onto a DVD.....and results were good.
would recommend this to anybody who needs to do the same..........thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, but could be better -, 7 Sep 2010
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
After reading the huge hype on Ezcap's website and on Ezcap's forum I bought this 4 weeks ago for [...] thinking it would instantly solve all my problems of converting VHS tapes to DVD and having no voice sync problems.

But it didn't, I followed the instructions to letter and with the software supplied I recorded 1 hr of VHS tape many times to test it. Every time I saw the recordings on my hard drive it still had lots of voice sync problems.

Some times the voice and video was in sync at the start if the 1 hr recording but after 5-10 mins it slowly went out of sync and by the end of the recording it was very out of sync.

But most times the voice and video was out of sync from the start to the end of the 1 hr recording.

I then recorded the same 1 hr of tape with Magix Movie Edit Pro 15 many times to see if this would make any difference, it didn't, it gave me the same results as above.

I was gutted as the super hype promised so much but in the end Ezcap116 gave so little.

For me EZcap 116 was a total waste of money and it didn't live up to all the hype of where they implied - you can instantly plug this in to your PC and get perfect results every time -, It didn't do this.

It would have been better if I'd got an Easycap clone as it would have done the same job as EZcap116 but it would have been around 1/4 of the price.

Note
-
Voice Sync problems are where the video of some one speaking
doesn't match the sound of their voice so it looks odd.

But seeing as Ezcap116 had now been used by me and thus I couldn't send it back for a full refund and if I sold it I'd make a loss, I decided to play around with the settings (in the supplied software and in Magix Movie Edit Pro 15) to see what could be improved.

In the end I managed to fix the voice sync problems but it took an awful lot of time and hard work to do this.

Now I don't have problems with that, but Ezcap116 wasn't as " easy " to use as all the hype said.

There are better and cheaper versions of Ezcap116 (made by other manufacturers) which do the same job but not with all the hype nor the expense.

If Ezcap116 had worked exactly as the hype said I would have praised it a huge amount and would have used it all the time.

*********************

Good points
-
Uses newer chips than Easycap.

Works with Windows up to Windows 7 64 bit.

Video and sound quality is as good as the original VHS tape.

Is small and very light.

For laptops and netbooks its perfect (as adding anything to them is always via USB socket).

Ezcap116 finally worked but you have to work very very hard to adjust the supplied software to get rid of the voice sync problems on VHS tape.

Ezcaps forum is ok for advise, but its not perfect.

Via the red and white sound leads and correct software EZcap116 can have an old record or cassett players plugged in to convert these in to MP3 files.

*********************

Bad points
-
Hugely over hyped.

Not as simple and not as "ez" to use as the manufacture claims.

Supplied software isn't that good nor is it very new, would have been better if they had supplied a full version of Magix Movie Edit pro 14 or 15 as that is much better software.

Looks Ugly (like 2 silver blobs joined side by side).

When in use the EZcap's body gets very hot, so the case should have been better thought out and designed for it to run cooler.

Expensive for what it is, would have better if it had been sold for half price as there are better and cheaper versions of Ezcap116 (made by other manufacturers) which do the same job but not with all the hype nor the expense.

Recording level is preset, so you can't alter it.

In general USB based video capture devices like EZcap116 are not as good as tv cards plugged in to the motherboard of your desktop (which do the same job as Ezcap 116).

When you're searching the VHS tape for your favourite clips, the display on Ezcap116's software locks up so you can't see the video clips winding forward or backward, thus you don't know where the clip is unless you stop the tape and play it every few seconds to find it, then restart it if its not there. This on 3-4 hr tape can take forever to do.

Instruction manual with Ezcap116 and supplied software doesn't tell you how to fix the voice sync problems. It doesn't give you the exact settings, It doesn't give you any hints on how to fix the voice sync problems.

Yet the EZcap116 is hyped to make VHS to DVD recordings easy, but its not.

Ezcap's support team at their head office never reply to your e-mails.

*********************

Suggestions to Ezcap
--------------------
For Ezcap116 to really live up to their hype, Ezcap's on board computer chip will have to be re-programmed to analyse and adjust (in real time) every frame of a VHS tape as its being recorded so the chip syncs the audio so it matches the video.

That would produce a clone of the VHS tape and then Excap116 would live up to the hype and be " easy " to use.

Conclusion
----------
Since I figured out the voice sync settings, I decided to us these settings with my ancient tv card (which has a composite video input and plugs in to my motherboard), the sound lead from my VCR is plugged in to my PC's built in sound card.

This setup + Magix Movie Edit Pro 15 delivers perfect results 100% of the time, with none of Ezcaps problems.

I don't use EZcap116, so for me getting it was a waste of money, i just checked Amazon, new Ezcap116 with postage from Climax is now six pounds cheaper than it was when I bought it 4 weeks ago in August 2010.

I feel gutted that I fell for some thing which is over hyped and over priced.

---------------

If you have 7 year old or newer desktop PC and want to convert VHS tapes to DVD save your money, buy a decent tv card for your PC + decent movie editing software and that will work much better than EZcap116.

If you have a laptop or netbook buy Ezcap116 and enjoy it but don't believe the hype and don't expect to get perfect VHS to DVD copies with no voice sync problems.

You will have to work very very hard with the supplied software for this to happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy Customer., 29 Sep 2010
By 
Jp Wills "big jon" (blackpool, lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
Very very pleased with this product, with the prompt delivery and with the communications during the purchase.

Bought from EZ-Cap UK & delivered exactly on schedule. Performance exactly as described on the box and by other reviewers.

Having said this - I only wanted a video capture capability as I have alternate editing s/w so I'm not reflecting on the tools provided. I'm not Steven Spielburg and don't have his budget but this is great for your average Joe to digitize his/her life in film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for the price, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
Used this to transfer old VHS tapes to DVD. Does the job well, however problems when you fast forward tapes- screen freezes.
The instructions for editing are not great you need to print them all off before editing.However for the price this is a good product and the finished result is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great item easy to use and it was delivered very quickly- highly recommended, 27 Jun 2010
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
This item was delivered very quickly. It was reasonably priced and simple to use. I use it wih my xbox to capture video to upload to Youtube and this makes the whole operation very easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good item and works with Mac, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
I have a Macbook and I bought this after having a look on the ezCap website which said that it worked with Windows and Mac. The Amazon advert only mentioned Windows compatibility, sure enough when the item arrived there was only Windows software in the box. Not a disaster as I have Parallels software and I run Windows 8 but it would be a fiddle so I contacted the seller to ask can it work with a Mac and they instantly e-mailed back with a link to download Mac software which appears to work fine.

I haven't used it with a project yet so cannot comment on its quality but great service from the seller ClimaxDigital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars does the job but not great, 4 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
i bought this about a week about, and after updating software for windows 7 it was extremly easy to use, installing it and recording was simple, and for recording ps3 and xbox you need a few extra connectors but still extremly easy. BUT it records in 240p so quality is NOT BRILLIANT, but for under 20 quid i cant really complaine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Happy Son, 23 Jun 2011
By 
S. brooke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
We bought this as a cheap way to allow my son to record his PS3 games and post them onto Youtube.

Firstly becareful if you simply buy the "frequently bought together" section. Currently is it showing a female/ male Y splitter. To connect to a PS3 (and no doubt other systems) it should be a female/ female Y splitter.

Once we sorted out that problem, we followed the instructions on the enclosed leaflet to install the software. Son has Vista and this worked with no problem EXCEPT that you must install the drivers in the main admin account. We initially had a problem and searching the internet seemed failry common. Installing the file from the main admin account solved the problem.

We then followed the set up guide from the Ezcap.tv website which really was foolproof and got the thing working within 20 minutes.

Quality is OK, but my son tells me you can get better quality by using different software than the one on the CD by saving it and then uploading to youtube seperately.

All in all, he's well happy with the product and appears a bargain compared to the PVR's available.

If you want to see any samples/ examples, he has them on his youtube channel "Broodens".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: EzCAP 116 USB 2.0 Video Capture Device. Convert Video+Audio from VHS, V8, Hi8, All Camcorders, Video Recorder, DVD player, Satellite TV, Freeview etc. Capture xbox360 & playstation3 in PAL 60 colour. Includes Arcsoft Showbiz 3.5 editing software. Output in 16:9 or 4:3. Upload videos direct to YouTube . Supports Windows XP/Vista + Windows 7 32/64.
This Product is one of the best ive seen. the drivers were quick and easy to install, the program that came with it had a product key with it (unlike the easycap on here for about £6) it was netbook friendly and after all the hassle of geting ready to record my xbox or my family's wii, recorded in colour, with sound.

there is only two problems though for me. the sound does get out of sync some times, but i can fix that, and the price, but you do get your money's worth.

overall, you should get this if you need a cheap, reliable capture card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews