Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great whodunnit... again!,
After the previous two books of the Temperance Brennan series ("Break No Bones" and "Cross Bones"), I was starting to despair that the series had gone into an irrevocable nosedive. But "Bones to Ashes" brings back a slightly tauter writing style and some serious whodunnit puzzles. There's also a lot of what I call "whatdunnit"; that is, sometimes the reader doesn't even...
Published on 27 Nov 2007 by S. Radler

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly better anthropology triller!
I think I read Kathy Reichs books because I'm a science nerd who likes whodunits, but I'm getting increasingly irritated with her books I'm afraid.

I finished "Bones to Ashes" by Kathy Reichs today. It's about a bone expert (Temperance Brennan) who studies bones to see if she can work out how someone died. Reich's books alternate between Montreal and North...
Published on 20 Feb 2008 by J. Bowen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly better anthropology triller!, 20 Feb 2008
By 
J. Bowen "Jamie Bowen" (Hampstead London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Hardcover)
I think I read Kathy Reichs books because I'm a science nerd who likes whodunits, but I'm getting increasingly irritated with her books I'm afraid.

I finished "Bones to Ashes" by Kathy Reichs today. It's about a bone expert (Temperance Brennan) who studies bones to see if she can work out how someone died. Reich's books alternate between Montreal and North Carolina (her character's an expert for both cities) and this book is set in Montreal.

This book focuses on two cases. One focuses on some possibly old bones with weird markings on them (Brennan almost convinces herself they might be the bones of a friend who disappeared when she was 14), the other focuses on dead bodies that turn up in a frozen lake. The bones by some miraculous coincidence turn out to be related to her former friend's brother-in-law.

It's the tenuous connections that allows Brennan to be inserted into cases she shouldn't really play and part in. It is these tenuous connections that have started to irritate me, however. How many times is she going to find a reason to back herself into a case? She's managed to do it in all of Reich's books so far, and I'm inclined to suspect that she's going to carry on doing it until her readers say 'enough.'

Th other thing that has started to irritate me is the fact that Reichs has a tendency to stop and have temporary reminders about the plot at regular intervals during the book. It's almost as if the expects the reader to walk away from the book for a while and come back, where they left off, some time later. The only good thing about this book is that this book does it slightly less than the other Reichs' books I've read.

If you can over look my grumbles, you might like this book. Sadly, however, I can't and so I've probably decided that I won't read any more of Reichs' books for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It passes the time, 7 July 2008
By 
P. J. A. Jennings "pja_jennings" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Paperback)
I think I've read all of Kathy Reichs Temp Brennan novels and I always look forward to the latest one. However, in this case I'm inclined to agree with the first two reviewers - the plot is a bit far fetched, even if it does all come together in the end.

Another point I find difficult to believe is that there is a description of some lesions on a skeleton, even as a complete layman one possible diagnosis is glaringly obvious, so Temp should have been able to make it in her sleep. But no, she lists several other diseases, missing the obvious one for several chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Writing by numbers, 1 April 2008
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Hardcover)
I read all the Tempe Brennan books but this was disappointing. I solved the case long before she did and found too many similarities with previous stories. For example Temepe gets involved in a case that has nothing to do with her, puts herself in danger and gets knocked out. She must have a very hard head as she gets concussion every novel. It seems to be a way for her to get injured but make a quick recovery so she can stubbornly carry on investigating. Reichs has found a formula that sells and seems to be sticking to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring!, 20 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew H. Porter (Cardiff UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Hardcover)
Read some other books by this author -pretty much now got a standard formulaic approach. OK storyline but you can work out the end really easily -no real deep thought but if you enjoy a easy straight forward plot with fairly shallow character then this will be for you -its not a bad book but hardly inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great whodunnit... again!,, 27 Nov 2007
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Hardcover)
After the previous two books of the Temperance Brennan series ("Break No Bones" and "Cross Bones"), I was starting to despair that the series had gone into an irrevocable nosedive. But "Bones to Ashes" brings back a slightly tauter writing style and some serious whodunnit puzzles. There's also a lot of what I call "whatdunnit"; that is, sometimes the reader doesn't even know what has happened for sure, which only deepens the mystery.

My only beef with the current book is the character of Harry, Tempe's younger sister. She is one of the most irritating, annoying, and unbelievable characters to ever appear in mystery fiction, and her presence in the story is very distracting. Don't kill her off, please, Ms. Reichs -- that would give Tempe even more angst -- but please leave her at home. I would also recommend "The Fates" by Tino Georgiou. I just finished it and can't stop talking about it> Must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best, 24 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. A. Lever "Fisherman" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Paperback)
I have every one of Kathy's books and have throughly enjoyed them. This one is like ploughing through treacle, it is very hard work.
I hope the next one will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poetic Analysis and Forensic Anthropology Track Down the Fate of a Canadian Friend, 14 Sep 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Hardcover)
Bones to Ashes reaches back to roots in Longfellow's poem, Evangeline, and Dr. Temperance Brennan's childhood to solve an old mystery, whatever happened to Tempe's missing Acadian friends, Evangeline and Obeline. To do so, literary analysis, forensic anthropology, breaking encryptions, and diatomic sampling will be required.

As the book opens, you are carried back to Tempe's youth and her friendship with Evangeline and Obeline. Quickly, the book returns to the present as Tempe returns to work in Montreal to find a backlog of bones to examine. At that, Hippolyte Gallant who works on cold cases persuades her to look at one more set: some bones sitting in a police station that don't interest the local coroner. That set fascinates Tempe because it seems to be from a girl about Evangeline's age when she disappeared. Could this be Evangeline? That concern leads Tempe to investigate with her sister Harry's help into what happened to Evangeline.

Meanwhile, Andrew Ryan, Tempe's estranged lover, is working on a floater who may be linked to three missing persons and two unidentified bodies. Could there be a serial killer involved? Bit by bit, Tempe and Ryan connect the dots in unexpected ways. Will they reconnect personally? Ryan is pretty busy taking care of his junkie daughter and is put off by having seen Tempe's husband put his arms around Tempe. But at least they still share a cockatiel, Charlie, who provides some of the humor in the story.

As usual, the science is wonderful and five star in this book. As occurred with Break No Bones, the story and the rest of the writing creak in several ways that are hard to discuss without giving away the plot. The main weaknesses show up in these areas:

1. The Tempe-Ryan relationship seemed artificial and didn't ring true to me.

2. Harry's behavior and language were way over the top for me. Once again, it didn't ring true in several places.

3. The solution to Evangeline's disappearance is tied in part to a way of thinking that seems more than a little unlikely. I didn't buy it.

4. Basic facts about the suspects are poorly investigated. It seemed uncharacteristically sloppy for these characters.

The ties to Acadia are poetic and appropriate. That part of the story worked well.

If you are a big fan of the series, you'll probably think this is not one of the strongest stories. But you'll be glad you read it. Learning more about Tempe's childhood makes the story memorable for fans of Dr. Reichs' writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A journey in memory, 16 May 2008
By 
G. Sandri (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Paperback)
I've read many Reich's novels during the past years, and enjoyed them thoroughly, yet Bones to Ashes disappointed me. The fact is, I find it quite difficult to believe that, after many years, Tempe Brennan discovers not only what happened to her long-lost childhood friend Evangeline,but also is catapulted into a world of child abuse, pornography, depravity. It's just that the coincidences appear too many and the chain of events seems forced. All the pieces of the puzzle at the end fit, but the impression you receive is of something artificial and quite not right.
Also, Tempe's memories of her childhood and pure friendship seem irreal, not at all concrete. They look more like a reverie: it's true childhood is often evoked as an idyllic, magic time, yet this kind of interpretation seems out of place in a crime novel, and clashes with the corruption of the real world Dr.Brennan faces everyday.
There is something I found interesting though: the description of the Acadian culture, which is something I did know nothing about. It's very fascinating to think of these people so proud of their past and their heritage, and it's a good move on Reich's part to draw our attention to l'Acadie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not my style, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Paperback)
thought i would like these books as I like it on TV but do not like the style of writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'll make no bones, 27 April 2011
By 
Jonathan Clark "Great Black Hawk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones to Ashes (Hardcover)
Many have covered the plot plus it's on the dust jacket so I'll leave this aspect of the review alone.

I've read all of Kathy Reichs books now, bar one, and this offering initially engaged me.

I like Tempe and her quirky sense of humour, her relationship with Ryan is volatile but amusing, Harry is a loose cannon but in a nice way and I even like Birdie and Tempe's conversations with the cat!

Her ex husband gets on my nerves a bit and his short involvement in this book was unecessary padding.

The book was quasi educational, as I knew little about Acadenians and their history/culture, so this was very interesting.

So despite many things going for it the plot was too convoluted for its own good.

It was overly laboured and became somewhat confusing. She used misdirection far too much and when I did get to the end I didn't feel the wow factor.

She's written far better but it's not a stinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews