Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my godness
When you listen to a new album and it is like falling in love, spending the day thinking about when you can next listen to it. The rising flutter in your stomach, feeling sick and tingling and elated and excited all at once. The haunting melodies and darkly lyrical poetic words - the music creeps up through my flesh, crawls through my veins, settles in my elbows and knees...
Published on 14 Oct. 2010 by Linzal

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars VILLAGERS: BECOMING A JACKAL
I bought this album after reading the above reviews and was expecting some previously unheralded masterpiece. Whilst there are definite references to Prefab Sprout and the great Pierce Turner (don't get the Jeff Buckley refs), these are only stylistic references and Conor O'Brien's songs never come close in quality, to those of either of these artists. To be honest, there...
Published 23 months ago by threewiseninjas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bold, but Intimate, 29 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
Bella Hardy has taken a different direction from her usual fair of stripped back traditional Folk.
"With the Dawn" is her seventh full length release and her most experimental thus far. It's a set of bitter sweet songs in which Bella shares intimate self confessional tales of love and discovery.
Musically, it's a gorgious bold departure from the sparcely picked guitar of previous recordings... soaring strings, horns, mandolin and thumping drums accompanying the unique quality of vocals we've all come to know and love from this most respected of Folk artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never, 20 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
Wow. Came late to this after reading others' comments and I fully endorse what they all said. This is a brilliant debut album with a warm heartfelt core. Not a duff track on it and the style varies form one track to another - sounding like a great Paddy McAloon on one to Damien Rice to.... you'll have to listen to find out.
Really glad I bought it - play it most days and hasn't palled after 20 odd listens. One of the best albums of a vintage year in 2010 and I will certainly be there for his next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLOWN AWAY, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
Was prepared to tolerate Villager for the warm up preceding Elbow at the 02. Well, what a surprise. I was blown away by the beautiful, heartbreaking lyrics, which then soared into huge magnificent music sound. Couldn't wait to buy the CD after the show. What a bonus to Elbow's usual magical, memorable performance. I for one, am looking forward to hearing more of this new (to me) band. I think we will be hearing a lot more from Villager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb debut, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
For a self-penned, self-recorded effort this is quite impressive. Try not to let the dark opening track put you off (and it is an odd choice to kick off with) - come back to it later I guarantee it'll grow on you. As with all modern recordings everything's a bit compressed and the mixes are quite dense however it's musical enough to come through. Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars VILLAGERS: BECOMING A JACKAL, 9 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Becoming a Jackal (Audio CD)
I bought this album after reading the above reviews and was expecting some previously unheralded masterpiece. Whilst there are definite references to Prefab Sprout and the great Pierce Turner (don't get the Jeff Buckley refs), these are only stylistic references and Conor O'Brien's songs never come close in quality, to those of either of these artists. To be honest, there are nods to a host of other artists too and for me, there lies the problem. Becoming a Jackal completely fails to find its own voice and comes across ultimately as rather nothingy. There isn't a single memorable hook in there and in the final analysis, the album is just an amalgum of pretty music with pretty lyrics, wistfully sung by a man with a pretty voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Jackal (Audio CD)
I love the sound of Connor's voice, and love the lyricism of the poetry. Played it loads and heard new things each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Cheerful but musically very clever, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Jackal (Audio CD)
Not the kind of subject matter to prompt a sing a long but excellent songs nevertheless. Definately recommended but I prefer their second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album, 30 May 2012
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album with songs sung in the most gorgeous sweet voice. I would recommend it to everyone; young or old, no matter what your taste is. The tunes are catchy but I feel like he is also sharing a great deal of emotion with every track. Here's to finding out when their next tour is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live show was a good lead in, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
I first heard about this band when they supported Elbow at their Brighton live show. If I had to describe the album I'd say - Fantastical storytelling with a folk rock feel. It's great. One of my favourite CDs of the past few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Villagers - Becoming a Jackal, 23 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Becoming A Jackal (Audio CD)
O'Brien has created a real masterpiece for his first long-playing effort under the name of 'Villagers'.

Fantastic song writing is matched will clever lyrics and heart-wrenching harmonies.

A great record, deffinately worth buying if you like Patrick Watson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming A Jackal
Becoming A Jackal by Villagers (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews