Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Brubeck classic, 3 Dec 2010
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
This is a great recording of the Dave Brubeck quartet at Oberlin College in 1953. Its the first Brubeck album I ever bought, and whilst it predates the most famous of Brubeck's quartets, it has Paul Desmond on Alto and that makes its essential.

Great versions of How High the Moon and Perdido are perhaps highlights, but the whole album is superb. The contrast between Brubecks aggressive Piano solos and Desmonds flighty alto is amazing, yet somehow they were made for each other. The quality of musicianship is of the highest order, sometimes they throw in a bits of Bach (or Bach like), Brubeck gets into semi-modern classical music at some points and the rest of the time the band are just swinging.

I'm not familiar with the bass player and drummer but they play more than an adequate supporting role to two giants of Jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Brubeck C.D., 19 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
I came across this original L.P. in a junk shop for a pound in 1986 and was intrigued by the cover. For some reason I started to be attracted to jazz about this time through listening to Frank Sinatra and other jazz influences.
I have loved this record ever since and am glad it is now available on C.D. with excellent notes and remastered at a competitive price - it has been lovingly recreated from the original album.
The wonderful unmistakable Paul Desmond compliments Dave's subtle playing throughout the album. The numbers are delicately played and recorded live in concert to an appreciative audience. A great addition to your Jazz collection - its calming almost spiritual in its effect it has on listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah yes, I remember it well, 10 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
Anyone who remembers the Dave Brubeck Quartet from the 50's will enjoy this remastering of the original vinyl recording. The live atmosphere is terrific and the audience, mostly music students, are very appreciative of the solos. Paul desmond is as usual on lyrical top form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Brubeck, 8 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz at Oberlin (Audio CD)
Recordered concert at Oberlin of the young Dave Brubeck Quartet featuring Paul Desmond. Great sounding Jazz from 1953.Fresh and swinging as ever. One of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy that. Buy this!, 20 Aug 2013
By 
G. Sanders "mediaevalman" (Puylaurens, Midi-Pyrenees, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
I remember reading about this, sitting in the library, reading one of those 'guides to great jazz records' that were all over the place in the late 50's, early 60's. I couldn't afford the album, but I could afford the EP of Perdido/These Foolish Things. I loved the label (Disques Vogue, pink, white, very contemporary cool), but loved the music even more; there was more meat than on many later Brubeck records I'd heard, more tenderness and more gristle, both (and you must understand that, when you're just 12, a record taped nine years earlier is incredibly old). Eventually, but not till my mid-20's, I found a copy of the album (at Mole Jazz in Kings Cross, I remember), and loved that too (though I still think the very best music was on the EP), and a few years ago I added the Fantasy CD (and subsequently a decent pirate cd) to the collection.

It's not the first Brubeck cD anyone would buy: that will always and understandably be Time Out. But it is the best one anybody could buy. For too long, he was looked down on by many (mostly Miles fans being too cool for their own good), but he made a lot of very fine music, and for sheer naked emotion (something often looked for in music which can be too cerebral on occasions), this can not be beaten anywhere in his oeuvre. Too correct the headline: do buy that, of course. But buy this as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still fresh, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz at Oberlin (Audio CD)
Many years ago I had this on LP and thought I would like to hear it again. To my surprise it sounded even better than I remembered. Sparkling and inventive playing throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oberlin, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
All fans of Brubeck should invest in this remastered version of this early "classic" recorded in the 50's at the Ohio classical music college. In particular Paul Desmond was his esoteric lyrical best, and Brubeck used the spare grand piano!
Read the notes, Brubeck disavows the old myth that they had argued before the performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Brubeck - Jazz at Oberlin, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
Had vinyl LP but no longer able to play. Loved the LP and now the CD. Brilliant very easy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
the rumour is that just before going on stage to record Perdido , Brubeck & Desmond had an argument which carried on musically when they started to play fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prime Time Brubeck, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz At Oberlin (Audio CD)
This was the first jazz LP that I bought. This was a great album which brings back many happy memories of watching this group in Manchester in the late 50's. This is a must have, Brubeck and Desmond in their prime, a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazz At Oberlin (OJC Remaster)
Jazz At Oberlin (OJC Remaster) by The Dave Brubeck Quartet
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews