Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, watch out, run, give me the cards, don't drown! Noooo!
I love this game!

Get the treasure before the island sinks! Nice and simple?? Yes & No!
Yes - simple rules - great to start!
No - plenty of ways to drown!

Ideal for families - plays with 4 players best. You can set the starting difficulty according to ability. Nice entry level co-op game, more forgiving and simple than say, Pandemic. But...
Published on 12 Sep 2012 by Book Worm

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
My brother bought this for me for Christmas because Pandemic is probably now mine and my husband's favourite game, and this is by the same guy. The gameplay is very similar but far simpler and the choices are pretty obvious, as a previous reviewer has noted. To be honest, it is too simple with only 2 players, too easy to win and therefore not very much fun. We easily won...
Published on 10 April 2012 by J. Ferneyhough


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, watch out, run, give me the cards, don't drown! Noooo!, 12 Sep 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
I love this game!

Get the treasure before the island sinks! Nice and simple?? Yes & No!
Yes - simple rules - great to start!
No - plenty of ways to drown!

Ideal for families - plays with 4 players best. You can set the starting difficulty according to ability. Nice entry level co-op game, more forgiving and simple than say, Pandemic. But don't be fooled - your team can still die! Excellent production quality for the price - lovely, tactile treasure objects! Get it - you won't be disappointed!

Pros
-Easy to explain
-Quick to get started
-Quick to play 20-35 mins
-Nice story arc - tension cranks up quickly - people get "into" the adventure and pulses do start to rise!!
-Great production quality for price
-Lots of variety to starting set up
-Can be expanded - with Forbidden Island Variant Cards ([..]- takes time to get, but interesting) See boardgamegeek.com forums too for traiter variant, if you want a bit more "edge!"
-Can also be played as a "solo" game - which is nice

Cons
-May be too simple for dedicated gamers or experienced adults.
-Occasionally, luck can wipe you out FAST!

Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game!, 28 Dec 2011
By 
G. E. Wyatt "SleepyGlenn" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
I got this game recently and I have to say, I love it! It's so much fun. Half a board game and half a card game, two to four players have to work together to quickly grab treasure from an island that's fast sinking. It'll take a lot of planning but fortunately there are a number of tricks at your disposal, including the fact that every player is a unique type of adventurer with their own abilities. The game is slightly different each time you play.

The game is so well constructed, with durable cards, cool little plastic "treasures" and great artwork. It comes in a tin which looks great and makes it easy to take out and about with you. The instructions are clear and illustrated although there are just a few things that could be better explained... I'll put those at the end of my review!

I've played it with 2, 3 and 4 adults and can confirm it's just as fun whichever number of players you choose. Some of the other reviews on here imply that the game is just for children, but I disagree, I think it's suitable for anyone 10+ including adults! Well recommended.

[There are a couple of rules that could have been better explained, so I'm going to list them here. These won't make sense until you've actually played the game, but you might want to make a note of them before you order your copy (which you must!). I got these from the game's creator on a forum.

- The Navigator can move a Diver two adjacent tiles, this might mean moving through a single missing tile with his two moves, but they must land back on a non-missing tile to finish. He can also move the Explorer diagonally. However, he cannot make use of the Pilot's ability when moving the Pilot.

- The Diver can change direction when passing through multiple flooded or missing tiles, as long he moves in standard up, left, right or down directions. No matter how many flooded or missing tiles he passes through to get to his destination, it only counts as one action.

- The Helicopter Lift Card can be used to transport one or more people from ANY one tile on the board to any other one tile. The cardholder himself doesn't have to be on that tile at the time.

Hope this helps!]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game and Alterntive Islands!, 15 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
Forbidden Island is an excellent introduction to co-operative board gamng.

The 'board' is created by laying shuffled tiles (never the same order twice) to create the island. During the gameplay, the tiles get turned over once to show they're being flooded and it's the players' role to ensure they are shored up to stop them being removed forever.

There are four treasures to collect before the island sinks, and it's up to the players to work together to collect the treasure cards, the treasures and then get to a specific tile (Fool's Landing) before playing a Helicopter Lift card to complete the game.

The game mechanic is similar to Pandemic (same author, Matt Leacock). The one starting tile layout is shown in the instructions. I recommend visiting BoardGameGeek and checking out the forum threads for a translation of the German instructions that have a few more challenging layouts, and a printable A4 page with plenty of even more callenging layouts from it's wide fan base, should the original layout ever become stale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never realised collaborative games could be fun, 28 Nov 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
I tend towards the competitive end of the spectrum so wasn't sure whether or not a game that requires all players to cooperate would be much fun. Surprise: it's great. I wasn't even a teeny bit tempted to leave one player to drown as the island sank - and not just because that would mean we all lost.

The game mechanic is easy to understand but fiendishly clever in the way it ratchets up the pressure as play progresses. The need to agree tactics between players more than makes up for the lack of competition.

Side note: When we played with four people, one person did got a little obsessed with the idea of saving one particular tile from flooding, even when that meant losing more important areas to the sea. If that happens when you're playing I recommend waiting until the person in question has to leave the room for a moment then allowing the tile to flood before he returns. It's better in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 11 Sep 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
This is a brilliant game. I play regularly with my kids, 8 and 5, and they love it, though I doubt they would be able to play without an adult. The quality is superb, the games are always exciting, and the kids love the concept of co-operative play. I got it for £12, which is an absolute steal. Top, top game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 10 April 2012
By 
J. Ferneyhough (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
My brother bought this for me for Christmas because Pandemic is probably now mine and my husband's favourite game, and this is by the same guy. The gameplay is very similar but far simpler and the choices are pretty obvious, as a previous reviewer has noted. To be honest, it is too simple with only 2 players, too easy to win and therefore not very much fun. We easily won even on expert mode and it would be pretty hard to lose. With four players, it is more interesting, so when my husband and I have played alone, we have taken two players each to make it more challenging. It is still pretty formulaic though. I am a massive fan of Pandemic, but this is not in the same league in terms of complexity, variety and difficulty. I agree with a previous reviewer that this is more of a child's game. It would be a good introduction to co-operative gameplay for a child aged 8 or upwards, and a good bridge to Pandemic, but if you love Pandemic and are looking for something equally fun along similar lines, this sadly falls short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A novel game!, 27 July 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
This is a good game in an unusual genre, cooperative games. Despite sounding odd it is still very fun to play and on the harder levels is very challenging, play "Legendary" at your peril!
Also works well with 2 players (as well as up to 4), an excellent buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 9 year old loves this., 24 Oct 2013
By 
A. Tomkins "Risktaker" (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
Purchsed this as an introduction to co-operative games for my 9 year old daughter and she loves it. I was worried it may be too much strategy but once she had the rules down the game was out every day. The game is easier with less players but can be made more challenging by setting your difficulty.

The game itself is well made with great quality components, a simple premise and gameplay which always builds in tension as the game progresses. The only part which could be slightly better is the treasures which struck me as being quite plastic but for £12 as the price and the cards and tiles of very good quality it is a minor grumble.

Overall an excellent introduction to co-operative (non competative) board games which is priced sensibly enough to not make it a gamble when purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, introductory to co-op strategy gaming, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
I wanted to have a change of pace from computer gaming and be able to play a game with family and friends that is different and Forbidden Island fits the bill.

Really easy to set up and play and the rules for first timers are really easy to understand and as its a co-operative game people can give you advice. The game also has the advantage that the difficulty of the game can be adjusted from the outset with the water meter gauge and the card draws can either go in your favour or against you and if you are feeling creative the island tiles can be arranged in whatever fashion you like from the standard layout, (there are suggestions to alternative layout on the Board Game Geek web page).

Now I want to buy the game Pandemic which was designed by Matt Leacock which has a similar mechanic but more involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good game, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamewright Forbidden Island Game (Toy)
This is a very good game which should be different each time it's played.

Doesn't take too long either. Well made, high quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gamewright Forbidden Island Game
£13.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews