Customer Reviews


463 Reviews
5 star:
 (311)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action adventure that does justice to the "Tintin" name
This animated adventure is both produced and directed by Steven Spielberg in his first animated effort, it is in most ways a satisfying watch with some excellent animation, a good voice cast and an exciting storyline

I have quite a few of the Tintin books and enjoyed the exploits brought to life by the Belgian cartoonist Hergé (Georges Prosper Remi)...
Published 8 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Scott, it's Captain Haddock!
“The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn” is an animated film of the super-modern variety made by Peter Jackson and Steven Spielberg, of all people. It's based on Franco-Belgian cartoonist Hergé's popular comic albums featuring the boyish but brave reporter Tintin, his half-mad and frequently drunken companion Captain Haddock, the...
Published 17 days ago by Ashtar Command


‹ Previous | 1 2 347 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great snakes!!!, 20 May 2013
By 
M. Gates "Buddy Gorgeous" (Area 51) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know what it was that kept putting me off for so long but I recently had opportunity to see it (hungover from the night before, sipping on a mug of 20 sugar tea and discovered it on Sky movies) and great snakes! I enjoyed every minute of it! I have never read the Tintin comic books nor have I seen the cartoons but I knew the flimsy basics. A young adventurer in the same vein as Indiana Jones goes on wild adventures around the world with his best pal 'Snowy'. This time Tintin (voiced by Jamie Bell) teams up with a drunken captain Haddock (voiced by Andy Serkis) who are on a treasure hunt for a sunken ship commanded by Haddock's ancestor but both are being pursued by the evil Sakharine (voiced by Daniel Craig). Directed by Steven Spielberg I wasn't suprised to find the movie top quality; the story was very entertaining and had non stop and inventive action and adventure with plenty of funny moments. The effects used for the movie are outstanding! I'm not knocking other digital animated movies but this looked so life like they may aswell have just filmed it live action. But in saying that, there would no doubt be restrictions and complications so being filmed digitally they were able to pull of some fantastic scenes and you forget you are watching an animated film alltogether. I really look forward to seeing the next Spielberg Tintin movie and if you are reading this, undecided to buy or not, it is a great movie you can watch with the family and I recommend it fully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting,Ultra-Realistic and Absorbing Animated Adventure, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
MikiJimi (Leicester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
Tintin was something of a folk hero to many of the boys at school, although we did'nt know much about him and the books were hard to find. So this film is like a dream come true for me , especially as I enjoy animations and this one is as good as it gets. Tintin seems so real that his personality shines through and he must be the best looking animated character ever! He is honest, dependable, intelligent and courageous, just as he was in the original storybooks. The mutual trust between Tintin and his dog, Snowy, is also faithfully reproduced. The realism and attention to detail is mindblowing. In some of the close-up shots you can see individual eyelashes and tiny hairs on arms and hands! How cool is that for an animation? This is a rollercoaster ride of a movie with never a dull moment.It is also the perfect family film with its potent mixture of action, intrigue and humour.There are some very dramatic scenes - the flight through the thunderstorm, the battle of the cranes on the dockside, the frantic chase through the streets in Morocco and many more. Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig and others have done an excellent job giving the characters their voices and movement.My one regret is that Tintin's creator, Belgian artist Georges Remi, did'nt live to see his prodigy brought so magnificently to life. As for me, I can't wait for the anticipated sequel. Bon chance, Monsieur Tintin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An artistic TRIUMPH! Thank you, Steven & Peter!, 19 May 2012
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
HERGÉ'S ADVENTURES OF TINTIN!!!

I just couldn't get enough of them. The books were truly the stuff of legend, so colourful, bold and exciting, with the right mix of cartoon, humanity and realism to make this world and its inhabitants so appealing to generations of fans worldwide. As a child, I loved all those amazing adventures of this young, courageous and intelligent reporter Tintin and his loyal dog Snowy as they travelled all over the world - and into outer space, lest we forget! - solving mysteries, thwarting villains and conquering challenges with so many colourful friends like Professor Calculus, Detectives Thomson & Thompson and of course, the irrepressible Captain Haddock.

I never ever thought about a motion picture based on these timeless stories to be honest with you. Yes, there was the absolute quality animated series from the nineties, and I was happy to leave it at that. I mean, Hergé's style was just so vivid and distinctive that it was easy to translate into a cartoon, but much more difficult for a live-action film, and maybe even a CGI-flick as well.

I suppose I didn't want to run the risk of being disappointed by a feature-length Tintin film (no different than any other lifetime fan of the books, really). Which is why when news of Tintin finally hitting the big screen came around, I really didn't know how to take it. I saw a few images, and then I saw the trailer. It was unlike anything I'd ever seen before, so I decided to reserve judgement a little longer until I'd finally checked out the film.

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is essentially an adaptation of the book of the same name, "The Crab With The Golden Claws" and "Red Rackham's Treasure". Here, our Tintin is a most famous reporter (accompanied by best friend, Snowy) who one day buys a model ship of the Unicron, a famous historical ship. But it isn't long before shadowy individuals are after the model for their own purposes. Tintin must uncover the secret of the model before it falls into the wrong hands, and to do that, he will need the help of a certain old sea captain.

So is it any good? YES, and then some. Directed and produced by movie legends Steven Spielberg (Duel, Jaws, Jurassic Park etc) and Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings & King Kong), this Tintin epic is a true cinematic delight that's worthy of both the name and the creator Hergé. Both Spielberg and Jackson are genuine Tintin fans and it shows throughout. They clearly wanted to remain faithful to the original source material and as such, it is. The setting and characters here are all accurate and true, the story and plot unravels with the grace and intrigue that you would find in any legendary Tintin adventure, and there are so many dollops of wonderful humour, interaction and excitement. Long story cut short, this has the ESSENCE of Tintin.

But the most obvious aspect about The Secret of the Unicorn is unquestionably the animation style. The motion capture technique in completely unlike anything I've ever seen before in cinema or on television. At first, I wasn't sure if I was watching an actual live-action film or a CGI move that easily rivals anything from Pixar! It just blew me away how harmoniously it all blends together. Not only that, the character designs pay true homage to Hergé's original drawings as well! It's pure artistry in how it remains all the more faithful, yet also creates a brand new visioning for this generation.

The voice-cast is inspired, too. Jamie Bell (Tintin) and Andy Serkis (Captain Haddock) are flawless in their roles. You truly believe that they ARE Tintin and Captain Haddock(!), given how distinctive they make their performances. The same can be said for Simon Pegg and Nik Frost who provide the perfect bumbling tones for the incompetent (yet lovable) Thompson twins. Current "James Bond" Daniel Craig also deserves high-marks as well for his sinister & deliciously malevolent role as antagonist Sakharine.

What else is there? The soundtrack is rollicking, the film runs on for just the right length of time (at 102 minutes), the pacing is perfect, and Steven Moffat (of Doctor Who fame!), Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead/Hot Fuzz) & Joe Cornish all deserve props for their screenplay, producing a script that flatters the talents of the voice cast, and Spielberg and Jackson's vision for the film. I don't think I can praise this film enough. It's just an artistic masterpiece with virtually no fault whatsoever.

Extras on this DVD consist of two featurettes; a special behind-the-scenes look at the film's making (with great insight from Spielberg, Jackson, the cast and production staff) and an examination of Snowy (called "The Full Tail") which looks at the characters' original conception, various anecdotes and how the wonderful, little terrier was bought to life for the big screen. Delightful special features indeed to finish things off. And there're English subtitles as well for those who require them.

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is one of the best family films to emerge in a long time. Like the original books, like the cartoon series, this is a movie that will appeal to children and adults alike. It has all the heart and soul of Hergé's stories and is hopefully the first of several more quality epics to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn", 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
An action packed animated film, I first saw "The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn" in the cinema. As a viewer with no knowledge of the books or the comic strips, I can honestly say that I absolutely loved it! Well suited to the big screen and shot in 3D, it proved to be a fantastic watch on the big screen, making the really dramatic scenes blare out. The same applies even in original 2D, on a HD television; it's that good! The storyline itself moves at a nice pace, with journalist Tintin picking up certain information on the legendary, titular ship prior to buying it in miniature to include in his newspaper report, accompanied by his loveable dog Snowy. The computer generated imagery is incredibly realistic, from the streets of France to the ceaselessly moving ocean, the dusty desert and the domed buildings of Baghar. Full to bursting with high speed chases, brilliant escapes, top notch fight scenes and with the voice talents of Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig, Nick Frost and Simon Pegg, this is one incredibly watchable and fun film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adults! Do not pass this point!, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
birchden "birchden" (Eastbourne, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
If the plot matched up to the ingenious animation technique used to produce it, this would surely be a 5 star film.

However, as with many Hollywood film adaptions, much of the charm and nuance of the original book and characters has been lost; all that remains in this film is a series of frantic chase/fight scenes, played out by stripped out characters that are no more than a shadow of their orginal versions. Poor old Captain Haddock, for example, is reduced to little more than a village idiot. Even his foe, Allan, doesn't escape unscathed; he is stripped of his somewhat sadastic sense of humour and just becomes another robotic thug.

To make things even worse, Spielberg has taken two of Herge's books - "Secret of the Unicorn" and "Crab with the Golden Claws" - and merged them into a clunky composite screenplay in which one character is converted from a harmless nautical collector into a master criminal - looking most out of place on board ship! - and other characters from completely different books suddenly pop up.

This could easily have been the best on-screen Tintin yet, but as it is, it must stand with all the previous flawed attempts to bring Herge's characters to life: films that are only fit for kids, and not very sophisticated ones at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it - a great adventure!, 16 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't come to this film as a particular fan of Tin Tin, but was drawn mostly by the trailer and probably a friend's enthusiasm for the film. At time of review I am in my late thirties with a young family - but this DVD was for me. I loved it: the animation is superb with so much body language shown as motion capture was used, unfortunately Snowy didn't look anywhere near as realistic but then the animation method was different - and it stands out for that too. The story is well paced, well voiced, and exciting. I found it an easy watch and can readily recommend it to other adults, although that said my three year old enjoyed what he saw of it too. Could have been five stars if Snowy looked better in the film!

Extras are fairly short behind the scenes type stuff, but interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok., 28 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the trailers I was looking forward to this film.

Visually it was spot on and clearly a lot of effort went into this side.
I have seen the DVD and can vouch for it's quality.

Sadly, the plot veered well away from the two books "Secret Of The Unicorn" and Red Rackham's Treasure" This included characters appearing who weren't in the books and the main villains changed completely. Not to forget the bits from "Crab with the Golden Claws" being dropped in.
There was also far too much emphasis on Haddock's drinking.

Those not familiar with the books will probably enjoy this more and it certainly has plenty of action sequences to keep the easily bored people happy.

All in all for me, a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Animation But Weak Storytelling, 15 April 2014
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
The animation is extraordinarily good but the film sufferers from a very erratic telling of the story. The story itself is a perfectly god Tintin story with some very amusing comic digressions and even a few decent characters. It also has a lot of detail humour in the main plot. But there seem to be quite long periods when the story stalls and you want them to get on with it, and the chase sequences are too prolonged and too unlikely. The explorations of areas and chase sequences seem to be setting us up to buy the game rather progress a film.

Glad I watched the film – if only to see what can be done with animation. But I doubt if I will buy the sequel. If I do it will be to see the animation and not find out what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cosy and hugely enjoyable and the best 3D since Avatar, 26 May 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Having just acquired a 3D home cinema system, I was seeking something to demonstrate the 3D and bought Tintin out of curiosity. From the opening scene in the market place and the wonderful cameo by Hergé sketching Tintin's face, I knew that this was more than just a gimmicky 3D demo and that I would really love this movie! Peter Jackson, who used motion capture techniques in Lord of the Rings to good effect, has truly excelled himself here and produced one of the greatest animated films ever. Every scene is jaw-droppingly gorgeous - from Tintin's cosy little home, the landscapes and cityscapes, the rusting hulk of the tramp steamer, the sea-plane and the wonderful African palace. Watch out for the mirage scene in the desert, where the 3D was so convincing that, at one point, I involuntarily jerked my head back! Surround sound is exceptional too and adds a lot to the atmosphere.

You'll recognise a host of well-known British actors' voices. Andy Serkis probably steals the show as Captain/Sir Francis Haddock. Daniel Craig is well-cast as the boo-hiss villain. Pegg and Frost as the bumbling Thompson and Thomson provide some gentle but effective humour (loved the canary gag!) and young Jamie Bell is a very credible Tintin himself.

If I were being really picky, I could criticise the film for being perhaps a tad overlong with some of the action being a little far fetched and, as a 2CV fan, I am aware that this iconic little French car was not yet on sale in the late 30's/early 40's and should not have been seen in Tintin's time. No big deal though - I'm not enough of a pedant to let things like that ruin my enjoyment.

A couple of extras (on the 2D disk), including a brief history of the project and a making-of the Snowy (or Milou for the purist!) character. Worth watching for the amusing sequence of Jackson improvising as Haddock.

You don't have to be a Tintin fan to enjoy this charming movie, but if you are, I'm sure you'll agree that Jackson and Spielberg have treated the source material with great respect and the result is a definite success. If you're looking for a film that truly show-cases the 3D medium and is the best example you're going to get until the commercial version of Avatar 3D Blu-ray is released, then I can recommend Tintin unreservedly.

(Viewed on a Sony BDVE190 3D Blu-ray player and LG (passive) 3D TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TinTin fans will love this film., 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
The reviews about this film were great and I thought I would watch this film and totally enjoyed it. It is like a new story but including the main characters (though I don't remember seeing the Professor) and a great story. If you are into Tintin, you will love it, in almost 3D as the camera swings about. The jokes are not that good with the light relief of the Thompson Twins but the atmosphere is brilliant. You have to remember that it aimed at the American market who I don't think have heard of Tintin but other than that, I loved the film. The special features are good too giving insight into the production and how Raiders of the lost Ark seemed Tintin ish. Well done film and great storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 347 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD]
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews