Customer Reviews


382 Reviews
5 star:
 (251)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action adventure that does justice to the "Tintin" name
This animated adventure is both produced and directed by Steven Spielberg in his first animated effort, it is in most ways a satisfying watch with some excellent animation, a good voice cast and an exciting storyline

I have quite a few of the Tintin books and enjoyed the exploits brought to life by the Belgian cartoonist Hergé (Georges Prosper Remi)...
Published 2 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adults! Do not pass this point!
If the plot matched up to the ingenious animation technique used to produce it, this would surely be a 5 star film.

However, as with many Hollywood film adaptions, much of the charm and nuance of the original book and characters has been lost; all that remains in this film is a series of frantic chase/fight scenes, played out by stripped out characters that are...
Published 1 month ago by birchden


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action adventure that does justice to the "Tintin" name, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This animated adventure is both produced and directed by Steven Spielberg in his first animated effort, it is in most ways a satisfying watch with some excellent animation, a good voice cast and an exciting storyline

I have quite a few of the Tintin books and enjoyed the exploits brought to life by the Belgian cartoonist Hergé (Georges Prosper Remi)

The film take inspiration from a number of books and mixes in some bits of it's own, The Crab with the Golden Claws and The Secret of the Unicorn are the two main plot lines. Cast do a decent job including Jamie Bell as Tintin, Daniel Craig who voices Ivan Ivanovitch Sakharine and Red Rackham, Nick Frost and Simon Pegg provide the well known detectives Thomson and Thompson, no complaints about the voice acting

The story starts with Tintin and Snowy (his longstanding dog companion) at a market where they buy a model ship "The Unicorn", taking the ship back home it's broken by accident revealing a scroll inside it which is the basis for most of the film story, the attempts by others to steal the scroll and the hidden secrets it contains. It turns out there are other scrolls and when combined will reveal the location of the real Unicorn ship and the treasure it contains.

A fairly simple plot, very much in the style of adventure films both animated or not. The quality of animation is excellent throughout clearly a lot of effort has been put into the production. The film is quite fast paced, and at times a little too much with very little time to ponder or relax (many films get criticised for being too drawn out or slow Tintin probably goes a bit too far the other direction) The ending leaves the door (somewhat predictably open) for other sequels which is a little disappointing that during the 1 hour 47 minutes the story isn't concluded. Plenty of material to work with for future Tintin adventures I'd have liked to see this one wrap up at the end. Still leaving the slightly super fast pace/action (in a few cases a little overboard and going beyond reality a bit too much) this is an enjoyable film which is a slick production with great visuals, and a genuinely fun adventure/storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The worst post-viewing experience ever!, 9 April 2012
I'll explain my review title later, but first, a quick summary:

Animation 10/10:
Possibly the best animation I have ever seen. The facial expressions, character movement, and the motion of clothing to wind, rain / character movement are outstanding. The crisp details of each scene were wonderful, as were the light and shade effects. There are people who are better qualified to make more specific comments relating to rendering and contrast etc. so I will leave that them.

Action 10/10:
Lots of it, really fast and with lots to take in and gasp at, but greatly tempered with the important slower scenes, used to explain plot progression. Certainly this is where the DVD's 'replay' value shows, as there may have been things missed the first time around and, even then, it worth watching the scenes again to marvel at the interactions of the characters, creatures, their vehicles and the environment. To explain the action further might spoil the film for others, so I will leave it there.

Storyline 10/10
Although some reviewers on Amazon are not happy with the storyline, I really enjoyed it. Certainly I had guessed some of it, but certainly not all of it, and it could even be progressed further if a 'Tin Tin 2' is made. It is important to stress some reviewers have read the entire series of Tin Tin books, but my review is purely based on having read the comic strip versions of the series. In that sense, considering the style of the comic strips, the storyline is excellent.

Humour 10/10:
Sadly some negative reviews resort to insulting adults who liked the humour, by claiming 'It's childish and only a 3 / 6/ 12 year old would find it funny.' I for one, will lose no sleep at all at such comments, because they do seem to suggest, 'If I don't like it, then others who do, must be inferior to me.' and I believe you should respect others who don't have your personal tastes. If you don't like it, then is fair enough, score the film as 'low', explain your reasons, but leave it at that. Now, although I wasn't expecting the film to have that many comedic moments in it, I am so glad that it did. When they came, usually interspersed with the action scenes (but not always) I laughed out loud, as did my son. At 52 and 23 respectively, we were in tears and, yes, holding our sides. Again, I cannot specify these moments, as to do so would spoil the film, but if you love watching your family enjoying a film, then you cannot really go far wrong with Tin Tin.

That's my brief take on the film but, if they make a Tin Tin 2, 3 etc. to the same standard as this initial film, I will be in the queues to buy them. As to my review title, 'The worst post-viewing experience ever!', well I laughed so much during the film I had a coughing fit and pulled a couple of muscles around my ribs. I ended up with two days of aches and pains and box of paracetamol as my best friend but, to me, the film was definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - my first 3D movie on my new 3D TV!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first 3D movie that I watched in my new 65" Panasonic Plasma and I loved it. I was not really convinced before I watched this movie that 3D on TV would be something that I would enjoy, but I am happy to be proved wrong. As for the movie, it is mix of elements from one or two Tintin books, but otherwise the story would be well known to all the Tintin fans (of which I am one - I own all the comics). It is fast paced, funny and the animation and 3D effects are great. I would also like to mention that amazon delivered this to Kazakhstan where I live now (having recently moved from Europe) in less than two weeks - in fact amazon delivered this ahead of other items that I had ordered on E-bay a week before I made the amazon order. Well done amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those of us who grew up with Tintin, this was an exciting chance to add to our Tintin experience., 28 May 2014
By 
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
For those of us who grew up with Tintin, this was an exciting chance to add to our Tintin experience.
I think Tintin was brilliantly captured, a little less effeminate than in the early animated films,
It would never have been the same without Tintin's wonderful dog Snowy-loved when Snowy tamed the Rottweiler that was chasing Tintin and made him into a friend, and his struggle on the ship with rat for a sandwich. And Captain Haddock was captured down to a pat.-absolutely classic.
The film combines three Tintin adventure books-The Secret of the Unicorn, Red Rackham's Treasure, and
The Crab with the Golden Claws.
It begins with Tintin's innocent purchase at a flew market of a model 17th century ship which leads to his life being endangered and on a thrilling, dangerous adventure.
Also like the touch of the evil Professor Saccharin being Red Rackham's descendant bent on a centuries long feud with the Captains' descendants
Action scenes were a little long but this is an action adventure after all.
Also liked how the scenes effortlessly moved in the Captain's delirium from the desert to his battles with Red Rackham.
A little disappointed about no adventures for Tintin and friends in the Caribbean as in the book of Red Rackham's Treasure.
But the touch of brining in opera diva Bianca Castafiore was quite amusing. A lot of the dialogue was amusing and a a great inspirational speech by Haddock near the end when Tintin is ready to give up. 'Failed. There are plenty of others willing to call you a failure. A fool. A loser. A hopeless souse. Don't you ever say it of yourself. You send out the wrong signal, that is what people pick up. Don't you understand? You care about something, you fight for it. You hit a wall, you push through it. There's something you need to know about failure, Tintin. You can never let it defeat you.'
Yes I enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 1 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
bought this DVD after hearing such good reviews and having loved the original cartoons as a kid. Will quite easily say that the animation is stunning - as good as is possible I would hazard a guess. Great story too with loads of tip top action. One of the best films I've seen in years. You don't have to have kids to enjoy this I promise you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adults! Do not pass this point!, 15 Sep 2014
By 
birchden "birchden" (Eastbourne, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
If the plot matched up to the ingenious animation technique used to produce it, this would surely be a 5 star film.

However, as with many Hollywood film adaptions, much of the charm and nuance of the original book and characters has been lost; all that remains in this film is a series of frantic chase/fight scenes, played out by stripped out characters that are no more than a shadow of their orginal versions. Poor old Captain Haddock, for example, is reduced to little more than a village idiot. Even his foe, Allan, doesn't escape unscathed; he is stripped of his somewhat sadastic sense of humour and just becomes another robotic thug.

To make things even worse, Spielberg has taken two of Herge's books - "Secret of the Unicorn" and "Crab with the Golden Claws" - and merged them into a clunky composite screenplay in which one character is converted from a harmless nautical collector into a master criminal - looking most out of place on board ship! - and other characters from completely different books suddenly pop up.

This could easily have been the best on-screen Tintin yet, but as it is, it must stand with all the previous flawed attempts to bring Herge's characters to life: films that are only fit for kids, and not very sophisticated ones at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy], 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] From Academy Award® Winning filmmaker Steven Spielberg* and Peter Jackson** comes the epic adventures of Tintin. Racing to uncover the secrets of a sunken ship that may hold a vast fortune – but also an ancient curse – Tintin and his loyal dog Snowy embark on an action-packed journey around the world that critics are calling “simply magical – an animated Indiana Jones.”

*1993: Best Director and Best Picture for Schindlers List.’ 1998: Best Director for ‘Saving Private Ryan.’

**2003: Best Director, Best Writing, Adapted Screenplay for ‘The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.’

FILM FACT: The Adventures of Tintin was nominated for Best Original Score at the 84th Academy Awards. It was the first non-PIXAR film to win a Golden Globe for Best Animated Feature Film. It also received 2 nominations at the 65th British Academy Film Awards in the categories of Best Animated Film and Best Special Visual Effects.

Cast: Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig, Nick Frost, Simon Pegg, Daniel Mays, Gad Elmaleh, Toby Jones, Joe Starr, Enn Reitel, Mackenzie Crook, Tony Curran, Sonje Fortag, Cary Elwes, Phillip Rhys, Ron Bottitta, Mark Ivanir, Nathan Meister, Sebastian Roché, Kim Stengel, Mohamed Ibrahim Elkest and Sana Etoile

Director: Steven Spielberg

Producers: Steven Spielberg, Peter Jackson and Kathleen Kennedy

Screenwriters: Edgar Wright, Joe Cornish and Steven Moffat

Composer: John Williams

Cinematography: Janusz Kamiński

Resolution: 1080p [Technicolor]

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1 [Anamorphic]

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: 5.1 Dolby Digital, English Audio Description, Cantonese: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Mandarin: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Thai: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Bahasa Indonesia, Bahasa Malaysia, Cantonese, Mandarin, Simplified Chinese and Thai

Running Time: 107 minutes

Number of discs: 3

Studio: Paramount Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – In a ripping return to the Saturday morning adventure serials that inspired 'Raiders of the Lost Ark', Steven Spielberg brings a beloved European comic to the silver screen using motion capture performances and 3D CGI animation. As creative partners, Mr. Spielberg collaborates with Peter Jackson, who acts as producer on this film and intends to direct the second part of what they hope will be a trilogy, and screenwriters Steven Moffat [Screenwriter for Doctor Who], Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish.

Tintin, as voiced by Jamie Bell, is a young journalist whose inquisitive nature sends him off on countless adventures to recover stolen antiquities…or at least that's what all of the newspaper articles on the walls of Tintin's study tells us. This time around, Tintin purchases a model ship, the Unicorn, from a street vendor moments before the mysterious, and most likely dangerous, Sakharine [Daniel Craig] arrives to buy it. Tintin keeps the Unicorn, which he learns is a model of a ship captained by one Sir Francis Haddock that sank hundreds of years ago with a long, lost treasure. However, legend says only "a true Haddock will be able to uncover the lost treasure of the Unicorn."

Sakharine will stop at nothing to get the model, including murder and kidnapping, but thanks to Tintin's bumbling Interpol agent friends, Thompson and Thomson [the always funny Simon Pegg and Nick Frost], and a local pickpocket, Sakharine snatches Tintin, but doesn't get his hands on the secret scroll hidden within the model ship's mast. Tintin wakes in the cargo hold of a freighter steaming for foreign soil. Sakharine has hijacked the freighter from its captain, the last surviving Haddock [Andy Serkis]. Here it becomes clear: there were three Unicorn models, and Sakharine plans to find three scrolls and use Captain Haddock's family knowledge to find the Unicorn's location. Trouble is Captain Haddock's a drunk, and has forgotten all the old Haddock family stories. It's up to Tintin to pull the truth out of Haddock while racing across oceans and deserts to beat the nefarious and deadly Sakharine to the lost treasure.

As I live in the UK, I've had little exposure to the original comic books, even though there are great deals of massive fans in the UK, who know more about this cartoon Character. Written by Belgium Hergé [aka Georges Prosper Remi], save for a few High School French classes and, while there are numerous in-jokes and references to the comic itself (or at least I think there are, based on the reactions others, who claimed to know the comic, when I saw the film theatrically), this is a really strong adaptation for all audiences, whether or not you're a lifetime fan.

So how does it measure up? Well, personally speaking, I really loved the Indiana Jones feeling of it all, and felt the filmmaking, performances, tone, and adventure worked very well. There are some contrivances, and Tintin's lines are a bit convoluted, but this is a real return to the Amblin and Steven Spielberg I love and very impressed with the use of motion capture to build the character performances and the overall improvements in the animation quality succeeded.

'The Adventures of Tintin’ is also a lot of fun. The action set pieces are clever, funny, and tense. My jaw hit the floor a number of times, especially during the Unicorn vs. the Pirate ship scene, the single shot motorcycle chase sequence, and the battling harbour cranes fight. The camera work is playful in a way that harkens back to Steven Spielberg's 1970s and 1980s heyday. In fact, the experience is such a throwback to the wonder if the film, which lacks a certain cynicism found in modern blockbusters and works as well for younger audiences.

Overall, I think fans of Steven Spielberg or the Tintin comic books will enjoy this comedic, romping adventure. Tintin fans will no doubt get more of the in-jokes. As for casual viewers, there's a lot of fun to have for the entire family, unless you have a hard time connecting to motion capture performances.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Tintin tackles the 3D world with a subtle but magnificent looking 1080p encoded image that will dazzle and amaze most viewers. Its 2D counterpart is already fantastic enough as it is, and the 3D merely enhances the CGI video by placing emphasis on quality and depth rather than the usual pop-out gimmicks. Granted, a couple scenes do have random items protrude from the screen, mostly for amusement or as a comical device, like when Rackham points his cane at the camera, but by and large, the presentation is on immersing viewers into the third-dimension with a great deal of natural depth, which it does in spades.

Buildings on the European streets and long hallways seem elongated and distant, genuinely feeling as if far removed from the foreground. Other objects appear to move independently of each other, such as when Tintin and Captain Haddock meet for the first time inside his cramped quarters. In fact, several of the best moments come while the two run around the Karaboudjan and try to make their escape. Later on, during a wild chase on the confined streets of Bagghar down to the harbour, the rapid camera movements and non-stop action is the film's coolest sequence, arguably making it one of the best uses of the 3D technology yet. On a large enough screen, it quite literally feels like being on a roller coaster ride, weaving and zigzagging between buildings and people. The film comes with several dark scenes, and never does delineation within the deep, murky shadows come into question.

The rest of the presentation is equally outstanding with pitch-perfect contrast and superb, crystal-clear clarity, allowing viewers to see far into the distance. Black levels are inky and penetrating with extraordinary gradational steps in the grayscale, adding to the layers of dimensionality already present in the video. Although the photography comes with a slightly antiquated appeal to it, colours are vivid and richly-saturated, leaping off the screen with an energetic pop. The transfer is beautifully detailed from beginning to end, revealing the smallest imperfections on clothing, architecture and the walls of the ship. One can really appreciate the artwork and effort that went into the film's making as the faces of characters have a lifelike texture that almost makes them seem real. Captain Haddock's nose and cheeks are probably the most impressive, sure to leave viewers astonished of this high-def presentation.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Audio is the same as its 2D counterpart and makes a wonderful addition to the video's immersive effect. The 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack makes excellent use of the system as it comes natively in a 7.1 soundscape. Directionality and panning is absolutely flawless as bullets and vehicles zoom all around the room, and the debris from explosions flies overhead as well as to the sides. There's not much to speak of in terms of ambience, but a few atmospherics quietly sneak into the rears, generating a decently pleasant sound field. John Williams' animated score also enjoys a strong presence in the surrounds, filling the air with excitement and adventure.

Much of the runtime is spent on the front soundstage since a great deal of the narrative is dialogue-driven. Conversations are very well-prioritized and perfectly audible during the movie's several high points. Dynamic range is expansive with room-penetrating clarity, allowing listeners to revel in a variety of sounds and noises which make the action sequences come alive. Again, John Williams music benefits most with clear instrumentation and terrific acoustical detail. Low-frequency effects are a plenty with powerful, full-bodied explosions and punchy gunshots. 'Tintin' makes an awesome debut audio.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

For this 3D Blu-ray edition of 'Tintin,' Paramount adds several high-definition exclusives to the package, along with the 3D version of the movie, a DVD copy and BD-Live Functionality. Arriving day-and-date as its 2D counterpart, the Blu-ray shares a couple of supplements with the DVD release, along with a code for accessing an UltraViolet Copy or downloading a Digital Copy.

Toasting Tintin: Part 1 [HD] [1:00] Filmmakers celebrate the first day of shooting with some champagne.

The Journey to Tintin [HD] [9:00] An insightful look at how Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson discovered Hergé's comics and bringing Tintin's adventures to the big screen.

The World of Tintin [HD] [11:00] After a brief history on the comics and the characters, the segment looks at the film adaptations and the differences.

The Who’s Who of Tintin [HD] [14:00] Background on the characters from the comics mixed with some motion-capture footage of the cast.

Tintin: Conceptual Design [HD] [9:00] As the title suggests, the piece looks at the work done by WETA Workshop and their attempts at staying true to Hergé's original design.

Tintin: In the Volume [HD] [18:00] With more motion-capture footage about, the piece examines the stage on which actors perform and Spielberg using the technology.

Snowy: From the Beginning to End [HD] [10:00] Focused on Tintin's trusted canine companion and the work that went into bringing him to life.

Animating Tintin [HD] [11:00] Behind-the-Scene footage shows the actual CGI process of transforming mo-cap scenes into an animated film.

Tintin: The Score [HD] [7:00] Attention is given to legendary composer John Williams and his approach.

Collecting Tintin [HD] [4:00] Looks at the design of the collectible toys.

Toasting Tintin: Part 2 [HD] [3:00] Another toast from by the filmmakers after completing the film.

Finally, Directed by Steven Spielberg and produced by Peter Jackson, 'The Adventures of Tintin' is a fun and thrilling big-screen adaptation of Hergé's beloved classic comic books. The CGI animated action-packed adventure animation film is reminiscent of Steven Spielberg's 'Indiana Jones' franchise films, but stands on its own as an entertaining and rousing motion picture for the whole family. This 3D Blu-ray edition of the film arrives with a first-rate audio and video presentation that's sure to satisfy everyone. Bonus material is fairly extensive, and most of it is exclusive to Blu-ray, making this wild thrill-ride worth the price. Again like a lot of people who are not a fan of this Belgium author Hergé [aka Georges Prosper Remi] and the books of Tintin and ‘The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn’ animation film fills in the gaps for us who are not up on the exploits of Tintin and the film is based on three of Hergé's books entitled: The Crab with the Golden Claws [1941], The Secret of the Unicorn [1943], and Red Rackham's Treasure [1944] and I think Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson have done a grand job in bringing the pages of the Hergé books to life and I can tell you it is a brilliant animation film that will give you a brilliant rollercoaster ride and the voice artists really bring the characters to life and I can also tell you that you will have an amazing experience, especially in the fantastic 3D image experience and it is such an honour to add this to me ever increasing Steven Spielberg Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Tin Tin, 12 Dec 2012
By 
Wyndham Hibberd (Bridgend, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is brilliant. The animation is astonishing, which makes anything possible, and the characters are exactly true to the nostalgic Tin Tin as fans have known him for so many years. The real star of the film is Snowy, the dog. You cannot take your eyes off him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tin tin, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
When is the next one I wonder because I can't wait excellent animation the graphics and postures were amazing great story line,enjoyed very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg is back to top form, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
Based on Herge's beloved comics, Tintin (Jamie Bell) is a young reporter on the trail of a lost treasure after coming into possession of a model of the ship 'The Unicorn'. However, other forces are at work in the form of businessman Ivanovitch Sakharine (Daniel Craig), also seeking the lost fortune. Along his travels, Tintin teams up with the lovable drunk Captain Haddock (Andy Serkis), descendant of the Unicorn's captain, to thwart Sakharine's schemes. Adventure ensues...

One of the best and most fun adventures to hit the silver screen in a long time, Spielberg's take on the Belgian icon is unapologetic, old fashioned matinee fun, with dynamic animation and breath taking action sequences, some even done in one long take like a chase through a Morrocan city. Seriously, if someone makes a list or book on great film action sequences, and forgets this, it's a crime in defiance of the Geneva Convention! This is further assisted by great performances from a strong cast, especially a wonderfully manic Serkis as Haddock and an unrecognizable Craig as the villain. Add in razor sharp pacing and generous helpings of humour, no shock given Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish had a hand in writing, and you have a well rounded ride.

Honestly, if I had anything to complain about, it's maybe that John Williams' theme isn't as memorable as it should be, sounding more like a 60s spy film than grand adventure, and maybe The Thompsons (played by Frost and Pegg) are exploited for a few cheap slapstick laughs, but hey, I chuckled all the same.

In closing, Spielberg and Jackson succeed with flying colours, and if 'Pirates' or 'Crystal Skull' has jaded you, then 'Tintin' may very well be the high adventure you're so badly looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD]
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews