Customer Reviews


438 Reviews
5 star:
 (293)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action adventure that does justice to the "Tintin" name
This animated adventure is both produced and directed by Steven Spielberg in his first animated effort, it is in most ways a satisfying watch with some excellent animation, a good voice cast and an exciting storyline

I have quite a few of the Tintin books and enjoyed the exploits brought to life by the Belgian cartoonist Hergé (Georges Prosper Remi)...
Published 6 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adults! Do not pass this point!
If the plot matched up to the ingenious animation technique used to produce it, this would surely be a 5 star film.

However, as with many Hollywood film adaptions, much of the charm and nuance of the original book and characters has been lost; all that remains in this film is a series of frantic chase/fight scenes, played out by stripped out characters that are...
Published 5 months ago by birchden


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action adventure that does justice to the "Tintin" name, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This animated adventure is both produced and directed by Steven Spielberg in his first animated effort, it is in most ways a satisfying watch with some excellent animation, a good voice cast and an exciting storyline

I have quite a few of the Tintin books and enjoyed the exploits brought to life by the Belgian cartoonist Hergé (Georges Prosper Remi)

The film take inspiration from a number of books and mixes in some bits of it's own, The Crab with the Golden Claws and The Secret of the Unicorn are the two main plot lines. Cast do a decent job including Jamie Bell as Tintin, Daniel Craig who voices Ivan Ivanovitch Sakharine and Red Rackham, Nick Frost and Simon Pegg provide the well known detectives Thomson and Thompson, no complaints about the voice acting

The story starts with Tintin and Snowy (his longstanding dog companion) at a market where they buy a model ship "The Unicorn", taking the ship back home it's broken by accident revealing a scroll inside it which is the basis for most of the film story, the attempts by others to steal the scroll and the hidden secrets it contains. It turns out there are other scrolls and when combined will reveal the location of the real Unicorn ship and the treasure it contains.

A fairly simple plot, very much in the style of adventure films both animated or not. The quality of animation is excellent throughout clearly a lot of effort has been put into the production. The film is quite fast paced, and at times a little too much with very little time to ponder or relax (many films get criticised for being too drawn out or slow Tintin probably goes a bit too far the other direction) The ending leaves the door (somewhat predictably open) for other sequels which is a little disappointing that during the 1 hour 47 minutes the story isn't concluded. Plenty of material to work with for future Tintin adventures I'd have liked to see this one wrap up at the end. Still leaving the slightly super fast pace/action (in a few cases a little overboard and going beyond reality a bit too much) this is an enjoyable film which is a slick production with great visuals, and a genuinely fun adventure/storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - my first 3D movie on my new 3D TV!, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first 3D movie that I watched in my new 65" Panasonic Plasma and I loved it. I was not really convinced before I watched this movie that 3D on TV would be something that I would enjoy, but I am happy to be proved wrong. As for the movie, it is mix of elements from one or two Tintin books, but otherwise the story would be well known to all the Tintin fans (of which I am one - I own all the comics). It is fast paced, funny and the animation and 3D effects are great. I would also like to mention that amazon delivered this to Kazakhstan where I live now (having recently moved from Europe) in less than two weeks - in fact amazon delivered this ahead of other items that I had ordered on E-bay a week before I made the amazon order. Well done amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The worst post-viewing experience ever!, 9 April 2012
I'll explain my review title later, but first, a quick summary:

Animation 10/10:
Possibly the best animation I have ever seen. The facial expressions, character movement, and the motion of clothing to wind, rain / character movement are outstanding. The crisp details of each scene were wonderful, as were the light and shade effects. There are people who are better qualified to make more specific comments relating to rendering and contrast etc. so I will leave that them.

Action 10/10:
Lots of it, really fast and with lots to take in and gasp at, but greatly tempered with the important slower scenes, used to explain plot progression. Certainly this is where the DVD's 'replay' value shows, as there may have been things missed the first time around and, even then, it worth watching the scenes again to marvel at the interactions of the characters, creatures, their vehicles and the environment. To explain the action further might spoil the film for others, so I will leave it there.

Storyline 10/10
Although some reviewers on Amazon are not happy with the storyline, I really enjoyed it. Certainly I had guessed some of it, but certainly not all of it, and it could even be progressed further if a 'Tin Tin 2' is made. It is important to stress some reviewers have read the entire series of Tin Tin books, but my review is purely based on having read the comic strip versions of the series. In that sense, considering the style of the comic strips, the storyline is excellent.

Humour 10/10:
Sadly some negative reviews resort to insulting adults who liked the humour, by claiming 'It's childish and only a 3 / 6/ 12 year old would find it funny.' I for one, will lose no sleep at all at such comments, because they do seem to suggest, 'If I don't like it, then others who do, must be inferior to me.' and I believe you should respect others who don't have your personal tastes. If you don't like it, then is fair enough, score the film as 'low', explain your reasons, but leave it at that. Now, although I wasn't expecting the film to have that many comedic moments in it, I am so glad that it did. When they came, usually interspersed with the action scenes (but not always) I laughed out loud, as did my son. At 52 and 23 respectively, we were in tears and, yes, holding our sides. Again, I cannot specify these moments, as to do so would spoil the film, but if you love watching your family enjoying a film, then you cannot really go far wrong with Tin Tin.

That's my brief take on the film but, if they make a Tin Tin 2, 3 etc. to the same standard as this initial film, I will be in the queues to buy them. As to my review title, 'The worst post-viewing experience ever!', well I laughed so much during the film I had a coughing fit and pulled a couple of muscles around my ribs. I ended up with two days of aches and pains and box of paracetamol as my best friend but, to me, the film was definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those of us who grew up with Tintin, this was an exciting chance to add to our Tintin experience., 28 May 2014
By 
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
For those of us who grew up with Tintin, this was an exciting chance to add to our Tintin experience.
I think Tintin was brilliantly captured, a little less effeminate than in the early animated films,
It would never have been the same without Tintin's wonderful dog Snowy-loved when Snowy tamed the Rottweiler that was chasing Tintin and made him into a friend, and his struggle on the ship with rat for a sandwich. And Captain Haddock was captured down to a pat.-absolutely classic.
The film combines three Tintin adventure books-The Secret of the Unicorn, Red Rackham's Treasure, and
The Crab with the Golden Claws.
It begins with Tintin's innocent purchase at a flew market of a model 17th century ship which leads to his life being endangered and on a thrilling, dangerous adventure.
Also like the touch of the evil Professor Saccharin being Red Rackham's descendant bent on a centuries long feud with the Captains' descendants
Action scenes were a little long but this is an action adventure after all.
Also liked how the scenes effortlessly moved in the Captain's delirium from the desert to his battles with Red Rackham.
A little disappointed about no adventures for Tintin and friends in the Caribbean as in the book of Red Rackham's Treasure.
But the touch of brining in opera diva Bianca Castafiore was quite amusing. A lot of the dialogue was amusing and a a great inspirational speech by Haddock near the end when Tintin is ready to give up. 'Failed. There are plenty of others willing to call you a failure. A fool. A loser. A hopeless souse. Don't you ever say it of yourself. You send out the wrong signal, that is what people pick up. Don't you understand? You care about something, you fight for it. You hit a wall, you push through it. There's something you need to know about failure, Tintin. You can never let it defeat you.'
Yes I enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in all a rather splendid adventure for those proverbial children of all ages, 26 July 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn is the first wholly MoCap animated feature where the technology's weird mixture of the photo-realistic and the cartoonish actually works completely, and works rather wonderfully. It's not just that the dead eyes that plagued earlier MoCap films have gone but that, rather than pointlessly inserting unconvincingly animated versions of real people in a fantastic environment, it uses it to faithfully recreate the characters from the comic albums as they would look in a three-dimensional environment. It's not just a case of wearing a blue sweater with a duck tuft hairstyle or putting on a big putty nose, beard and captain's outfit to approximate them, these really are Tintin and Captain Haddock, but with the benefit of fully fleshed out and surprisingly naturalistic performances courtesy of Jamie Bell and Andy Serkis. And it's not only Thomson and Thompson and Red Rackham who get the benefit, the film beginning with a fun cameo from Herge painting Tintin's portrait in the opening scene and wondering if he's painted him before some time.

But the technological leap would be mere window dressing if it was the only thing the film had going for it, but thankfully this is Steven Spielberg rediscovering the real sense of fun and adventure he had back in the heady days of Raiders of the Lost Ark. At times the frequently beautifully lit camerawork overdoes the swirling and swooping to highlight the original 3D as if he's having a bit too much fun with his new toy, but it's grounded by a solid screenplay with plenty of sly humour that only really runs out of steam in the last reel or so once the action leaves Africa (but then endings have often been a problem in many a Spielberg film). But along the way there are enough clever or exciting setpieces, from a chase seen from a dog's eye point-of-view to a rather excellent pirate battle, to forgive the anticlimax. All in all a rather splendid adventure for those proverbial children of all ages.

Plentiful extras in the form of a multi-part documentary on the Blu-ray release, which offers excellent picture and sound, but as usual DVD buyers are less lucky with just two featurettes from the longer documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
bought this DVD after hearing such good reviews and having loved the original cartoons as a kid. Will quite easily say that the animation is stunning - as good as is possible I would hazard a guess. Great story too with loads of tip top action. One of the best films I've seen in years. You don't have to have kids to enjoy this I promise you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Adults! Do not pass this point!, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
birchden "birchden" (Eastbourne, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
If the plot matched up to the ingenious animation technique used to produce it, this would surely be a 5 star film.

However, as with many Hollywood film adaptions, much of the charm and nuance of the original book and characters has been lost; all that remains in this film is a series of frantic chase/fight scenes, played out by stripped out characters that are no more than a shadow of their orginal versions. Poor old Captain Haddock, for example, is reduced to little more than a village idiot. Even his foe, Allan, doesn't escape unscathed; he is stripped of his somewhat sadastic sense of humour and just becomes another robotic thug.

To make things even worse, Spielberg has taken two of Herge's books - "Secret of the Unicorn" and "Crab with the Golden Claws" - and merged them into a clunky composite screenplay in which one character is converted from a harmless nautical collector into a master criminal - looking most out of place on board ship! - and other characters from completely different books suddenly pop up.

This could easily have been the best on-screen Tintin yet, but as it is, it must stand with all the previous flawed attempts to bring Herge's characters to life: films that are only fit for kids, and not very sophisticated ones at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tin tin, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
When is the next one I wonder because I can't wait excellent animation the graphics and postures were amazing great story line,enjoyed very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg is back to top form, 8 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
Based on Herge's beloved comics, Tintin (Jamie Bell) is a young reporter on the trail of a lost treasure after coming into possession of a model of the ship 'The Unicorn'. However, other forces are at work in the form of businessman Ivanovitch Sakharine (Daniel Craig), also seeking the lost fortune. Along his travels, Tintin teams up with the lovable drunk Captain Haddock (Andy Serkis), descendant of the Unicorn's captain, to thwart Sakharine's schemes. Adventure ensues...

One of the best and most fun adventures to hit the silver screen in a long time, Spielberg's take on the Belgian icon is unapologetic, old fashioned matinee fun, with dynamic animation and breath taking action sequences, some even done in one long take like a chase through a Morrocan city. Seriously, if someone makes a list or book on great film action sequences, and forgets this, it's a crime in defiance of the Geneva Convention! This is further assisted by great performances from a strong cast, especially a wonderfully manic Serkis as Haddock and an unrecognizable Craig as the villain. Add in razor sharp pacing and generous helpings of humour, no shock given Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish had a hand in writing, and you have a well rounded ride.

Honestly, if I had anything to complain about, it's maybe that John Williams' theme isn't as memorable as it should be, sounding more like a 60s spy film than grand adventure, and maybe The Thompsons (played by Frost and Pegg) are exploited for a few cheap slapstick laughs, but hey, I chuckled all the same.

In closing, Spielberg and Jackson succeed with flying colours, and if 'Pirates' or 'Crystal Skull' has jaded you, then 'Tintin' may very well be the high adventure you're so badly looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who was a fan of Tintin when they were younger will love this film and with its computer animation is caters for young audiences who don't even know who Tintin is too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret Of The Unicorn [DVD]
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews