Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value
Took delivery of this as part of a much larger order of components, for a new PC build. All arrived safely at the same time, and very well packaged.

I needed a DVDRW drive with fairly high speed read/write capability, and one that runs reasonably quiet. As I already have one of these fitted in another system, it was a relief to see the same drive on sale here...
Published 22 months ago by Rob H

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mix up?
I ordered this Samsung SH-S222AB but actually received a different model.I think it was the SH-S223C.And it had no Samsung trademark on it.Just the serial code.The front seemed like cheap plastic that left the impression that was not genuine product.Plus when it was starting to spin,it was quite noisy.
If you receive the SH-S222AB it might be good,bot for the mix up...
Published 18 months ago by Paslariu Gheorghe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 4 Nov 2012
By 
Rob H (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
Took delivery of this as part of a much larger order of components, for a new PC build. All arrived safely at the same time, and very well packaged.

I needed a DVDRW drive with fairly high speed read/write capability, and one that runs reasonably quiet. As I already have one of these fitted in another system, it was a relief to see the same drive on sale here for far less, so grabbed it :)

Its not a high end drive, by any means. However, it does the job it is intended to do, and just like my other identical drive, it does so fairly quietly.

Unlike other cheap(ish) DVDRW drives, the disk tray is quite robust, so will withstand moderate repeated use for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Writers, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
Would have got a five star but gives no indication that it is reading CD/DVD no light to show CD/DVD even placed in drive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's meant to, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
Not used it much, but I had a serious issue with my PC and was unable to load recovery software; the issue turned out to be hardware related, but this drive does the job as it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, very quiet drive., 16 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. B. J. Buckley "Brian Buckley" (Scotland (Highlands) UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
This drive is the quietest drive we have ever bought. Would recommend this if you need peace and quiet while you're drive is working.
Super value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic item :), 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
Purchased this item (with Datawrite DVD+R DL 8.5GB disks) to replace a recently deceased Single Layer DVD Burner from many a moon ago. BIOS & Windows 8 detected the Drive with no problems, and when reading/writing, its very very quiet.

Using ImgBurn software, it burnt my 8.3GB home made DVD .ISO file just perfectly. The BookType setting within ImgBurn had to be set to [DVD-ROM] for the DVD to be played on my stand alone DVD Player.

Have burnt a few other cd's / single layer dvd's, and overall, I am one very happy customer :)

PS Although its the SH-S222AB model in the description, i actually got a SH-S224BB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
Bought this to replace an old eide unit, can't believe they can make them for the price. Windows 8 recognised it immediately and it's pretty quiet too. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD drive, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
Installed drive in my Corsair Carbide 300R and it has been fine. It is the nosiest piece of kit in the box when accessing data but that is simply the speed drives run at these days and that my chassis fans and PSU OCZ Fatality 750w units are so amazingly quiet. The only very slight niggle I have is the drive light is tiny and fitted underneath the CD tray outlet which is raised so its really hard to see, but this is only a problem if you are hard of hearing and aesthetically I would of liked it a tiny bit tighter in the case but as the drive and case are black it doesn't really matter, and that could be the case that's the problem not the drive. I haven't burnt any discs yet but if I do find it a problem I will update this review but certainly reading data its very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review re: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DBD Writer DBD+/- RW (black), 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
I found the this DVD writer to be good value for money. It was easy to install. I am very happy with the product. It was delivered quickly and was packaged well. The service provided by Amazon I have always found to be efficient and without fault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid drive, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
This is a good solid dvd writer,easy setup,just plug in,cable up&off you go.Nero recognised it straight away!! it just works!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SATA Dual Layer Writer, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung SH-S222AB 22X SATA Dual layer DVD Writer DVD±RW Black
The unit arrived in blank packaging, installed & worked ok so far without issue. Not much more to be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews