Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple times...simply brilliant
The 2nd album from the finely hushed voice and songwriting talent that is Joshua Radin. give the hairs on your arms a workout because this album is just pure life affirming stuff, whatever mood your in this guy sings the songs to accompany the ups and downs, despair and dreams that are the stuff of everyday life/relationships et all. A must have purchase for the...
Published on 7 Oct 2008 by Jacko

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WTF?
I loved we were here. I love Winter, I loved his music so much that I crammed myself into a tiny pub in London to listen to him and he was brilliant.

But this is rubbish.

He doesn't have a very powerful voice, so it lends itself to the intimate, sparse music he did so well on his previous album.

But this album is so over produced, the...
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by Winston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple times...simply brilliant, 7 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 2nd album from the finely hushed voice and songwriting talent that is Joshua Radin. give the hairs on your arms a workout because this album is just pure life affirming stuff, whatever mood your in this guy sings the songs to accompany the ups and downs, despair and dreams that are the stuff of everyday life/relationships et all. A must have purchase for the oncoming dark winter nights, it has quickly become one of my fave albums of 2008, hopefully he will play England again soon, have seen him twice already in the past couple of years and he is genius live...really, really good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Kid on an Old Block, 24 April 2010
By 
B. C. Hughes (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simple Times (Softpack) (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Joshua Radin for a long time, buying imports from the the States, Cary Brothers is another singer/songwriter you might enjoy if you like this album. Thoughtful and poignant this album extends Radin's musical journey. Lyrics are provocative and music is mellow yet it has punch. A great album to drive to on a warm summer's evening with the window down...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greater confidence, greater songs, 27 Feb 2010
By 
T. Richards (Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Times (Audio CD)
From what I've found, most people - including myself - came to singer-songwriter Joshua Radin having heard a number of his songs on Scrubs. His whispery, slightly haunting, yet warming music from his earlier album, We Were Here, isn't to everyone's liking, but I took to it instantly. I was eager enough about Simple Times that I ordered it from across the pond.

Simple Times takes the quiet, acoustic, hands-on-hips-at-the-wedding We Were Here - too quiet and too acoustic for some tastes - and gives it a playful wink, a little extra something that ups the pace and activity by a tiny fraction.

Radin clearly enjoyed crafting this album, creating something that's just a little more active and upbeat than We Were Here, with slightly poppy 'Vegetable Car', 'Sky' and 'Free Of Me' just a couple of such tracks.

But don't be worried that Radin is merely pandering to a wider audience. The music that you'll have fallen in love with from Scrubs is still here in abundance. The guitar-work in 'I'd Rather Be With You' is some of his best, the lyrics still work more like poetry than anything, while Radin's familiar, gentle voice has developed slightly, becoming more confident across the entire album. Track five, 'Brand New Day', is a combination of everything that makes Radin so likeable.

In fact, the whole album feels far more finished, far more confident in its approach. It's not the most original of albums, granted, but it's more grown up, more polished, and if you liked We Were Here, you'll love Simple Times. And for those who have never heard of the guy, just think of a softer, quieter, calmer Jack Johnson and you wouldn't be far off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 16 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. N. England (Wimbledon, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I really didn't think Joshua Radin could top his first album but he has. He really has! I agree with the previous reviewer- this has to be one of the best albums of 2008.

If you like Sufjan Stevens or Josh Rouse you're gonna love this!

Buy it. You wont be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Times, 12 April 2010
By 
B. Burtenshaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simple Times (Softpack) (Audio CD)
After remaining pretty much unknown over here, Josh has finally released his second studio album to us. As with his first album it's full of whisper rock, so unlike the modern rubbish in the charts today. The album is a laid back affair and should prove to be popular :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The music comes first..., 2 April 2009
By 
J. Munn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Music is the most powerful medium. Yes, we love film & TV but ultimately music is the soundtrack to our lives. It's lucky for Joshua Radin then that his music goes hand in hand with film & TV. Expect to hear many of these songs in your favourite TV shows.

Joshua Radin has achieved the hardest thing in music. A second album that is better than the first and it's all because the music comes first - the artist here, never gets in the way. It should be mandatory for albums to have minimum 9 tracks, maximum 12 tracks. Simple Times has 11, coming in at just over 33 minutes. It's this precision and thought that makes the album a rare commodity. There's no track to skip, even after repeat listens. For some, it may be considered background music - the compositions may sound basic, the lyrics about relationship failures and hopes for a new start familiar, but this, in an industry full of copycat beats, samples and crash-bang-wallops with no soul, makes it all the more, for simple times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple times, simple pleasures, 30 Aug 2010
By 
Trevor Magee (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Times (Audio CD)
This guy is already being billed as "the latest new Jack Johnston/ James Blunt/whoever". The all crucial 4th album will tell whether he is more than a one hit wonder, but to concentrate on the first one to really come our attention thanks to Radio 2, Josh Radin is a writer of tunes that are ready made for the soundtrack of almost any contemporary American TV series, he is also a clever lyricist who writes naturally about life & love, normal hopes & fears & deserves to be much more than the UK summer sound of 2010. I would encourage you to explore beyond the slight cheesiness of the single "Brand New Day" & take the plunge & commit to buying, playing & sharing this album with your friends, family & lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SuzieQ's review of Joshua Radin's Simple Times CD, 7 Jun 2010
By 
SuzieQ (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Simple Times (Softpack) (Audio CD)
I saw this CD advertised on TV and went straight to the Amazon website to listen to some of the tracks. This guy's voice seemed calming, and his songs 'ballady' - reminding me a lot of Simon & Garfunkel. I therefore decided to purchase it, and haven't regretted it one bit. The songs are meaningful and thought-provoking ... and it's great for getting me through the ironing! All in all a very enjoyable album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Dec 2009
This review is from: Simple Times (Audio CD)
I first heard his songs on scrubs so decided to get the album, it's really good. I'd rather be with you is my favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 26 May 2014
By 
Lucy Maclellan "rainbowskyline" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simple Times (Audio CD)
I really like acoustic music and had never heard of Joshua Radin before buying this album. Purchased a while ago but still listen to the songs because they never get old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simple Times
Simple Times by Joshua Radin (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews