Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Insight Into Indian Culture
I first heard Ravi Shankar playing the sitar, the traditional Indian guitar, in Singapore in 1967, when the multiracial audience, many of whom had never heard Indian music before, gave him a standing ovation for the haunting lyricism of his melodies, and the wit with which he and his tabla player (drummer) invented complicated rhythms and challenged each other to copy...
Published on 19 July 2011 by M. Counsell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An experience
I had heard a track from the cd and thought I would give it a try. I am not disappointed
Published on 1 May 2013 by R. H. Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Insight Into Indian Culture, 19 July 2011
By 
M. Counsell (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
I first heard Ravi Shankar playing the sitar, the traditional Indian guitar, in Singapore in 1967, when the multiracial audience, many of whom had never heard Indian music before, gave him a standing ovation for the haunting lyricism of his melodies, and the wit with which he and his tabla player (drummer) invented complicated rhythms and challenged each other to copy then. His influence on the Beatles is famous. I heard him play again this year (2011) when he is just as inventive and musically agile despite being 90 years old. This CD is a good introduction to his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
readerman (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
This is a really great selection of Ravi Shankar's (and friends) music.Well worth buying and playing over and over.Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A masterful exposition of sitar music, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
Soul- stirring music leading to tranquility and serenity. Very good background to meditation. Rooted in Indian classical tradition. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for Christmas, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
An outstanding CD which as the Title says is the very best of Ravi Shankar. If you enjoy this type of music then this is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very different and gentle to the soul music.It is also relaxing and spiritual.Nice blend of traditional indian instruments and classical ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The brilliant Ravi Shankar, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
I have left out one star-which represents my own inadequacy to fully appreciate (what to me) is a completely new form of music. I need to play it a few more times to appreciate the full genius of the master. Not to mention his wonderful associates. The 5th star is therefore a formality waiting for the music to shine in my brain receptor areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ravi Shankar, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
Brought this for my husband he loves the cd but it wasn't in cellophane and when he put it on it went straight to no 3 , hoping it wasn't second hand as it was brought as new !!
I would recommend the cd but check it is new !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A special man, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
I was very fortunate to spend an evening with this great person in a private home. Normally man makes music, but in this case it is the music who have made the man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the collection albeit an acquired taste. ..., 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Ravi Shankar (Audio CD)
A must for the collection albeit an acquired taste. Some of the work harks back my Hippy days and you cant beat a bit of nostalgia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of Ravi's Music, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good selection for someone wanting to introduce themselves to sitar based music from this master of the art. Extemely good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Ravi Shankar
The Very Best of Ravi Shankar by Ravi Shankar (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 12 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews