Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


185 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Resistance is all you need!!!
Have looked into the topic of loudspeaker cable resistance and have come up with this.

The important thing to remember is to make sure the cable resistance is much, much less than the DC resistance ( or impedance )of your loudspeakers, typically 8 ohm.

The present day thinking is to make sure the cable resistance is no greater than 0.05ohm for a 3m...
Published on 9 Oct. 2010 by Ken

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is aluminium cable with copper cover
The cable looks ok but like some of the other cables for about this price it is aluminium covered with copper - when chopped definitely silver inside - not sure how this will compare to pure copper but others have reported good sound quality.
I bought this - found the resistance a little high - I needed another long run so bought a different one - see my review...
Published on 21 July 2012 by Leigh


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

185 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low Resistance is all you need!!!, 9 Oct. 2010
By 
Ken "kenneth rhodes" (Barnsley, S. Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
Have looked into the topic of loudspeaker cable resistance and have come up with this.

The important thing to remember is to make sure the cable resistance is much, much less than the DC resistance ( or impedance )of your loudspeakers, typically 8 ohm.

The present day thinking is to make sure the cable resistance is no greater than 0.05ohm for a 3m length.

For example, for this cable with a 2.5mm diameter core, you can use up to 7 metre of cable
and you would be less than 0.05 ohm. If you pay any more for thicker cable you are wasting your money because you would not hear any difference between the two.

Also twisting the bared copper cable around a terminal is also OK they are nearly always gold plated on even budget speakers such as Wharfedale 10.1 , you need not buy fancy plugs.

Any talk of capacitance or reactance is irrelevant, do not be tempted to spend hundreds of pounds on super duper gold/platinum or any other exotic metal. Oxygen free copper is the best so long as it is thick enough.
Regards, Ken Rhodes B. Met(Metallurgy).,Dip. Ed., B.Sc. ( Honours Degree in Physics )

25m Quality Oxygen Free 2 x 1.5mm 130 Strand Loud Speaker Cable by electrosmart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Price and quality, 11 Feb. 2011
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
Definately worth buying, great price compared to most stores and other on-line shops. Also has extremely low resistance per metre. would reccomend for most home audio/cinema systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speaker wire, 19 Dec. 2010
By 
Av Freeman "freddy" (norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
Brilliant sound, clear and crisp, would be exactly what someone, would want, if you were setting up any type of system. Normally this standard speaker wire normally would cost far more than this. It would improve any sound system and at the price I paid, you would be silly going elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is aluminium cable with copper cover, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
The cable looks ok but like some of the other cables for about this price it is aluminium covered with copper - when chopped definitely silver inside - not sure how this will compare to pure copper but others have reported good sound quality.
I bought this - found the resistance a little high - I needed another long run so bought a different one - see my review of:
20m HDinterconnects Pro Acoustix speaker cable. 326 strand Heavy duty max 30A 2.5mm2 Perfect for car, Home cinema, High performance Applications.

I think that is a bit better much lower resistance - perhaps depends on how long your runs are!
This is how it compares in my resistance test:

Method: cut off ends hold each end together with multimeter to get full length reading:
This slightly cheaper product : same mm2 cross section: 0.018Ohms per meter (0.9ohms in 50 meters)
HD interconnects speaker cable - slightly larger on outside dimension of cable: 0.0075Ohms per meter (0.3 ohms in 40meters)
So this cheaper cable is 2.5 times higher resistance - this according to some on the internet has a big difference on longer runs. I could not really tell listening to it altough it will tell more when the volumn is turned up so I have read.
For comparison some 1.5mm flex off my old vacuum cleaner = 0.02ohm per meter (0.4ohms for 20meters).
I think it is worth spending the little extra(~20%) just in case if you have a longer run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 3 Feb. 2011
By 
G. J. Ridgett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
Rewired my Sony surround sound system and enjoyed a very noriceable difference. Excellent quality cable for the money. Be aware that hiding the cable will be a challenge....it's a bit bulky but very effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good quality product, 7 Oct. 2011
By 
L. Beaumont (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
This speaker cable is of a very high quality and for the price is good value. The copper wire core was actually bigger in diameter than I expected and was only just small enough to fit the speaker & av receiver terminals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 13 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
I bought this as it was much better value than what was on offer where I bought my speakers from. I originally underestimated the size of the cable despite reading the dimensions in the product description but it easily fits in my speakers binding posts.

The sound is clearly better than using some old cable I had in the house that I used as a temporary measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agree with other buyers!, 30 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
I am not going to say much more. The first three reviewers were right.
I needed longer cables for my 5.1 sound system. This was sufficient!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It WAS BETTER after installing..............!, 24 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
NO shock to me that it WAS BETTER............changing from 'bell wire', and ex Army surplus, not bad proper spkr. cable, AND some other cheap and nasty stuff i had had for years, ALL mixed together driving my TANNOY Eyris 2 Floor Standers,it was NO WONDER it sounded Better.....I HAD intended to BI-Wire 'em but decided not to after installation,they sound really good, and i am not really a follower of the GOLD/PLAT.Brigade and all that stuff...
so there you are,it WAS worth buying this cable after all ! Mike C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cable, 22 Oct. 2012
By 
J. B. Lamb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25m Quality 2 x 2.5mm Loud Speaker Cable - Multi-Strand 432 25 Amp (2x 216 Strand) by electrosmart® - Outside Dimensions of Cable: 7.5mm x 3.6mm (Electronics)
This speaker wire delivers excellent sound to my speakers, the low resistance (thank to the multiple strands) means the overall impedance is not increased by any significant amount.

As for the length 25m of cable is a great amount. I've connect 2 front speakers (bi-wired), they aren't too far from the receiver but I still have loads of cable left.

One slightly awkward thing is that with this many strands it can be difficult to neatly connect the cable to your terminals (depending on how they're laid out). So it could be worth getting some banana plugs to save hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews