Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A food monoculture
Robert Kenner's movie is a perfect illustration of F. William Engdahl's book `Seeds of Destruction', which explains how international agribusinesses are trying to monopolize vertically and horizontally (and profit from) food production on a world scale.

The world's food chain is built mainly on heavily subsidized and, therefore, cheap corn. In fact, all humans...
Published on 25 Aug 2009 by Luc REYNAERT

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Attention, no subtitles whatsoever
Attention, no subtitles whatsoever (not even English, not to say anything about other spoken or subtitle versions) on the DVD, I know that I should have been more careful before I bought it, but I am posting this as a warning; too bad, judging from other reviewers the film would have been great to watch,
Published on 14 April 2012 by vpapakonstantinou


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A food monoculture, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Robert Kenner's movie is a perfect illustration of F. William Engdahl's book `Seeds of Destruction', which explains how international agribusinesses are trying to monopolize vertically and horizontally (and profit from) food production on a world scale.

The world's food chain is built mainly on heavily subsidized and, therefore, cheap corn. In fact, all humans chew corn the whole day long from bread over meat (all animals are fed with corn) to deserts and drinks. Transnational corporations are even trying to learn fish to eat corn. Corn becomes nearly a food monoculture.
A particular transnational company even developed through genetic engineering highly efficient corn seed which it patented, thereby creating a nearly seed monopoly. Buyers cannot use the produce of the seeds as plant seed for future harvests. The company's own inspection force controls with hawk eyes that its clients buy new genetically modified seed every year. Some of the company's supporters and former directors occupy key positions in US governments and government administrations (FDA).

The movie shows the disastrous effects of intensive farming on animals, as well as the health and environmental risks of diminished standards at livestock farming and slaughtering houses.
Fortunately, some biological farmers show more respect for their animals and for their clients.

At the end of the movie, the makers give a perfect list of recommendations for those wishing to eat `healthy' food.

This movie is a must see for all those who want to understand the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory viewing for anyone who eats, 2 Dec 2009
By 
Not dogmatic or didactic which many DVD's and documentaries of its ilk can be.

Food Inc is an incredibly insightful and informative exposé on our supermarket products. The most popular ones anyway.

It reveals how complicated, compromised and ethically distasteful the once simple process of growing crops and raising livestock has become. In doing so, it illustrates the perils of consumer apathy.

We can change our food supply. After all, it is we the consumer who creates demand.

Do your health, your planet and your conscience a favour, and buy someone this DVD for Christmas along with a request to "pass it on." The best New year's resolution you could make for 2010!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the 'burger' hits the fan...., 16 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is an excellent film exposing in depth the shortcomings of the industrial food system. However it is also really positive and enjoyable to watch, showing that there ARE viable alternatives if only people were more aware of them. I did not think it was too shocking, although a vegetarian friend of mine only watched the first half; it is in the second half that the positive message really shines through.
I loved this film and watched it in chapters over a period of days to let the message really sink in, although I already grow my own food, and eat organic whenever possible, so I was aware of some of the problems of the industrial system already.
In an age where corprate, industrial and governmental land-grabs are removing indigenous populations from the land where they have traditionally grown the food to feed their communities this film send a vital message- we cannot carry on the way we are going and everyone will have to rethink where and how they get their food in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing but essential info. A call to action!, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This DVD tells a story that is appalling to people concerned with truth in general and with their and others' health. Are the facts in the story true? I believe they are because there are a number of confirming books, videos, and magazine articles that tell similar stories. So, if the story is true, then the situation regarding many foods sold to the public in the United States is appalling. I suspect the situation is the same to at least some degree in other countries so the story concerns all of us. I mean who really has faith in the mass-produced foods imported from China or Brazil? Have you ever seen the videos of Pangasius fish farms in Vietnam or salmon farms in Norway and the ones the Norwegians have opened in Canada? What is truly scary is the extent to which we suspect the corruption of some of our representatives in Washington and some key officers in the federal agencies meant to protect the public. With the disastrous Supreme Court decision in the Citizens' Union case which opens the floodgates of corporate and self-interested money that can be spent toward political ends, whose influence was confirmed absolutely in the recent Congressional elections, we, the public, are left exposed and unprotected unless we take action ourselves.
How can we take action? Stop buying processed foods, farmed fish, non-organically raised meat. Buy organic from trusted sources. It will cost more money but then you know that you need to reduce the volume of food that you eat so do it now and save some or all of that additional cost.
No amount of public outrage will persuade a representative to vote against the interests of a corporation that finances his election campaign because our system is such that he has no option to get elected or re-elected. No amount of public outrage will change our overly technical and procedure-heavy legal system that allows a hugely wealthy Monsanto to financially exhaust a farmer whose non-GM fields become polluted by wind-borne patented GM seeds and spores. The only way to cause change is to stop buying these terrible products and by-products and make market forces do the work that we can no longer trust others to do for us. We'll become slimmer and healthier at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caring about the food you eat., 23 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. Ingrid Wilson (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Had this film been released thirty years ago it would have been X rated and under the heading of science fiction/horror, however, the brave new world we live in is the 21st century and the way our food is being produced and the inhumane way the animals are treated are facts well shown in this film. Also shown is the hold that the multi nationals have over our health via the food we eat. The call for cheap food is a false premise, this food is only cheap because of the subsidies paid to the Big Boys who own us, body and soul. For anyone who cares what they eat and how it is produced and care about farmers receiving a fair price for their products this is essential viewing.It should be included in national curriculums so that the young can make informed choices for their future health and the future of this planet.
The film evidently has to traverse a mine field of potential law suites and gagging orders but the message as told by those directly concerned within the industries is loud and clear. We thouroughly recommend this film and praise the courage of the makers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up World, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Sadly this is the way large farming operations work in order to meet demands for cheap food however, if you look at the true costs to society as a whole i.e. health, environment etc you would see the correct path to go down is Organic and true Sustainability via purchasing local. This DVD projects the truth about how human greed has taken control over our food production methods. Well worth watching Well done to producersFood Inc.: A Participant Guide - How Industrial Food is Making Us Sicker, Fatter, and Poorer and What You Can Do About it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food Inc. Shocking, Enlightening and necessary!, 19 Sep 2010
By 
MaxB "maxieb" (Pretoria South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
And you thought food was nutritious and kept you well. This is the shocking academy award nominated documentary of animal mistreatment and people being treated every bit as badly as the animals in the interest of bottom line profit in the highly industrialised Agri-businesses of the USA. The antibiotics in your food supply in the name of adding 25% more weight to the slaughter animals, while producing resistance to antibiotics in the very pathogens that threaten your life. The Monsanto GM plants that not only threaten to impoverish the third world farmers - but are already doing so in the USA in the name of intellectual propert rights. The political protection of the few food conglomerates, right to the US supreme court already disgust one - but then you need to hear about the contamination inherent in the industrial food processes, the risks to your health whenever you eat a fast food hamburger (tens of animals contribute to that patty from a range of 1500 miles to central industrial abattoirs and factories) or slice of cold meat. Cry with the pigs. The DVD is a top example of investigative journalism that has brought even Monsanto's CEO to admitting that he should have agreed to being interviewed. The words of Ghandi are quoted by director Robert Kenner: First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win. Perhaps you should buy and watch this dvd: get back some control of what goes into your mouth, get back your health, maybe you can still at least break even.

The DVD as received is region 2 (PAL), right for Europe, Africa and Japan, and of excellent quality in an innovative cardboard sleeved package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly not able to tell the whole story, 2 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
On the whole an excellent film. Agribusiness in the USA has most of the population in its ruthless grip as this documentary clearly highlights. Unfortunately, as so many of the practices in the livestock industry are deliberately hidden from the public gaze and cameras are not allowed, it was not able to give the whole picture. I am convinced that if this film was shown in schools and on mainstream television, vast numbers of people would change their eating habits.
It is appalling that GM has crept into the food chain so insidiously and there's no labelling. As for all the chemicals in processed products, they are yet another reason to go organic.
It was cheering to see that such organic farmers as Joel Palatin were interviewed as they represent a tiny shred of hope. However, as long as the advertisers have their (misrepresentative) way,the general public will be taken in and only when they go down with a variety of food-related illnesses might they sit up and take notice. Sad, we're taking part in a human cull through the horrors we eat, but then there's the pharmaceutical industry to sell us all their drugs. Neat little arrangement.

p.s. the more I learn about the food business in the States, the more determined I am not to go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shocking insight into the US food industry - a must watch!, 25 May 2014
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Food, Inc. is about how your food is made and how it makes it onto the supermarket shelves and then into your meals. The way we eat has changed more in the last 50 years than it has in the last 10,000. This is due to the rise of genetically modified crops and numerous other scientific discoveries that have led to the easy mass-production of food. In America, only a handful of companies control the food system and Food, Inc. reveals just how much power these corporations have and how they exert their power over the American consumer.

I've heard of and watched a few videos on what really happens in the food industry in terms of animal cruelty etc. but Food, Inc shows you how the food industry in America is closely tied to the government which seems to care little about the what its citizens are putting in their bodies. With problems such as obesity and diabetes on the rise in numerous countries, not just the US, it is time to make a change and watching Food, Inc. is a step in the right direction. That said, there are also some pretty shocking clips about how the animals are treated that are likely to be found distressing by many. At numerous times during this documentary, I found myself with my mouth agape in horror as I watched the treatment of some animals.

Food, Inc is brilliantly narrated and gives the viewer a detailed insight into the food industry without overloading you with boring facts and statistics. Of course, there are lots of statistics included, most of which are utterly shocking; however, this documentary seems to be an appeal to human nature rather than a report. This documentary subtly urges you to think about what it is that you're eating everyday whilst also promoting healthy eating. They use a wide variety of case studies to demonstrate what's going on and numerous products are discussed, though quite a lot of this documentary is focussed on the meat industry in particular. There are interviews with real life farmers and consumers who have had to deal with the rise of the massive corporations that currently dominate the American food industry.

All in all, Food Inc. is a shocking look at the reality of the American food industry and if you're currently living in America then you need to see this to understand what is really going on around you. Humans eat, on average, three meals a day, so that's three times a day you're filling your body with food, and yet I'm willing to bet that the majority of you don't know where your food really comes from. Food, Inc. will help you to understand the disastrous effects that this corrupt industry could have on both the environment and the health of those that consume it. The poor ethics of the transnational companies governing the US food industry are revealed and this documentary has definitely made a big impact on me and the way I will view food in the future. This is a rare gem that has probably changed my life for the better. It is informative and moving and I would urge everyone, particularly US citizens, to watch this as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye Opening, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Food Inc, is a DVD that should be broadcast on TV for everyone to see. Don't hesitate to buy it, its an eye opener. Interesting, well put together and quite shocking. You will not be disappointed if you like documentary/film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Food, Inc [DVD] [2009]
Food, Inc [DVD] [2009] by Robert Kenner (DVD - 2010)
£4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews