Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Mysteries, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Roman Mysteries is a fabulous DVD set. It contains all of the episodes from series one and two.
It is based on the books by Caroline Lawrence.
Each story is divided into scrolls through two half hour episodes.
The stories include The secrets of Vesuvius, The pirates of Pompeii, the Assassins of Rome, The Dolphins of Laurentum, and The Enemies of Jupiter, all from series one. And then The Gladiators of Capua, The twelve trials of Flavia Gemina, The Colossus of Rhodes, The fugitive from Corinth and the Slave girl from Jerusalem, all from series two.
This was a children's TV series but it is suitable for anyone. The stories are excellent and the whole series has a big budget feel about it.
The sets and special effects are brilliant and everything looks so convincing.
The acting and production are first class and the series gives a strong feel of the day to day life in Ancient Rome. The series is also informative about historic events and facts and the whole series is very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Mysteries, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
What a fantastic dvd set. My 8 yr old son Alexander, had been watching it at school and came home asking if we could get the set. I liked his enthusiasm so bought it and I loved watching it too! My 6 yr old son also liked it. It was so good we kept playing it till we had watched the whole series without any other TV!! It would be an ideal Xmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and really good value, a++++++++!!!!, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Suz100 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I'd watched the roman mysteries series on CBBC and decided i wanted the dvd. This dvd is well made and is a bundle of fun for youngsters and young adults alike. Offers good humour and gives a real insight into what the roman times were actually like. An absolute bargain at £3.39 (bought on 24th December 2010). Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adaptation of the books!, 26 April 2013
By 
Bill in NC "ncbill" (Winston-Salem, NC USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Softens the harshest aspects of the books, fine for children.

We plan on showing this to our kids as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 15 Dec 2010
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This product is seemingly good for children with a sense of adventure. It also recounts some true stories and information, and is absolutely fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars creative, informative, interesting, 31 May 2010
By 
D. Saville "allsetuk" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great show, in the UK we could watch this through the BBC, It really interests my 8 year old, we have been able to use the books to compliment the DVD and we have been able to Ostia and walked amongst the ruins ourselves and it was great to use the visuals from the dvd to supplement that and "complete the picture". The children are excellent in the tv series and its great to have all the episodes on one complete set. Invaluable to any family with an interest in a good historical story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excitement!, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Some of the Latin words are incorrectly pronounced.

The diction isn't always clear.

Is it dubbed?

Famous Five type adventures in roman times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Mysteries, 1 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I thouroughly enjoyed this series. Although the main characters were children the factual content was very good and true events in Roman Histery..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roman mysteries series 1 dvds, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
good set of dvds, made by the bbc. My daughter was doing the romans at school and found this an invaluable tool learning whilst she watched and enjoyed the stories.Took in more than she thought .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely-made series, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. Sarah Gall (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I've only watched the first episode so far but thought it was good. Some of the acting isn't the greatest, but a lot of effort has gone into recreating the ancient world, and (as far as I have watched) it is fairly gentle and suitable for youngish children. (I can't say how it compares with the books, not having read them yet.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD]
Roman Mysteries - The Complete Series [DVD] by Rebekah Brookes-Murrell (DVD - 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews