Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars31
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
30
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2014
This is the best animated film that you could hope to see and the music goes a long way to making it so. The soundtrack to this film produces tears on a daily basis - I play it every day (yes, I'm that nuts on it) and every day it makes me cry with its rousing crescendos and intimate melodies. My favourite track - Test Drive is just thrilling and if you have seen the film, it is easy to imagine the swoops and turns of the ride as you listen. The music is an intriguing mixture of Scottish, Celtic, Arabian and Christmas all rolled into one - it doesn't get any better than this - if you don't believe me, test drive it for yourself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
I loved John Powell's music while watching the DVD so decided to
get the soundtrack CD. It is now a firm favourite for all of our
household!

(And if you haven't seen the film yet, watch it - it's delightful!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
This is an excellent score. I particularly liked the Scottish twist to the music, with the echo of bagpipes and, particularly in track 23, the sound of a Scottish military marching band - but all bound up in a modern and effective soundtrack. The only downside that is the fact that it's a movie score can mean that the music stops, starts, and changes hurriedly (as is necessary). I'd certainly buy a symphonic treatment of this score if it were ever to be created. Well done John Powell.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I loved the movie and enjoyed the soundtrack so much that I bought the CD. I'm so glad I did. Often soundtracks lose something when not heard as part of the film itself, but not this one. It's stands on it's own incredibly well as a collection of separate yet connected and flowing tracks.

The Scottish theme running through many of the tracks is great, and gives a refreshing twist to the usual dramatic filmic scores of late. I love the whole CD, but favourites must be "Forbidden Friendship", "See You Tomorrow", "Test Drive" and "Romantic Flight". Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
Absolutely fantastic soundtrack, the perfect music for this great movie!
Love to listen to it, even without the pictures!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
John Powell has crafted a stirring, emotional score for this terrific Dreamworks production. I'd recommend this to any fan of film scores.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
Some may accuse Powell's score of being manipulative, but this is a thin criticism of a powerfully emotive score. Highlights include The Downed Dragon, an amazing cue that perfectly encapsulates the dwindling hope and begrudging acceptance of death through a haunting melody of despair and anguish, however, this mood is lifted by the atmospheric optimism of Forbidden Friendship, a theme that builds and builds, adding piece by piece to an amazing crescendo.

Cannot recommend this enough. John Powell has learnt much from Hans Zimmer, perhaps even besting him with a score full of such startling emotion and elegance.

Best tracks: The Downed Dragon, Forbidden Friendship, See You Tomorrow, Test Drive.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
The "How To Train Your Dragon" soundtrack is a delight from start to finish. John Powell has created a masterpiece of epic proportions for a distinctly average film. The track "Forbidden Friendship" is easily the best cue of 2010. Having worked on previous animated films such as Shrek, Chicken Run and Antz, he has saved his best for How To Train Your Dragon. Unlike some of his other scores (eg The Bourne Trilogy) which are heavy on electronics, this orchestral delight has Scottish infusions within truly majestic themes. A hidden gem and one of the finest 2010 has to offer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
This is one of the most beautiful soundtracks I have heard... *ever*. I can't think of any other score that flows so well from track to track and that. Out of 25 tracks 25 are excellent. There isn't a dud in an hour and ten minutes. An absolute masterpiece and an absolute must buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
HTTYD is a superb film aimed at kids of all ages. Much like the film itself, this soundtrack is a lot deeper, more fun and more charming than you might at first expect. The music covers a variety of moods and tones so unlike a number of soundtracks it generally doesn't tend to feel like the same track with minor variations. However, themes and motifs repeat throughout but with different instruments, speeds and tones to keep things connected but interesting.

My favourite track and the one that sold me on getting the whole soundtrack was 'Test Drive'. It's a stunning and quite emotionally charged track for probably the best scene in the film (the first flight).

The main theme from 'Test Drive' is reprised in the tail section of 'Battling the Green Death' (which has elements that wouldn't sound out of place in the Independence Day soundtrack but work very well) and 'Coming Back Around' - which must be one of the most uplifting, triumphant tracks I've heard in a while. Although HTTYD is a film about Vikings and dragons, the decidedly Scottish feel of bagpipes and snare drums in parts of these tracks works very well. Maybe Berk is in or near the Hebrides...

'Forbidden Friendship' is a low key and yet rather emotive track covering the growing attachment between Hiccup and Toothless, and it sounds like it could have been written and performed by Sigur Ros. 'See You Tomorrow' is just a happy tune with a nice balance between the Celtic and orchestral elements.

If you want a soundtrack with a mix of grandiose and characterful, Celtic and classic orchestral, funny and dramatic, this is for you. As with the film itself, thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)