Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Score, Scottish Twist, 23 Sep 2010
By 
S. Hedges "simonglos" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent score. I particularly liked the Scottish twist to the music, with the echo of bagpipes and, particularly in track 23, the sound of a Scottish military marching band - but all bound up in a modern and effective soundtrack. The only downside that is the fact that it's a movie score can mean that the music stops, starts, and changes hurriedly (as is necessary). I'd certainly buy a symphonic treatment of this score if it were ever to be created. Well done John Powell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Soundtrack!, 26 May 2010
Absolutely fantastic soundtrack, the perfect music for this great movie!
Love to listen to it, even without the pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic score for a fantastic film, 23 April 2010
By 
John Powell has crafted a stirring, emotional score for this terrific Dreamworks production. I'd recommend this to any fan of film scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 Score. Powell is Brilliant!, 23 Aug 2010
By 
N. May (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Train Your Dragon (MP3 Download)
I agree with all the other 5star reviews. You will not find a better album of fantasy, animation music!
I could write all day about how much I love this score, but I'm gonna keep it short!
I am a huge fan of John Powell, and although I love most of his scores, this is a step above the rest. The film helps as well, allowing Powell to write long, flowing sections of music which grows and grows in enthusiasm and emotion.

Lets put it this way, I love this score so much I've ended up buying it twice, purchased the Digital download on the release date, and now I've purchased a physical copy too.

10/10, Quite possibly my favourite score of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Soundtrack / Score of 2010, 29 Dec 2010
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The "How To Train Your Dragon" soundtrack is a delight from start to finish. John Powell has created a masterpiece of epic proportions for a distinctly average film. The track "Forbidden Friendship" is easily the best cue of 2010. Having worked on previous animated films such as Shrek, Chicken Run and Antz, he has saved his best for How To Train Your Dragon. Unlike some of his other scores (eg The Bourne Trilogy) which are heavy on electronics, this orchestral delight has Scottish infusions within truly majestic themes. A hidden gem and one of the finest 2010 has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 1 Sep 2011
Some may accuse Powell's score of being manipulative, but this is a thin criticism of a powerfully emotive score. Highlights include The Downed Dragon, an amazing cue that perfectly encapsulates the dwindling hope and begrudging acceptance of death through a haunting melody of despair and anguish, however, this mood is lifted by the atmospheric optimism of Forbidden Friendship, a theme that builds and builds, adding piece by piece to an amazing crescendo.

Cannot recommend this enough. John Powell has learnt much from Hans Zimmer, perhaps even besting him with a score full of such startling emotion and elegance.

Best tracks: The Downed Dragon, Forbidden Friendship, See You Tomorrow, Test Drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...., 25 July 2011
By 
C Johnson "CJ" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the most beautiful soundtracks I have heard... *ever*. I can't think of any other score that flows so well from track to track and that. Out of 25 tracks 25 are excellent. There isn't a dud in an hour and ten minutes. An absolute masterpiece and an absolute must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Album, 27 April 2011
By 
K. Bradley (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Train Your Dragon (MP3 Download)
Considering this animated film is probably aimed at a young audience it has a really great soundtrack. There are some films that seem to have generic action music but this soundtrack has done a really good job of setting the feel for the film and linking to its viking setting. There are some really emotive tracks, especially the forbidden friendship track. Some of the tracks repeat the same themes throughout the film, which may make it feel like you are hearing the same song more than once, but I feel there is enough variety to make it a good album. The music wouldn't work if it constantly changed style, it does change throughout but is held together well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving it!, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Bea (Singapore) - See all my reviews
I had a great time watching the movie and I couldn't wait to get my hands on the soundtrack. I and really happy that Amazon managed to ship it so quickly. I am enjoying listening to it and re-living moments of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film music at it's best..., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Train Your Dragon (MP3 Download)
Bought it for 'Forbidden Friendship' but the whole thing is brilliant, on its own as well as with the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Train Your Dragon
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews