Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£56.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2015
I read the reviews on this auger and others. Some other brands did not review as well as this one. So I went for it, I found this to be excellent.
It has far surpassed my expectations on its ability to cut through roots and the like. If a strong root is found that the auger cant manage the clean hole that's created makes it easy to lop off, once the root is chopped off, continue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Was bought this as a present and its been fantastic, sturdy, well made and built to last. In these such matters you definitly get what you pay for. Will pay for itself in time and materials saved when putting up fences and holes for posts. If fencing is your daily business obviosly get a petrol one but for the occasional piece of work I would definitly recommend it.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
brilliant tool, worth every penny.cuts through clay with maximum effort,small cuts preferable in sticky clay,
problem being tool cuts with ease but then one has to pull it from the perfect hole, I had the wife removing
the soil from auger on withdrawel which saves on continuous bending on my part,
the tool also has a removal tee bar allowing you to make up a smaller one if you have the strength to turn it.
ideal if working close to a fence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Works very well and certainly gives you a good upper body work out.
You have to be very accurate with the placing of you holes though. This cuts such a neat hole that there is very little room to adjust the positioning of a standard concrete fence post once it is in the hole. Most times I had to chop down the sides of the hole with trenching shovel to give myself more room to get the post where I wanted it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Extremely robust, easily created 16 holes for a new fence in an hour. Care required for very rocky ground or where there are thick tree roots - nothing a quick guddle down the hole or a pair of loppers couldn't sort.

For a non-powered tool does the job with ease forget using a spade
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
The post digger did a fantastic job digging out the holes for the fence posts, the ground is very rocky but was still able to cope and did the job quickly, should have bought one years ago.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
I had "just" 4 steel gate posts to put in quite quickly over an afternoon. I bought this post hole auger on-line and it arrived in good time. It was so easy to use, even in heavy clay soil, as long as I didn't try to extract too much soil at a time. It also kept the hole size to a minimum, so I didn't have to mix and use too much concrete. Well worth the money from a time saving and back conservation point of view. It was also very easy to get a vertical hole and consequently straight post position. From then onwards hanging the gates was easy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Normally use a heavy duty post hole shovel and post hole spade but as i had a lot of holes to be dug for a massive decking project looked at an auger type digger (checked out all on the UK market) and went for the roughneck as their tools are normally quite tough for trade use my main concern for any auger style was the welds on the spiral, the Roughneck auger has pretty good welds on the spirals, the handle at the top fixes on with two small bolts and wing nuts to tighten up but these come slightly loose over a lot of use and have to be re-tightened hence only four stars, overall a very good and sturdy bit of kit and still going strong after a lot of use well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Our voluntary group maintains the local footpath network and we are occasionally required to install waymarker and gate posts. We used the auger a week ago and the whole team were impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
A piece of equipment that works much better than a spade! Makes a nice neat hole which requires less postcrete to secure the fence poles. The job got much quicker after buying this digger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)