Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars931
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£14.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2014
I got one of these moisture detectors to help me trace the extent of the large damp patch that goes a foot above the skirting board on two walls or our house above the cellar and rises 6 foot in one corner. After taking the paper off, I expected to see water marks but there was nothing. Taking several readings from the skirting upwards allowed me to find the limits of the damp area and so knock off the necessary plaster. The unit itself is simple to use and has the scale printed on the rear. Its not a 0 - to 100% scale, It measures in 'real' terms with 33% being the most damp that masonry can be. It splits it into 3 stages: 0 - 8% is Low Moisture, 8 - 17 is 'medium and 17 - 33% is high. I decided anything over Low needed attending to.

The unit itself is sturdy, the 2 test prongs are quite wide and strong enough to push into new plaster with a slight rocking action. It does a self test a switch on, you choose wood mode or masonry mode and it also has an auto shutdown to stop you wasting the battery. A great bit of kit for the money. It arrived a couple of days after I paid for it too.
0Comment|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
Really impressed, I am a Building Surveyor and only bought this to test my fire wood, out of interest I checked it against our works professional; and very expensive, Protimeter damp meter, to my delight this item read consistently to within 1% of the Protimer. Excellent product.
22 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
really pleased with tool does what it says on the tin have tested it rigourosly and am happy that it reads consistantly and accurately at a fraction of the cost of some on the market another excellent german product
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
The Brennenstuhl moisture detector is a very nicely manufactured instrument, ideal for use in a caravan. It is light to hold, has moulded hand grips and is small enough to access tight spaces. It is suitable for both wood and building materials.

The audible tone gives an immediate warning of damp and is useful for a quick assessment of conditions, slow tone for low moisture and more rapid for greater. The LCD panel registers digitally the degree of moisture present and is ideal for tracking back to the source of the problem. The indication can be locked to aid viewing in cases of difficult access. The probes are sharp, appear to be manufactured from some good material, and leave only very small holes in the surface tested, noticeably smaller than another meter I have used. The instrument switches itself off to conserve battery power if left unused.

All in all, a very nice instrument and one I would definitely purchase again should mine get lost or stolen.
0Comment|97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
I chose this product after very careful research. I'm glad that I did. It is well made and works brilliantly. Some reviewers have questioned it's accuracy but bear in mind that it is a moisture detector that works by testing the electrical resistance of the material being tested, it is not a voodoo machine with internal divining rods that mysteriously sense water! Best used as a comparison meter for building materials - place it first on a section of dry material to get a reading and then place it on the suspect area and you will see immediately if there is a damp problem. I've used mine for detecting a slow weeping leak above a ceiling, for checking walls before decorating and for looking for damp in a campervan - it worked really well for all of these tasks. It is great for checking timber and I have found the results for this to be very accurate - it has the option of testing building material or timber.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Used to check garage activity on car after flood damage. Performed as specified ,confirmed work done properly . Later used on bathroom floor after leak , was able to accurately plot path of water without ripping up carpets . Robust and very user friendly with consistent readings.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Bought this after struggling to get good performance from new wood burning stove and being told by fitter that our wood was probably wet. He was right! I use this now on a daily basis. It has allowed us to develop a routine of storing the wood inside, either side of the stove, to further dry it before burning. About three days gets the moisture levels down to suitable levels and now we are enjoying the stove and its wonderful flame picture.

In the future, the meter will come in handy to check deliveries of 'seasoned' wood. You might as well know what you're paying for!!!

The meter itself seems sturdily built and is easy to use. The metal prongs in particular seem robust. It has a very useful HOLD feature, so that if you're testing in a gloomy environment, you can freeze the reading for later inspection in the light. It also has an audio alert so you don't even need to see the screen. Slow beeps -> good fir burning. Fast beeps -> stick it back on the pile.
11 comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
I bought this a while ago when we were given an old but sound caravan. Price was good and delivery was very quick.

Good points
1 nice rugged casing with tactile grips either side offering good grip and easy use.
2 2 ranges, for both wood and brick so flexible in use.
3 Large informative display with lock button so you can take a reading in an awkward place, press lock then retain that
reading until you unlock it, handy for under caravan cupboards.
4 Audible bleep which speeds up as reading increases making it easy to locate highest reading in awkward location and
locking it so unit can be withdrawn and display read.
5 readings were within 1% of reading of caravan dealers expensive professional unit.
6 Unit turns off after few minutes to save battery.

Bad points
None really, a backlight would have been welcome but not really an issue
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Dont use for anything but wood. You cannot take moisture readings in stone, brick, plaster or any other building material but wood. It is not calibrated for them. It measures conductivity - put it in dry salt and it goes off the scale - do NOT rely on this for anything but wood. Look at the website [...] for more information about dampness in building materials. These deetectors are sold as moisture detectors. They are NOT. They measure conductivity - NOT moisture. So many people are fooled into thinking they have wet or damp walls or houses when they dont... all because of these things. Be warned - do your research first. These are perfectly good for measuring the moisture content of wood - its what they were designed to do...
1818 comments|71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
Clear instructions and comfortable to hold and use. Good for checking for damp in a motorhome or caravan, especially when it has been overwintered outside.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 33 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)