Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harold Ramis is a GENIUS!
I bought this DVD yesterday, having enjoyed "Caddyshack II" and vaguely remembering bits of this one. I must admit - the film is absolutely hilarious! I can't really describe it's highlights through fear of spoiling it for everyone. Bill Murray is great as the dopey, Gopher-hunting Carl Spackler and Rodney Dangerfield's role as Al Czervik raises many laughs at...
Published on 25 July 2000 by simon.slator@zoom.co.uk

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure
I first saw this back in the early 80s and although it was indisputably crude and juvenile it appealed to my own crude, juvenile sense of humour. It sort of dropped off my radar for years until I got talking to a work mate about films we remembered from childhood and Caddyshack cropped up as a shared highlight. We then spent the next few weeks trying to drop in quotes...
Published on 8 July 2008 by customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, 8 July 2008
This review is from: Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I first saw this back in the early 80s and although it was indisputably crude and juvenile it appealed to my own crude, juvenile sense of humour. It sort of dropped off my radar for years until I got talking to a work mate about films we remembered from childhood and Caddyshack cropped up as a shared highlight. We then spent the next few weeks trying to drop in quotes from the movie into conversations and memos.

So it's difficult for me to be objective about this one. I can see that the jokes are mostly lame, the subplots are predictable and the acting rarely rises above the adequate. But I still can't help laughing like a drain whenever I watch it.

It's probably one for nostalgists who remember when we thought Chevy Chase was funny and when Bill Murray made comedies. I do understand how this film will leave a lot of people stone faced - so maybe it's a rent before you try. But, for the rest of us this is a guilty pleasure.

Bring on the dancing gopher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harold Ramis is a GENIUS!, 25 July 2000
This review is from: Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I bought this DVD yesterday, having enjoyed "Caddyshack II" and vaguely remembering bits of this one. I must admit - the film is absolutely hilarious! I can't really describe it's highlights through fear of spoiling it for everyone. Bill Murray is great as the dopey, Gopher-hunting Carl Spackler and Rodney Dangerfield's role as Al Czervik raises many laughs at the expense of Judge Smails (played by Ted Knight). Prude old ladies, hyperactive young caddies, pompous rich 'high-society' snobs, gophers... none of them are safe from Caddyshack's jokes. One brilliant film!
Only one moan - surely they could've at least fit one special feature onto the disc á la "Blazing Saddles"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caddyshack is a scream!, 1 Oct 2003
This review is from: Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I've seen this film and it's a very very funny film, Bill Murray is hilarious as the quirky, strange, flirty bloke whose main objective in the film is to trap the furry annoying gophers that live under the huge golf course. You'll have to watch the film to see if he succeeds...lol.
The Lion Bar scene in the pool will have you choking on your coffee and the overall theme of the film, although daft at times, is a right scream, so funny.
Without giving the story away, it's about golf, odd people and even odder furry critters that are planning to take over the place!
:D If you like a silly film with laughs aplenty and if you like Bill Murray (from Ghostbusters) then watch Caddyshack!
The music throughout the film is not bad either, you'll be tapping your toes before you know it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love this film, when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total conciousness, 10 April 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
So now you've got that going for you, which is nice.

Inspired by Brian Doyle-Murray's experiences as a caddy in his youth, this wild, anarchic film is about more than just golf. Without a doubt, it's my favorite comedy, and might even be one of the greatest movies of all time. There is not a single scene without comedic chaos.

Director Harold Ramis is barely able to contain the insanity. There is honestly so much in Caddyshack, there's enough for ten movies, hardly surprising since the first draft of the screenplay was 199 pages long while the first cut of the film run for 310 minutes. I imagine that there's enough cut out to make whole new Caddyshack movies. There are about five different plots developing at once throughout the movie, the funniest of which is Carl Spackler's (having been licensed to kill by the 'Government of the United Nations') attempts to assassinate a rogue gopher tearing up the golf course.

Each and every actor battles with each other, and it's hard to nail down exactly who runs away with the movie, but if I absolutely HAD to choose, I'd say that Rodney Dangerfield's sleazy, slobbish, overly-friendly, and gratuitously tipping character is the most wonderful thing about it. He is the perfect foil for Judge Smails (an utterly perfectly-cast Ted Knight), a pompous, bad-tempered, self-important hypocrite who wants to reserve the pretentious Bushwood Country Club for snobs and gentlemen (despite being far from a gentleman himself).

If you like comedy quotes, Caddyshack is a goldmine. There are hundreds, literally hundreds, of lines worthy of repeating in real life. You could literally get by, from cradle to the grave, just quoting Caddyshack, and it would bring you nothing but pure happiness and good fortune.

The Blu Ray features a 1080p 1.78:1 picture that is a HUUUUGE step-up from the DVD, with DTS HD-MA sound, and loads of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic film and Blu ray gives sooooo much more., 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't review the movie,, its a classic. Not belly laughs but subtle humour with Dangerfield romping away with the limelight and the thinking humour being left to Chase.
I still think the Bill Murray "cinderella story" scene is one of the funniest moments of that actor's career for reasons I can not really fathom. It just makes me laugh out loud every time.
The blu ray gives us back the true colours from the original print. The greens ( clearly vital ) are a bit age-faded from the master reel but still so much more life like that the DVD transfer. The extra colour depth gives a more three dimensional feel and is well worth the upgrade from DVD.... RECOMMENDED !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunga Galunga - A big hitter the Lama!, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite comedies. It looks great on BD considering its low budget and age and if you're a fan of the film, the extras are worth owning. Be the ball Danny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
It is what it is....

A bloody hilarious DVD that came on time.. Not a lot more I can say really! Also bought 'Fletch' 'Spies Like Us' 'National Lampoon', 'Planes Trains and Auto mobiles', 'Groundhog Day'.. On a bit of a quest for quality old comedy from my younger days..

Now, don't get me wrong, I had some funny moments with 'The Hangover', 'Get Him To The Greek' was pretty damn good and 'The Goods' had me laughing out loud on my own, (always a good sign)... But they really don't make em like this any more..

Life is an unpredictable beast, put a little Chevy in it and forget about that outstanding council tax bill, (for two hours).... Or just arrange to pay it and take the load off your mind permanently.. Anyway I digress and it would seem, contrary to my opening lines, there was an awful lot I could say.. So dragging myself back on track:

Good product, came on time, comedy at It's best, and cost less then a pint 0' Guinness including delivery...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Au revoir Gopher!, 17 Jun 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Caddyshack is directed by Harold Ramis who also co-writes the screenplay with Douglas Kenney and Brian Doyle-Murray. It stars Chevy Chase, Rodney Dangerfield, Bill Murray, Ted Knight and Michael O'Keefe. Music is by Johnny Mandel and cinematography by Stevan Larner.

Chaos reigns at Bushwood Country Club when egos, wagers and a Gopher surface on the golf course.

Harold Ramis' debut movie is a pretty plotless affair that rises above this fact to entertain royally whilst providing a stage for the likes of Murray and Dangerfield to strut their defining shtick. Suffice to say that one needs to be enamoured with said artists to fully enjoy the picture, whilst a modicum of golf interest also helps. The youthful caddies of the piece, clearly meant to be at the core of the story, struggle to make headway with such boisterousness around them, but the chaos is finely tuned by Ramis and there's something uniquely funny about watching someone like Murray trying to blow up a disco dancing Gopher!

An acquired taste but also a monster hit back in the day, Caddyshack is frayed around the edges and a little too goofy at times. But when it hits its comedy peak, visually and orally, it's not hard to get wrapped up in the chaos and find the laughs lurching out from the belly. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, a comedy that bites!, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
This film is spirited and smart and is written in the tradition of National Lampoon. Harold Ramis is one of the funniest and most intelligent film makers of our time. Add to this the writing abilities of Brian Doyle-Murray and Doug Kenney and you have creative ability that has yet to be matched. Of course there is the all-star cast reminiscent of the Second City and Saturday Night Live. Chase is hilarious without trying to be, and Bill Murray is terrific playing a part that suits him well. Rodney Dangerfield and Ted Knight are very talented actors and make the film what it is. A great supporting cast including Michael O'Keefe and Cindy Morgan are also a key to success. This film has it all, a great story, hilarious yet simple humor, and a cast that is one of the best ever assembled for this type of film. "Caddyshack" is an undying film that should be and will be enjoyed by generations to come. It captures the spirit of Ramis and the other film makers that defined the early to mid '80's film-making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 23 July 2009
This review is from: Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I had heard so much about this film before purchasing a copy so after watching it the first time it left me feeling disappointed. Its a good film with the memorable pool scene and bill murray's character providing a lot of little laughs. Overall I rate it 3 stars, not bad but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caddyshack [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£2.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews