Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A £17 wonder
I was highly sceptical about this Dictaphone due to its price. What could one expect for such as silly price? I was wrong, for this gadget proved to be a great quality helper. It can record at a great quality, reduce the outside noises and pick up sound that is 7-10 meters away without a problem. With a good pair of batteries, you can record for hours onwards. Lowering...
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by Darius Mikulenas

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No USB or any other digital interface
Look carefully. You might think an MP3 recorder might have a way to get the MP3 files off of it. You'd be wrong -- so was I.
Published on 2 Feb 2011 by A. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A £17 wonder, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
I was highly sceptical about this Dictaphone due to its price. What could one expect for such as silly price? I was wrong, for this gadget proved to be a great quality helper. It can record at a great quality, reduce the outside noises and pick up sound that is 7-10 meters away without a problem. With a good pair of batteries, you can record for hours onwards. Lowering recording quality from Super High Quality to High Quality has left me with space for 35 hours of non-stop recording, still producing a great and clear sound.

If you get annoyed with the beep the recorder produces when starting/stopping the recording - ignore other reviews. You can turn it off with ease, by simply referring to the manual. The lack of USB might be a bit frustrating, but those who seriously think about storing the audio or using professional software to convert speech to text - consider a more expensive buy. However those who either do not need exotic options or just getting in to using Dictaphone - it is a great first time buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase with a but, 5 Nov 2010
By 
kekhei (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
Good price and easy to use voice recorder. However, it is not ideal as it does not have a usb connection. A bit disappointed but with the price I paid, how can i complain? If you are looking for a voice recorder which you do not need to keep the recordings long term, this is the one for you. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Product - Fantastic Price, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
Fantastic Product - very good value for money!!
Just upgraded from the Sony ICDB600 Digital Voice Recorder, younger brother now got this one for his college course!
Easy to use, with a great battery life.. Makes my life so much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect but not flawless, 7 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
Being a student of interpreting and translation, using a dictaphone is fundamental. Of all those available on Amazon, I found this to be the best. It has a huge memory (up to 534 hours of recording, 2 GB), is really small and can fit anywhere and is definitely easy to use.

The only flaw I could detect is the absence of an USB port so as to connect it to a computer and download what your record, but I'm sure new models will have that opportunity too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony Digital Recorder, 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
I bought the item so I could record meetings.
The specifications are quite impressive as even on the high quality setting the minimum recording time is around 23 hours.
Supplied with the recorder is a batch of user manuals in different languages; these account for probably 80% of the packaging.

It wasn't as daunting as expected getting familiar with the more important settings such as recording quality, recording procedure, replay, erasing etc but I have yet much to learn.

It is good to see the record button is recessed so acidental recording is not possible. The one problem I have is that the play button is raised which means I frequently press this inadvertantly and have to quickly stop the player so no one overhears the recorings. This is actually overcome easily and quickly by turning the volume to low or off with the side control.

Battery life is fairly good with alkaline batteries but can be extended with high Ah rated rechargeable batteries.

Overall this is a good product, in spite of being made in China which does not have a good reputation for high quality goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony ICDBX800 recorder, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
Bought this item to record classroom lectures. So far I have found it to be very good. I do sit at the front of the class to minimise any unwanted noise and have found it to be great for my purpose. Price is good and battery life is good too. It would be great to have a usb to download onto laptop. That said its not a bad little gadget for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony Voice Recorder, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Gareth Evans "Prem New Boys" (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
A lightweight, simple product to use. Would be better with rechargeable batteries though. Does what it needs to - records sound. Use this for voice recordings during assessments I have to conduct for my job. Comes in quite a heavy package yet the product is really light. The extra weight comes from 25 sets of instructions in foreign languages! I kid you not! A joke in the current climate of sustainability. Sony should be ahsamed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value, 28 Jan 2011
By 
J. K. Pool - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
You don't expect too much at this price, but I was certainly delighted with the device. It works well, does everything I wanted it to do and I have no hesitation in recommending it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Personal experience, 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
When I saw this product on your advert, I underestimated its capability and bought it anyway. My first use was to record a lecture in a class that lasted for more than an hour. The result was fantastic.

This product is now my baby as all my class lectures are recorded and replayed with ease.

I strongly recommend this product who wishes to record any noise-free lecture, speach or conversation. It is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value!, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Sony ICDBX800 MP3 Digital Voice Recorder with Large Speaker and Long Battery Life (Office Product)
I bought this digital recorder for my mum, it is very easy to use, the speaker is great and its not heavy at all. The only bad thing i can say about this product is that you cant download any recordings to a computer as it doesnt come with a cable and the recorder itself dont have a usb port, but i found a program for free where you can use an audio cable plug it into the microphone entry in the computer and you can download it all. besides that its a great product for a great price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews