Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part Alien...Part Human...All Nightmare
One of my favourite monster movies of the early 1980's.
When a research experiment on a desert planet goes wrong Colby (Jesse Vint) and his robot side-kick are sent to assist the scientists.
Whilst supposedly attempting to find ways to genetically incease food supplies the scientists conduct an illegal experiment and create Subject 20, a genetically engineered...
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by I. R. Kerr

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rampant Hamburger
Dreadfull enough to be entertaining. "Scientists" and others too thick to see obvious hazards in front of them get eaten. Forget the Killer tomatoes this is the killer hamburger with legs a good monster romp.
Published on 13 July 2011 by Albert Prince


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part Alien...Part Human...All Nightmare, 11 Mar 2011
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
One of my favourite monster movies of the early 1980's.
When a research experiment on a desert planet goes wrong Colby (Jesse Vint) and his robot side-kick are sent to assist the scientists.
Whilst supposedly attempting to find ways to genetically incease food supplies the scientists conduct an illegal experiment and create Subject 20, a genetically engineered alien human hybrid.
When the creature escapes due to a particularly hair-brained act of stupidity it starts to grow and develops a taste for blood. The creature's first manifestation is pretty poor, like a shrivelled octopus but later on as it mutates our toothsome menace trims the crew numbers down nicely....cognitive retributions(sic).
There's plenty of totally gratiutous nudity, lots of screaming and running down dark corridors and bucket loads of slime for the special effects. The electronic music score by Susan Justin is pretty good too, I've not seen this movie for years and still remembered the theme tune.
If you like mad B-movies please forgive the space battle in the first 5 minutes which goes off at a slight tangent and just enjoy the rest of the film.
Unfortunately there are no extras at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rampant Hamburger, 13 July 2011
By 
Albert Prince (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Dreadfull enough to be entertaining. "Scientists" and others too thick to see obvious hazards in front of them get eaten. Forget the Killer tomatoes this is the killer hamburger with legs a good monster romp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden World, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Sci Fi space and horror movie. You definitely get what you pay for with this one A fun but dated romp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars challenging, low-key and weird exotic sci-fi, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Imagine the first Alien flick as a crackwhore! .. The soundtrack : Sounds like an evil and harsh Tangerine Dream. The Alien (looks a bit like the alien) : It looks like Alien on crack as I sad. The actors : Awful but bloody entertaining none-the-less. The effects: Awful but great. BUT! .. It's actualy boring, and the lightning makes it quite hard to see what actualy happens (kinda sad realy) ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden World aka Mutant, 6 April 2010
By 
Ian James Wilson (Amotherby England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Subject 20 was created to save the galaxy from starvation...... until it got hungry With the galaxy on the brink of starvation,the scientists on planet Xarbia had to create a new form of food. they did,a mass of edible protein known simply as Subject 20.It seemed to hold all the answers.Until Subject 20 got hungry.When the news filters back.Commander Mike Colby is sent to investigate.In the dimly lit confines of the research station ,Subject 20 is on the loose.Every shadow now becomes a threat.And in the aching silence of space the terror is deafening. This is a first rate cult movie from 1982, (the video sleeve is far superior to the dvd sleeve shown,also the German dvd which i own along with the video,the German dvd includes the trailor photo gallary and the soundtrack which is pretty cool by Susan Justin. i even took my email address from this movie. dialogue is gritty in the vain of (john carpenter's assault on precint 13 another great cult movie)Earls going to bag himself a Dingwopper. the scenery and props are very good.although some of the opening sceanes are in another Roger Corman movie (battle beyond the stars which is inferior to this movie. Directed by Allan Holizaman, written by Tim Suhrstedt,special effects/creature features by J C Buechler all well known in the movie cult world of sci-fi horror most of the stars have featured in many movies over the years Micheal Bowen and Scott Paulin who prehaps have moved into the main stream of actors,Jessie Vint and his late brother Alan starred in several cult movies of the 70s before moving on to write and direct, Jessie was in Silent Running briefly in Dark Angel the Dolph Lundgren movie.June Chadwick was in V the mini series.the sorely missed late Fox Harris aka Jerry Fox a vetrain of many cult movies Alex Cox's repo man Texas Chainsaw Hookers.ahh the stunning Dawn Dunlap whatever became of her after a brief spell of acting around the early 80s i do watch this movie over and over again.A true sci- fan will own this in thier collection along with Xtro, Titan Find, Galaxy Of Terror, Hardware, Andriod, Apex, i can go on but another mission looms Subject 20 has breed and ?.A must for cult viewers ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forbidden world, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. I.V. Creeper "igor" (who knows, england,uk ?) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Despite low budget sets and 'cheapness' of the film i found it very entertaining. june Chadwick adds a great deal to my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars forbidden, 17 July 2011
By 
Re Robinson (liverpool uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
have watched a lot of 50s b movies but have to say this was awful acting and effects struggled to watch till end suppose it would appeal to some diehard film buff but not me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cheap cheap, 7 Jun 2010
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Look,theres nothing wrong with doing things on a budget.But when you do things badly on a budget it just illicits guffaws,if you can be bothered.And dont be bothered with this chaepjack trash with all the imagination of a third rate impressionist doing impressions of other peoples impressions.If you enjoy McDonalds cartons and egg trays as set dressings,well good for you.If you enjoy footage cribbed from other Corman productions to pad the running time,good for you.If you enjoy tat for tats sake,good for you.I certainly do.But when even the distributors of this cant be bothered with a decent transfer(its looks like its been copied from video so the quality is DREADFUL)you know they're in on the joke.So you shouldnt be.Watch Galaxy of Terror instead.Or Les Dennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars scary monsters, 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
This wont take long,this was such a bad rip-off of Alien and possibly other sci-fi movies that i'm never going to be watching it again.I no Corman fans wont agree with me,but unless you are,then i would'nt bother with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden World [DVD] [1982] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
7.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews