Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunted by a good read!
I read a bit of urban fantasy, though I do find it's got to take my fancy, but I liked the sound of 'Hunted by the Others' and duly ordered a copy. I finally got around to starting it on a Sunday evening and finished it just two days later... It's rare that I finish anything that quickly, but I found the book compelling and just had to keep reading.

There's...
Published on 30 Jun 2010 by Nikki-ann

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good....
I got this book as it had quite good reviews.
Im a massive fan of the Kate Daniel's series and i love the Mercy series as well ,so to find what i thought was another strong lead female character with werewolf's and Vampire's was brilliant,but sadly i was nothing but disappointed.
I found myself wondering how the Hell this lead female even manages to do her own...
Published on 23 Jun 2012 by tizzwozz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good...., 23 Jun 2012
This review is from: Hunted by the Others (H&W Investigations Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I got this book as it had quite good reviews.
Im a massive fan of the Kate Daniel's series and i love the Mercy series as well ,so to find what i thought was another strong lead female character with werewolf's and Vampire's was brilliant,but sadly i was nothing but disappointed.
I found myself wondering how the Hell this lead female even manages to do her own shoe laces up! She had no back bone and wimpered at all danger! And every character just kept bein dumber than the one before (as in getting mass warnings from the baddie that they will hurt them and there family's,yet they run to there family's and separate all the time!)
I kept reading this hoping it would get better but it just didn't. I would recommend the Kate Daniel and not this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunted by a good read!, 30 Jun 2010
By 
Nikki-ann - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a bit of urban fantasy, though I do find it's got to take my fancy, but I liked the sound of 'Hunted by the Others' and duly ordered a copy. I finally got around to starting it on a Sunday evening and finished it just two days later... It's rare that I finish anything that quickly, but I found the book compelling and just had to keep reading.

There's rarely a dull moment in this book and the end of each chapter had me turning the page for the next. The book is written from Shiarra's perspective, so we get to read her inner thoughts on the oh-so-charming vampire Royce, Chaz (her ex-boyfriend who happens to be a werewolf) and other people around her. I found it easy to sympathise and connect with Shiarra - she's a human who's desperate for money to pay off the ever-increasing bills (we've all been there, right?) and as much as she doesn't want to take on this case, she doesn't have much of a choice. She's frightened of dealing with the `Others' and I would be too! Shiarra finds herself getting deeper and deeper and can see no way out of it (that doesn't end with her or her family/friends coming to harm).

I found myself pulled in and immersed in the story, compelled to turn the pages and read on. The story was fast paced, with action and tension, and even some humour. Over all, `Hunted by the Others' was an enjoyable read and I'd definitely recommend it!

I'm looking forward to meeting Shiarra and co' in the next book (Yes, `Hunted by the Others' is just the first in the series). `Taken by the Others' is due for release in January 2010 and I can't wait, having already read the teaser at the end of `Hunted by the Others'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but derivative, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Grahame Gardner (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunted by the Others (H&W Investigations Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Human PI, vampires, werewolves, magic-users, a missing magical artefact... now where have I seen this before? Oh yes, Jim Butcher's 'Dresden Files' series.

To be honest, I quite enjoyed this book and it was an easy, fast-paced read but I wouldn't have tried it if I'd had to pay full price for it. There's no great depth to the story (or the writing for that matter), and I thought that the overall premise needed more work - saying that these non-human characters supposedly 'revealed' themselves after 9/11 seems a rather spurious explanation and that point was never developed. Magi are apparently non-humans too, to the extent that they can't even interbreed with 'normals' - yet they look exactly like us? Sorry, I'm not really convinced by that theory. I'm all for suspending disbelief, but this required you to throw your disbelief out the window and have it run over by a truck.

There's a lot of this sort of fantasy around at the moment; and this isn't amongst the best. Jim Butcher does it much better in his Dresden Files series. This just seemed like a poor rip-off of those. One of the mages' familiars is even called Bob, for goodness sake! OK, he's not a talking skull, but still...

Overall - a bit superficial and not particularly well-written, but it's a fun read if it's your first foray into this kind of fiction. The series will hopefully develop with time. Younger readers might enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant urban fantasy read...great escapism, 28 July 2010
By 
sharon "I listen to my books while working, a... (Falmouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shiarra is desperate for money so she takes a job to find a statue for the 'The Circle' who are a group of mages,to get to the statue she has to get close to a powerful vamp called Royce, very quickly she is embroiled in a three way dilemma between the leeches (vampire), sparks (mages) & White Hats (vigilente humans), throw in two different werewolf packs & you have yourself a fast paced well written start to a great urban fantasy. I enjoyed the writers style, this a great page turner, descriptive, humourous with likable characters which includes a talking belt, creepy familiar, geeky mage & strong female friends & a worrying family. Shiarra develops as she goes on & I am really looking forward to the next book in the series, even though you can read this as a standalone. I would put this author with the likes of Jeaniene Frost, Keri Arthur ,Kim Harrison & Linda Robertson. Loved it.. The next book in this wonderful new series is Taken by the Others, looking forward to it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing, 1 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a book addict, always have one or more on the go and like to have ones i can read and re read.
I read the reviews for this and was expecting something much, much more from this book. I love Mercy Thompson and Kate Daniels as female fantasy leads - good strong characters, and have found a few others. I was hoping Shiara was going to be one too - but no :( Sadly i wondered why on earth she got into detecting as she seemed not only completely clueless about it but lacking in any kind of spirit. For heavens sake she needs to speak to a centuries old vampire and doesn't recognise him? Didn't she do any research first? Then he seemed set for the usual handsome bad boy hunk and yet...apart from his first promising appearance he too wimps out. The top boss in the magic team gets bumped off pretty quick too - clearly the magic team aren't all that....and the werewolf packs aren't sure whether they want to be werewolf baddies or poseurs hoping for a place in Crufts.
The plot initially has potential, and i kept reading thinking it would improve - past halfway i thought maybe it was scene setting for a series and would perk up - disappointed on both fronts. This book takes so many peculiar turns that it seems as if the author can't decide whether she's writing about fantasy and supernatural creatures, or whether she wants to reinvent that Da Vinci Code..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new urban fantasy, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hunted by the Others (H&W Investigations Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Been looking for so long for something new to read with (excuse the pun) a bit of bite to it, loved the first few BDB by Ward but have grown tired of them, loved twighlight also but love the first two offerings in this series so much more, well written, not overly taxing, and not too much emphasis on either the romance or the violence, a good balance and what is shaping up to be an interesting story to be weaved throughout the books, as far as royce's intentions, the state of the relationship with chaz etc. now all i have to do is find something else to read until the next offering.... always a downside, lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Hunted by the Others (H&W Investigations Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As the title of my review says I really enjoyed this book. The plot was original, fast moving and kept me guessing. I really liked that there were no "filler" chapters, something happened in each one that pushed the plot further and made me want to keep reading.

I found Shiarra the main character very likable and a great female lead and look forward to seeing what she gets up to next in the following books.

The kindle edition was well formatted and I didn't notice any typo's. All in all a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunted by others, 19 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunted by the Others (H&W Investigations Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable romp about a young human PI with no particular specialist skills fighting against her own fears as well as the 'Other' community. Fast paced and hauntingly similar to Anita Blake but without the porn. Easy read that captures you from the first moment until the last. Cant wait for next one in series. Definitely on my buy now list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great urban fantasy!, 15 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunted by the Others (H&W Investigations Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Like most of us, I read the reviews and thought I would down load the book as it was a great price. I felt at home with the writing style and found it easy to read. I did feel that a third of the way in the story line was a bit "thread through the needle" however I had to eat my words as I was one page away from it exploding into action, which it did with great style. From then on I could not put the book down and I'm hooked. I have purchased the second book which I loved equally and have now pre-ordered the third book (due out in July).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hunted by the Others (H&W Investigations Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There are already several reviews for this book that give you an idea of what it's about. If you liked Twilight or similar then this is for you. Just suspend your disbelief, let your imagination take over and escape into a world were Vamps, Weres and Mages openly walk amongst humans....and try and coerce them into signing contracts that could end up with them being "food". Am going to buy the next one (Taken By The Others).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews