Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this - some great footage
Matt Bown's presentation might not be to everyone's taste, but his passion and enthusiasm for US trains is apparent. There are some excellent scenes in this series, and some really interesting episodes to look forward to. Fans of Big Freight - especially BNSF heavy hauling diesel traction - are in for a real treat. When there's nothing on the TV, then out this comes to...
Published on 22 Feb. 2010 by Nozza

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The History Channel Presents: Trainspotting
A programme to really geek out at. Originally shown on the History Channel I enjoyed my initial viewing of this series but for myself they don't stand up to repeat viewing.
Published 3 months ago by Brawny Withed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this - some great footage, 22 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Matt Bown's presentation might not be to everyone's taste, but his passion and enthusiasm for US trains is apparent. There are some excellent scenes in this series, and some really interesting episodes to look forward to. Fans of Big Freight - especially BNSF heavy hauling diesel traction - are in for a real treat. When there's nothing on the TV, then out this comes to inform and entertain.

Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rather 'full-on' but interesting, 16 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This set is good value as it is not expensive considering that there are 8 DVDs in the set. All of them are very interesting especially as he covers aspects that are not normally covered in loco DVDs e.g. renewing rails, cleaning smokeboxes, refilling with diesel fuel, checking brake-linings, stacking containers together, filling coal trucks etc. I have subtracted a star because the video editing is quite irritating and appears to be made by someone who usually edits rock videos and so it has some rapid cuts and pans, special effect transitions and at times a pounding rock music background. The presenter is rather 'in your face' larger than life and very much the American guy. However, overall it has more good than bad and is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Enthusiasm!, 10 May 2010
By 
M. R. Harris (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating look at eight different dramatic aspects of American Railroading, but the commentary is almost more extreme than the trains! Matt Brown, the presenter, is a railwayman (Railroadman?) with boundless but rather loud enthusiasm for his subject, and it takes a little while to get used to his presentation style.
He does seem to be a reasonably authorative guide, however, and after watching half of the DVDs we have been won over by his genuine passion and his ability to explain all aspects of the railroads entertainingly, including the less glamorous ones such as loco maintenance and tracklaying.
The programmes cover some of the longest, heaviest and fastest trains in the USA, and some very difficult (and scenic) routes. The engineering is on a different scale to anything in the UK and really is awe-inspiring. Total running time is about six and a half hours which at Amazon's price is excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting if you are interested in American trains, 7 May 2013
By 
Pink Fluffy Bunny (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I collect American railway models, so I found especially interesting, as the director usually makes sure that something is going on in the background when the presenter is standing around speaking to camera, and I could see many of my models in their natural habitat.

The presenter, Matt Brown, is an American railway conductor by trade, whose hobby is railways, and therefore is enthusiastic about what he is presenting, and therefore may come across as annoying to some un-American viewers. Most of the amateur railway DVDs I have seen, if not all of them, are appallingly amateur compared to this series, in terms of quality and especially presenter. This chap is certainly not Michael Portillo (which is not necessarily a bad thing), but these programmes concentrate on the trains and not just the places they take you to. He and his cameraman are quite happy to crawl around underneath the locomotives to follow the inspection crews, and even get inside the firebox of a steam loco to clean it, and even to rivet one under construction. And I doubt you'd get Mr Portillo cleaning the crew toilet on one of the big diesels, or mucking out the elephant car on a circus train.

The 45-minute programmes included in the 6-DVD set are -
Steam Train - a preserved 4-8-4 on a steam special from Denver to Cheyenne
High Speed Train - the Acela 150mph high-speed train on a run from Washington to Boston
Transcontinental - a freight service on the Union Pacific's Omaha to Sacramento line
Ice Cold Express - the UP's Produce Express, a purpose-built refrigerated train running fruit & veg from Seattle to Schenectady, NY
Circus Train - on the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey's very own train, moving the circus from Baltimore to Washington DC overnight.
Coal Train - hauling a daily 14,000 ton coal train over the Allegheny Mountains from the coal mine to a power station
There are two 10-minute sections of extra footage included as well.

There are stop-offs en route in each episode, looking at railway-related places and things of interest; it is not just a cab-ride. Once you get used to the presenter, it really is a very interesting series, and I would like to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars extereme trains USA, 31 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A railway series with the WOW factor as the presenter introduces us to the bigest,best and fastest trains in America. On the downside his loud boisterous over the top presentation can be a little bit irksome. Having said that I would recommend this series to anyone interested in current railway operations USA style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD giving hours of enjoyment, 30 Jun. 2014
By 
K. Robson "ken5421" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good selection of trains, and much of the background information which is most interesting, presented very much as-is by a very enthusiastic Railwayman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The History Channel Presents: Trainspotting, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A programme to really geek out at. Originally shown on the History Channel I enjoyed my initial viewing of this series but for myself they don't stand up to repeat viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad collection, certainly of interest if you like transport but might not be quite as popular as 'Ice Road Truckers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Howarth (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and entertaining for railway buffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SERVICE, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Boxed set which arrived in record time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extreme Trains [DVD]
£10.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews