Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Visually Stunning Miscreants Of Comedy
Jean-Pierre Jeunet is, by far, my favourite French director and Micmacs shows the man has lost none of his talent when it comes to making visually stunning features. Micmacs has all the bizarre moments that made Delicatessen such a wonderfully insane piece of art blended in with the visual techiques shown in City Of Lost Children and the rich colours that were abundant in...
Published on 23 May 2010 by The Critic Ali Insane

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of Jeunet's weakest efforts...
I have to disagree with the earlier reviews. I have seen most, if not all, of Jeunet's films and Mic Macs does not compare that well. Visually it does look good, it has lots of whimsical and quirky shots - the characters and their settings are typically unusual. However, the storyline and it's telling is a massive letdown. There is little drama in the story - the main...
Published on 16 July 2010 by J. Bloss


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Visually Stunning Miscreants Of Comedy, 23 May 2010
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
Jean-Pierre Jeunet is, by far, my favourite French director and Micmacs shows the man has lost none of his talent when it comes to making visually stunning features. Micmacs has all the bizarre moments that made Delicatessen such a wonderfully insane piece of art blended in with the visual techiques shown in City Of Lost Children and the rich colours that were abundant in Amelie. If you have enjoyed any, or all, of these said movies then try to imagine Micmacs as being a combination of all Jeunet's previous work taken to the next level. The acting is first class and the pacing is nothing short of perfection. The story follows the unfortunate character Bazil, who has been hospitalized after being hit by a stray bullet and upon his release finds himself without a job and homeless to boot. He soon meets up with a bunch of misfits who join his quest intent on bringing down arms dealers, which in turn, leads to some outrageous visual humour made all the more spectacular by Jeunet's excellent use of the camera. Not wanting to give too much away as this is one of those flicks that has to be seen to fully appreciate what's on offer, but needless to say, this latest offering from Jeunet is packed to the rafters with comic genius and richly coated with vibrant colour schemes in each scene; calling it a comedy masterpiece just doesn't quite do it the justice it deserves. Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys French cinema, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, strange visceral comedies or, simply enjoy being blown away by outstanding originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUSTICE SERVED BY THE UNDERDOGS, 25 July 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
Amelie and City Of Lost Children belong to those films that, although, you find strange when you sit through them for the very first time, they stay with you forever. I find the director (Jean-Pierre Jeunet) to be Europe's answer to David Lynch - only a tad heavier on the regressive images and lighter on the subconscious horrors. So when he had another film out, I was not going to miss it. And, once more, I was glad I did.

A bunch of eccentrics (each with his or hers own quirky character and unusual personal history) come together by life's caprice and end up undertaking an impossible task: try to take down the two largest arms manufacturers in the country. Ingenious ideas, impossible retro gadgets (handmade from salvaged materials), and an unwavering sense of justice. No sacrifice is too big if it means making the villains pay for their crimes.

The colors are soft and comforting; the imagery is mesmerizing; the music will take you back to a more naive age; and the story will make you laugh, cry and laugh again. All in all, great entertainment!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monsieur Hulot's Heist, 7 April 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
The plot of Micmacs is very daft indeed, yet executed with such care and ingenuity that it is both clever and funny. The French have a grasp on whimsy that we don't often see in British films. Wallace & Grommit may be an example, but other humour (like Mr Bean) tends towards the comedy of embarassment. This film is as if Amelie has captured the Bourne franchise, at times it would only have taken the Mission Impossible theme to change direction. This is a funny, ingenious and charming film.

But, if ultra-realism is your taste you might want to give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky french film, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
not at all what I expected; fast paced; good editing and a brilliant story and plot. Would recommend to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, Weird, Wonderful, 15 Dec 2010
By 
J. Ritchie (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
If you've seen any of Jeunet's work before, you'll know what to expect, and this film is one of his best so far - a must see.

If you're new to the Jeunet style, prepared to be amused, amazed and astounded.

Starting with an unlikely set of circumstances, but the sort of events that happen everyday to someone, somewhere out there, every day, the film starts to introduce a clever, witty, intelligent story that is at once engaging and weird. A man with a bullet in his head, meets a woman with a very flexible attitude to life, who stays with an artist who works with automatons, looked after by a woman who likes to mother everybody. Every character is slightly odd, but very believable, a misfit in society, and each is very well drawn by the writers and brought to life by the actors.

Together, these characters set out to wreak revenge on two arms dealers who have ruined one man's life. Do they succeed? Of course they do, but you'll never guess how they go about it.

This film is at one realistic and surrealistic, but you'll be hard put deciding what's surreal and what isn't.

Full of charm, wit, intelligence, subtlety and nuance, this film entertains from start to finish. It's saddening and uplifting, slick and clumsy, far-fetched and down to earth, all at the same time.

If you're looking for something to counteract the bland pap of Hollywood, Micmacs delivers two hours of pure pleasur that show what films can and should be at their best.

See this film as soon as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers!, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Spiggy (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my partner for Christmas as she is a big Jean-Pierre Jeunet fan and even I surprised myself by enjoying his previous films. This one has the typical offbeat wackiness you would expect, visually it is stunning, the colours and vibrancy really jump of the screen. This film is less obtuse than some of his previous efforts and is a straightforward revenge romp, whereby the main character suffers twice at the hands of an arms dealer and clubs together with a salvage team to sabotage the company.

The best summary I can offer is that of the cover quote which describes the film as a "live-action Wallace & Gromit !". Basically, if you are fan of JPJ then you should buy this film, it ranks with all his previous efforts and is only surpassed by the majestic Amelie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dany Boon at his best, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
So funny! If you want to improve your French you should watch films like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, Weird and Wonderful, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, these have already been used to describe this film, so I make no apologies for being unoriginal!
I watch this film over and over and over again and always find something new that I have missed.
The humour works on so many different levels, whether it's slapstick or surreal (look out for the advertising hoardings)
The scenarios may appear far-fetched, but much of it is 'there but for the grace of God go I'.
A classic to rank with the Ealing comedies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, odd, touching, funny, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
I caught a bit on TV and I was intrigued so I ordered the DVD. So glad I did: it is a very entertaining film with plenty of plot, plenty of action and yet very quirky and odd, touching and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, hilarious in some parts., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Micmacs [DVD] (DVD)
If you can watch a film with subtitles and switch off to the fact it is in a foreign language then this is one of the funniest foreign language films I have seen, both visually and the script itself.
It has the STEAMPUNK element scattered throughout the film with gadgets galore!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Micmacs [DVD]
Micmacs [DVD] by Dany Boon (DVD - 2010)
£5.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews