Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clean professional look, good value for money
I got my iPad on UK release day and had no choice but to get the official Apple case (Its a £400 plus device so immediate protection is a must and the Apple case conveniently was the only case available - I'm sure a lot of early buyers fell into the same trap). But after a couple of days of use (with the official case) I had a few gripes...

1. It gets dirty,...
Published on 12 Jun. 2010 by Mr. J. Lutaya

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good enough but over priced.
This is a good case, looks professional and business like and would definitely protect the ipad. The addition of card holders is good and it's nice having the place to store slips of paper.

My only complaints would be that the leather straps that hold each corner of the ipad into the case cover up the rotate lock and screen lock buttons which can be really...
Published on 10 Jun. 2010 by Kieran Jones


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clean professional look, good value for money, 12 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr. J. Lutaya "Rem'sTake" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I got my iPad on UK release day and had no choice but to get the official Apple case (Its a £400 plus device so immediate protection is a must and the Apple case conveniently was the only case available - I'm sure a lot of early buyers fell into the same trap). But after a couple of days of use (with the official case) I had a few gripes...

1. It gets dirty, quick... A dust magnet, you'd rest the iPad on a clean table and come away with annoying smudges and from time to time blemishes develop which you can not account for (how did that get there???!)

2. Although it has some nice features (slim, good grip, Apple logo) it covers up the aesthetics of the iPad, like the black and silver bezel...

3. Taking the iPad out of the case is a long and protracted affair, you have to squeeze and pull across the corners of the case whilst at the same time ensuring you don't get carried away and scratch or crack the device...

This case alleviates all of the above, it does not stain easily,and actually it just looks better. The case looks like a portfolio, and if need be you could take this to meetings and look good in the process. The case offers great protection and has a good size and weight to it (with the case on the iPad is not that heavy or bulky). What I love most about this case is that the iPad is more accessible than with the official case, its held in by elasticated bands in the corners which means it can be taken out in seconds which also means you can see the iPad in full (I paid a lot of money for this device so I think its only fair that I can see the design in full rather than use a case that covers up everything but the screen). Lastly the case can easily be manipulated to use as a landscape or portrait stand, a feature I was not expecting and appreciate not to mention the iPad looks more secure stood up with the Griffin Case on than with the official Apple case (I wouldn't risk that). This would have been a 5 star case had it not been for the next couple of points:

1. The absence of real leather - but then again this would have ramped up the price in any case and the case still looks great anyway.

2. Whichever way you lodge the iPad in a couple of buttons or locks are covered... With the set-up I have the elasticated corners cover the rotation lock and part of the speaker, but its no big deal as I rarely use the speakers and the bands have enough slack to pull down and get access to the rotation lock...

3. There is no mechanism for elevating the ipad to a 45 degree angle in landscape mode to improve typing speed. This is the main plus point of the apple case, but in hindsight I don't think my typing is that much slower without this feature (I'm comfortably typing up this review with the case on) and if you are going to be typing on a regular basis or use the iPad as a laptop replacement you should just get the keyboard dock or wireless keyboard...

Other than that its a great case and for me much better value for money than the Apple case. Definitely recommend one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good enough but over priced., 10 Jun. 2010
By 
Kieran Jones (York, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is a good case, looks professional and business like and would definitely protect the ipad. The addition of card holders is good and it's nice having the place to store slips of paper.

My only complaints would be that the leather straps that hold each corner of the ipad into the case cover up the rotate lock and screen lock buttons which can be really annoying, especially if you read books on your iPad. The other thing is that the leather stitching on the inside of the cover flap could possibly scratch the glass of the iPad so it would be worth getting a screen protector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor fitting cover for Ipad, 24 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This cover was bought for an Ipad. The cover itself is good quality but the small leather strips that hold the Ipad in place are useless. They do not hold the device securely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 July 2010
By 
WJ Rees (Near Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This seems to be the best case. High build quality and it is very quick and easy to remove the ipad from this case. Although the power button is covered by one of the straps you can still use it by pressing on the strap itself. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars defective design, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
unfortunate design of product: the corner straps cover the power button too tightly and keep switching the iPad on when the case is carried about. I discovered the problem within seconds of unwrapping it and returned it for a refund immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Griffin iPad Case, 9 Aug. 2010
By 
toptone "TopTone" (St. Albans, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Went to John Lewis to see what they stock for the iPad and then bought it from Amazon. Traditional design, excellent product and quality finish. Despite what some may say the corner location straps do not obstruct any of the buttons or the headphone socket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Design fault, 9 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is a good looking cover and feels great.

Unfortunately, after using for a while, the non-elasticated corner straps become deformed and do not hold the iPad securely. This caused mine to fall out although, fortunately, it's fall was broken by my foot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good case, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I applied the Zagg Invisible Shield to my iPad (which provides protection against scratches and gives extra grip whilst maintaining the beauty of the design) but I also wanted a case with the idea being that the case would provide extra protection when the iPad is not in use, being carried, given to a friend or when I wanted to use the iPad for a short period of time but I wanted a case that would also allow me to remove the iPad quickly so I can enjoy using it without a case. This product fits my requirements perfectly. Only negative is that the case won't double as a stand but that doesn't bother me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective, 19 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The two non elastic clasps on the case are far too short and have started to split after just a few days use. The case does not keep my iPad secure, and I have returned to Amazon. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Griffin iPad passport case, 27 July 2010
By 
Lord Powell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Griffin GB01550 Elan Passport Case for iPad - 1 Pack - Retail Packaging - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Excellent product so much so that, those I know with the apple iPad official case are envious of the Griffin
case. It is far better than any you will buy from apple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews