Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "children's" book for adults.
This book deserves to rank high in the genre of books for children which only adults fully appreciate.
It starts slowly and tentatively as Leo tries to cope with circumstances that he can barely get the better of - plucky though he is.
The story gathers momentum with subtlety and sensitivity that encompasses political satire and the "Bash Street Kids".
You...
Published on 31 July 2010 by Mr J

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read but has it's faults
The Truth About Leo is aimed at older children and young adult readers, but can very easily cross over to adult reading.

Simply written, this is the story of Leo - in his last year at Primary School, missing his Mother who died a couple of years ago from Cancer and coping on a day to day basis with his alcoholic father. Leo's father is a Doctor, a professional...
Published on 7 July 2010 by Lincs Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "children's" book for adults., 31 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
This book deserves to rank high in the genre of books for children which only adults fully appreciate.
It starts slowly and tentatively as Leo tries to cope with circumstances that he can barely get the better of - plucky though he is.
The story gathers momentum with subtlety and sensitivity that encompasses political satire and the "Bash Street Kids".
You will have your laughs - and you will certainly shed some tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth about Leo, 8 May 2010
By 
P. Gauvry "Penny Harrison" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
In The Truth about Leo, David Yelland has an astonishing ability to put himself in Leo's shoes. It makes one feel very humble to realise that children know so much more than we give them credit for, and to realise that covering up for an adult is a difficult weight to bear. Thank you for this wonderful eye-opening vision of Leo's world in which we feel strong emotion and move forward with trepidation, but one in which Father and Son come together again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional book, 8 May 2010
By 
M. Millinson "kirsten millinson" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
David Yelland's book is one of the most wonderful books I have ever read.
It is an illustration of what alcohol can do to a family .
It is also a book for all fathers who spend too much time away from their children and shows how it is possible to find a way back.

read it. I will be recommending this to Dads and Mums every where. It is very readable for children affected by family issues over the age of about 12

so good on many levels brilliant need David to write more The Truth About Leo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read but has it's faults, 7 July 2010
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
The Truth About Leo is aimed at older children and young adult readers, but can very easily cross over to adult reading.

Simply written, this is the story of Leo - in his last year at Primary School, missing his Mother who died a couple of years ago from Cancer and coping on a day to day basis with his alcoholic father. Leo's father is a Doctor, a professional man, who outwardly shows all the signs of respectability, yet at home, he is turning into a raging monster, neglecting himself and Leo. Leo is very unhappy, he feels alone and unloved and misses his Mother terribly.

When Leo's father sets the house ablaze accidentally and everything that belonged to his Mother is lost, Leo knows that things just have to change.

David Yelland himself was once the editor of the Sun newspaper, he was an alcoholic during that time, often drinking four bottles of wine per day. When his wife died from cancer and he was left to care for their 8 year old son, he knew that he had to find a cure. So, this story, whilst not an autobiography, is very close to his own life. I'm sure that by writing this novel Yelland feels that he may be able to explain himself to his son.

There are descriptive passages that are really well written - Leo's father's alcoholic rages are quite frightening, the description of his Nan's house and her 'old lady' things is particularly well done.

There are however, some real stereotyped characters - Leo's horrible, old-fashioned and uncaring teacher just doesnt ring true and the Prime Minister who Leo contacts (yes, really) is taken straight from the film Love Actually - I could see Hugh Grant as I read it. Flora - Leo's best friend is also just a little too sweet and how amazing that there happens to be another child in his class in the same situation!

There are parts that will irritate adults but younger readers will love. The story is decent, the writing is great in places and Leo is a sweet character.

I did enjoy the story over all, it's a short, easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the most depressing books I have ever read........, 26 Jun. 2010
By 
K. Bragg "child at heart" (Stonehenge, Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
...and to be fair I've read some depressing books in my time.

Could Leo have any more bad luck? Not really. There's nothing really upbeat about this book apart from the PM storyline which is predictable and trite.

I found this book really upsetting to read, and I'm quite hardened to the world around me to be honest. I will dwell about Leo for days to come, and as a 12-year-old that timeline would've been 'months'.

I had really high hopes for this book - I saw David Yelland plugging it on BBC Breakfast, he came across well and I thought it sounded like my kind of thing. I thought it might have been done with some black humour, but it wasn't. It was just black and bleak.

If I had kids I wouldn't want them to read this unless they were pretty streetwise and were at least 12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leo, 1 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
A moving and honest account of the pain and effect of alcoholism and the rewards possible in recovery.Very moving.Easy to read without any sentimental slush!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 2 July 2010
By 
James L. Dymond (Aldershot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
An admirable piece of work. Essential reading for those interested in the effects of alcohol on families - particularly children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars book review, 3 May 2010
By 
Lois Parker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Leo (Paperback)
there was a lot in the press about this book but that was because the author was an insider not because the book is any good. Ok, so it looks at the way alcoholism is hidden, but jacquiline Wilson does a much better job of exploring tricky issues than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Truth About Leo
The Truth About Leo by David Yelland
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews