Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous masterpiece
This is so far the best album from Steve Hackett since the genesis years, I have followed his work since the first solo album and this has some of the freshness which were on those first albums, coverart could be better, but what the hell :o) This album has all the aspects of Steve Hackett's music, from soft romantic to scarry mystical passages into Prog Rock, BUY IT, you...
Published on 26 Jan. 2010 by VISA/Dankort

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapporting
First three tracks into the cd, Fire in the Moon, Nomads and Emerald and Ash, I thought excellent, here comes a great cd. But, it lost something after the third track, totally switched me off.
The bonus disc, again tracks one and three, Blood on the Rooftops and Firth of Fifth, excellent, the other three mediocre.
It's a shame, I really wanted to like this cd,...
Published on 13 Jun. 2010 by Graham Richard Carter

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous masterpiece, 26 Jan. 2010
This is so far the best album from Steve Hackett since the genesis years, I have followed his work since the first solo album and this has some of the freshness which were on those first albums, coverart could be better, but what the hell :o) This album has all the aspects of Steve Hackett's music, from soft romantic to scarry mystical passages into Prog Rock, BUY IT, you will not regret!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another work of brilliance, 8 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here is another masterpiece from one of the most creative and imaginative musicians/composers on the planet. Like his previous albums Wild Orchids, To Watch the Storms, Darktown and others, this new one boldly goes where few are going: music and songs of real imagination, depth, power and passion. Melodies and lyrics hit straight to the heart and arrangements blow the mind. Not to mention the brilliant playing and performances. A real shame that he is so under appreciated because his albums, this included, beat the heck out of every light-weight album by Phil Collins and every post-Gabriel Genesis album. To anyone who seeks uncompromising music of adventure and integrity, this album and the music of this man is the real deal. Procure at once and you will not be disappointed!! Sheer genius....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emerging solo..., 14 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth +Bonus CD (Audio CD)
In my opinion Mr H is the only member of the classic Genesis 5 piece line-up to emerge with both his integrity and artistic mojo well intact. Sonically he's the master of dynamism, "Fire on the Moon" being a classic example of a sly beginning betraying the big forces never far up his sleeve. The album's lyrics give us, whether we want it or not, an insight into his relationship with Kim Poor, and quite honestly I find that side of it all a bit doleful and perhaps a bit too personal. "Emerald and Ash" with its sonic insinuations as well as lyrical ones makes you feel you've lived some of their personal history a bit too vicariously. I can't be alone in wishing them both well, but I feel like the mutual friend stranded between loyalties in someone else's divorce and that always makes me feel awkward. All that aside, Steve remains an unsung hero, deserving of far greater success with an enviable work ethic for which he should be rewarded suitably. "Out of the Tunnel's Mouth" shows just how much he can still knock out new fusions and make musical connections with singular originality. Whether it's better or worse than previous releases is a bit of fatuous chin-stroking; Steve's always worth a punt of your shekels and this one is no different. Buy, play, enjoy, empathise and wish you too could play the guitar this well!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2010 - The Year Of The Guitar Wizard, 17 Jun. 2010
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth +Bonus CD (Audio CD)
You know how it is with buses, none for ages then several all come along at the same time...well, 2010 is shaping up on the same basis on the guitar wizard front.
Having only just extricated the most recent and best offering from Jeff Beck from my CD player, now we get the latest set of tunes from one of the most under-rated musicians/songwriters that GB has ever turned out and again, (IMHO) this has got to be the best and indeed, most eclectic mix ever.
While I have sometimes been taken aback by Steve because of the variety of styles he can turn out in one album, one thing you cannot get away from is the man's originality and all here beautifully showcased. If heavy electric rock/blues is your thing, then "Tubehead" and "Still Waters" will have you tapping your feet particularly the latter with it's soaring, chattering, sometimes manic solos.
The closing track "Last Train To Istanbul" evidences Steve's ability to take evocative eastern music and turn it into a beautiful, soaring musical landscape. For the eclectic mix of styles, try "Nomads" which combines a flamenco opening and finishes with a rocking flurry and the classy "Ghost In The Glass" provides the slightly jazzier end.
The bonus album is simply that - some live renditions of some of Steve's concert favourites - although I have to add that I have heard better versions - it's just the singing that's a little shaky - but on top of that there is an extra studio cut too in the form of "Every Star In The Night Sky" which for some reason, didn't make the cut for the main album.........although it most certainly should have!
If you know the man's music, you don't need to be told - for everyone else, what on earth are you waiting for....BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked on second play., 4 Oct. 2012
I have to say, I love this piece of music. Its now on my priority list of music at the moment. I listen a lot to the old Genesis albums and decided to give this one a go. I have not been dissapointed. From start to finish played on a good system its a gem. My Bose has not sounded so good for a while.
If you love wind and wuthering,trick of the tail etc then try this.
Also been backtracking to Steve Hillage Green, another nice piece of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite A Decent Album From Mr Hackett!!, 26 Dec. 2010
By 
K. Buxton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree! Greatly missed when he left Genesis! Always was and always will be a class guitarist, but his albums from his first to his present are at times hard to get into, very experimental at times sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't, most I like some I don't! Just wish he'd have employed a good solid vocalist though.
Anyway back to this album, after a few listens I got into this and it's very strong early on `Fire on the Moon' and `Emerald & Ash' are my favourite tracks, then fizzles out a bit over the last couple of tracks, not as strong an album as Spectral Mornings, Defector, Highly Strung or Cured, but still worth buying, as its far superior than some of the rubbish music that's being released upon us at the moment? Keep it up Mr Hackett!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Hackett - Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth + Bonus CD, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth +Bonus CD (Audio CD)
This is more a work of great quality of this musician who does not canca to produce good albums. A CD which has beautiful songs and well diversified beyond the bonus recording with very good hits live. There is nothing to lose. The repertoire is very good and needs no comment, showing style, finesse and high sensitivity that are characteristic for Steve Hackett. Time passes and the work still very good. It's great for the fans and for those who like good music. Excellent! Note 9.0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars try to see him live. AWESOME!, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
mike "music lover" (brighton sussex uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steve is one of the most underrated musicians in this country, he was incredible in Genesis, and I have to say even better now. The way he throws different styles in a pot, gives them a stir, and creates musical masterpieces, is pure genius, I like them all but sleepers just shades it for me, so if you like well arranged music from a guy who knows how to play and get the best and most from a guitar, buy this and everything else he has ever done. oh! and see him live!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hackett stunning, 17 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth +Bonus CD (Audio CD)
In short, a stunning piece of work from Mr Hackett that confirms every fan's reason for having continuing faith in this musician . He excels again. The first track is a tour de force - turn it up real loud! I love all of it. The appearance of Anthony Philips on the album is heart warming and the latter's 12 string work is just wonderful. How someone can present so much different music style with such class is just amazing. Mr Hackett never fails to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another work of brilliance, 10 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth +Bonus CD (Audio CD)
Here is another masterpiece from one of the most creative and imaginative musicians/composers on the planet. Like his previous albums Wild Orchids, To Watch the Storms, Darktown and others, this new one boldly goes where few are going: music and songs of real imagination, depth, power and passion. Melodies and lyrics hit straight to the heart and arrangements blow the mind. Not to mention the brilliant playing and performances. A real shame that he is so under appreciated because his albums, this included, beat the heck out of every light-weight album by Phil Collins and every post-Gabriel Genesis album (and even recent Gabriel albums). To anyone who seeks uncompromising music of adventure and integrity, this album and the music of this man is the real deal. Procure at once and you will not be disappointed!! Sheer genius....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth +Bonus CD
Out Of The Tunnel's Mouth +Bonus CD by Steve Hackett (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Beyond The Shrouded Horizon
Beyond The Shrouded Horizon by Steve Hackett (Audio CD - 2011)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (47)   

Voyage Of The Acolyte
Voyage Of The Acolyte by Steve Hackett (Audio CD - 2005)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25)   

Wolflight
Wolflight by Steve Hackett (Audio CD - 2015)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (43)