Customer Reviews


405 Reviews
5 star:
 (210)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 2
I really enjoyed the first film and had high expectations for this film, it has a great cast and bigger budget following the success of the first film...and although I enjoyed it I feel it lost a little of it's soul. I do recommend watching the film and I'm looking forward to the potential spin off's and sequals. I do strongly recommend buying the triple play, I do not...
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by Barkingbarker

versus
73 of 83 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like the film, but why bother with a special edition!?
I will avoid reviewing the film here as some people do simply because its the product and not the film i want to comment on. I like the film enough to buy the DVD so that really should be enough in itself.

Like many who have reviewed this already i bought the special edition for the fact it was the special edition and at least expected there to be a 'making of'...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by C. J. Borrill-townsend


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Jon Favreu's film, 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: Iron Man 2 - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [2010] (Blu-ray)
One of the best Jon Favreu's film, a very good sequel of the preview Iron Man, also directed by Favreau. Favreau is an actor, but above all a great director of family and adventure films, with a great feeling withe the science fiction, fantasy and imagination. The seller is very kind, the item arrived in time. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not amazing for the price, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Ok, so the movie is great, but I'm really disappointed with the lack of extra features in this. For example, on the Iron Man Double Disk Edition, we got over four hours of extra features and behind the scenes stuff, and that wasn't even including the deleted scenes. On this? Three deleted scenes and a fifteen minute behind the scenes feature. And when we compare it to the Blu-Ray release, it simply doesn't match up. I can see the marketing and financial idea behind it, getting people to buy the more expensive version to see the extras, but come on, it's not exactly fair is it? Some of us don't see the benefits of Blu-Ray, why should we have to splurge on not only that release, but also the tech to play it on? I wasn't expecting the same amount of extra awesomeness we got with the first movie, but come on, this was just poor.

Here's hoping for a few more goodies on IM3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly Average, 2 Oct 2010
By 
Dickie "The Bear" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The first Iron Man film was a rarity of a film by defying any and all expectations by being something truly spectacular. Exceptionally cast, action packed and outstandingly entertaining; Iron Man easily became one of the best comic book movies of all time. Iron Man 2 naturally had higher expectations with new characters, better action; generally it was expected to be a highly superior sequel. The good news is that Iron Man 2 is as good as the first film but the bad news is that it isn't the superior sequel it should be.

The story itself much wider in scope and continues on with the ramifications of Tony Stark revealing himself to be Iron Man. This attracts various groups from Shield agents, politicians, rival businessmen and of course mortal enemies who all want to get their hands on the Iron Man weapon. Centre to all this is the role of unpredictable and unstable Tony Stark who is played perfectly once again by Robert Downey Jr. and is the showcase of the whole film. Introducing villainous elements in the form of Mickey Rourke's `Whiplash' and Sam Rockwell's `Justin Hammer', Iron Man 2 has all the ingredients to soar; but sadly it plays it safe.

Marvel have no doubt been future minded with recent releases the Incredible Hulk and the first Iron Man and have endeavoured to bring these characters into the same universe leading up to the Avengers and Iron Man 2 has been no different. With an expanded role for Shield which also includes a longer cameo from Samuel L. Jackson, the road to the Avengers has well and truly been set out and this is one of the films great successes. However unlike Hulk and Iron Man, Iron Man 2 forgets that it also needs to deliver something truly satisfying itself and while it manages to bring a sense of consistency; it seems to settle on only being more of the same.

Iron Man 2 feels single toned and noticeably lacks any real darkness that made the second sequels to Spiderman and X2 so successful. Whilst there is no real argument for this being necessary to make Iron Man 2 soar, the villains although played very well never really threaten nor does Tony Stark ever feel in danger. The film relies on Downey Jr. to deliver another stunning performance whilst it fails to make any real improvements with the CGI and some of the action remains unremarkable. The film is a more ambitious film but it fails land the punches that made the first so good.

As it stands the second Iron Man film still remains an impressive comic book movie however on comparison with previous sequels it comes across painfully and frustratingly lack lustre. Marvel have spent so much attention setting up the Avengers that the film makers seem to have settled on making Iron Man 2 merely a good film instead of a great film. This is frustrating because it possesses all the ingredients to be truly great and its mediocre effort feels deliberate and arrogant. Unfair perhaps but for a film like this to end up not fulfilling its potential is a serious slap in the face to the audience who deserve and expected something spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rock-'em-sock-'em extravaganza!!!, 28 Oct 2010
By 
Tony Stark is BACK, and he's playing Robert Downey Jr!

If ever there was a role and an actor made for each other, it's these two! I fail to see how ANYONE can say that in THIS case the prequel was better than the sequel: IM was a necessary foundation, telling the uninitiated how a grown man -- and multi-billionaire at that! -- came to be literally flying by the seat of his metal pants, fighting bad guys. Jon Favreau then turned the well-worn origin story on its head by having Tony reveal his secret identity to the national press, early doors!

IM2 picks up the aftermath, showing us that all is not sweetness and light in the House of Stark: the very device that kept him alive and enabled his escape from the clutches of those who sought him dead was now in turn killing him, and not even plant juice could help! So what does he do? He pushes away all those who were once his nearest and dearest, while drinking himself into oblivion.

Clearly what our spoilt playboy with a heart of palladium needs is the double-edged sword of karma...

In the RED corner (see what I did there?!?): a brilliant yet twisted Russkie with more crossed wires than an old telephone exchange...

In the BLUE corner: a certain SHIELD director who could have taught Shaft a thing or two, ready to give our contender to the Avengers title a heavy dose of tough love...

...even the referee -- his best friend Rhodey -- has to suit up to kick his butt!

Without putting too fine a point on it (ya THINK?!?) ... I loved, loved, LOVED this movie! And finally having the 2-DVD boxset to add to my bulging collection of (mainly) Marvel comic book movies is too much of a nerdgasm for words!!!

BUT -- having said all THAT...

...I was rather put out by the sparseness of the extras disc, with 5-or-so hardly-missed deleted scenes, and a couple of patronising "Making Of" videos. I mean, c'mon?! How's about including some thoughts on what inspired the route taken in this movie: Marvel's "Ultimates"?!? Where was the concept art? The outtakes? D-u-u-h-h!!

Honestly? I got more insight re this marvellous flick online, from YouTube & Legacy Studios!

[as stern headmaster]: Marvel Studios! Go stand in the corner and repeat after me, "I will not get big-headed. I will not be complacent. I must try harder next time. I owe it to the true believers!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 2, 27 July 2011
By 
Nuno Miguel Da Graca (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [2010] (Blu-ray)
I watched the movie on the big screen and was somewhat disappointed. The reason is because my expectations were really high as I found the first Iron Man to have been one of the better movies in the "Superhero" genre. I did buy this release though as I have the first Iron Man in my collection. I actually enjoyed it the second time around although I still prefer the first movie despite great performances from Robert Downey Jr. and Mickey Rourke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overcooked and Overstuffed., 24 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What a poor sequel. Its too busy trying to set up and advsertise an Avengers movie that its not even concerned about being its own movie. Whiplash is way underused and after the fight scene at the racetrack this film flatlines to the point you could fastforward chunks of it. The final fight lasted a good 40 seconds,im not even joking.This film was rushed into production with an unfinished script and it shows.There are moments of greatness,the opening scene with Iron Man falling through the sky with AC/DC playing,and seeing Iron Man and War Machine fighting side by side,but the good bits are few and far between. I dont blame Jon Favreau for jumping ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50/50, 14 Mar 2011
By 
L. Woolridge "Leewoo" (Stoke-On-Trent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [2010] (Blu-ray)
This film review could go one of 2 ways. i could absolutely slate it as they are cashing in on the fact that the first film was very good. Or i could give it the respect it deserves for its entertainment factor. I'm going to just say, if you enjoyed the first film for its action, witty one liners and great visuals then you shouldnt be disappointed at all with the sequel. In blu ray you truly get to see ALL of the detail of the iron man suits. Any action film addicts should most definitely buy this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 2, 4 Jan 2011
By 
M. A. Bailey (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Really good DVD, Micky Rourke was suprisingly ok, I thought he was going to be lame. Story was a bit weak but effects were great, so overall really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man 2, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant film, entertaining from 1st to last. I'd recommend it to anyone that enjoyed the 1st 'Iron Man' film and to those who didn't manage to see the 1st one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST A GREAT MOVIE, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: Iron Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I think that it is much better than the first a must see film if you are into your action superheroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 341 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man 2 - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) [2010]
£17.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews