Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Brass Bands
This is the first brass band recording I've purchased.I am not a great enthusiast although I do enjoy brass bands when the mood takes me. This was a good choice to begin with and being on 2 cd's, very good value. It extends my music collection in another direction very nicely.
Published on 19 Nov. 2010 by James from England

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely NOT the best of Brass Bands!
The producers of this CD are in serious breach of the Trade Descriptions Act.

Any serious brass banders will probably be warned off this product by the picture of a trumpet on the cover, before they even get to the track list full of recycled, years-old 'easy listening' arrangements or the fact that the only 2 bands featured, are not at the top of the list of...
Published on 24 Jun. 2012 by bookworm71


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Brass Bands, 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Best Of Brass Bands (Audio CD)
This is the first brass band recording I've purchased.I am not a great enthusiast although I do enjoy brass bands when the mood takes me. This was a good choice to begin with and being on 2 cd's, very good value. It extends my music collection in another direction very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely NOT the best of Brass Bands!, 24 Jun. 2012
The producers of this CD are in serious breach of the Trade Descriptions Act.

Any serious brass banders will probably be warned off this product by the picture of a trumpet on the cover, before they even get to the track list full of recycled, years-old 'easy listening' arrangements or the fact that the only 2 bands featured, are not at the top of the list of the world's best bands.

The real concern is that non-brass banders could be buying this believing the title and then being misled into thinking that this really is the best the brass band world has to offer and this is the only sort of music we're capable of playing. Or that we play trumpets.

If you really want to hear the best of bands, then please buy a recent release from one of the truly best bands (currently the top 5 in the world rankings are Cory, Black Dyke, Fodens, Brighouse & Rastrick and Tredegar, or a CD from a recent 'Brass in Concert' or European Brass Band Championship. Whatever you do, please don't think this is the best we have to offer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Brass..., 16 July 2010
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This Music Digital 3CD set of The Williams-Fairey Engineering Band & The Grimethorpe Colliery Band comprises 51 excellent performances across a wide range of musical styles. This is great value. Listen out for "Tritsch Tratsch Polka"; "Carnival for Brass" & "Ballycastle Bay".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Brass Bands, 13 Jun. 2011
By 
Neil Hicks (Geelong West, Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
What a wonderful, interesting and exciting set of CD's.
Great mixture of tunes and styles.
Always feel refreshed after listening to these CD's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hidden REISSUED item, without explanation..., 2 Mar. 2011
This review is only aboutThe Best of Brass Bands(ASIN: B003LJ42Y2), and not about The Best of Brass Bands(ASIN: B00076SJ9G). A review described to the former is automatically duplicated to the latter. This accident is occured probably by the close similarity of the titles of both items.
...
Of all 51 tracks of this item, 31 are played by Williams Fairey Band and 20 by Grimethorpe Colliery Band. Not only the former 31 tracks are the same those of Best in Brass(composed of 37 tracks but six tracks of which, Joseph Horovitz's Concertino Classico and Eric Ball's Symphonic Suite for Brass Band:Festival Music, are omitted here), but also the latter 20 tracks are of Brass Band Classics.
So, this item will disappoint you if you already own either of them. Be careful not to waste money.
The performances are very nice, but this item itself is not good because it lacks the important information I mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great music to listen to for brass band music fans. grandad loves it and listens to it loads, although drives mum insane!!lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good brass band cd, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The very best of brass band music which is very varied with different types of music and instruments. My husband is very pleased with his present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exellent popular music, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good selections played by top musicicians,to gets ones feet tapping and singing along,recommended to brass band enthusiasts,very very reasonably priced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Four reissue CDs in a budget three pack, 9 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This three pack has an odd combination of tracks, presented in rather a random order, which can have an odd effect as you move from "Blue Rondo a la Turk" to "How Great thou art" or from "Bohemian Rhapsody" to "Rejoice the Lord is King". The playing order is not easy to listen to and if you can reorder the tracks you will find it useful.

The three CDs here are taken from four prior releases and a bit. Three by Fairey-Williams from 1987/1990 and one from Grimethorpe Colliery from 2001.

The Grimethorpe original CD is the religious one and the 20 tracks all come from Delta 4112 released in 2001.

The Fairey-Williams tracks have been reissued and reissued a bewildering number of times, but the three original releases, covering all but two of the Fairey tracks here, are:
Grasmere GRCD35 "Tournament for Brass" 1990
Grasmere GRTC17 "Golden Jubilee" 1987
Grasmere GRTC42 "Procession to the Minster" 1990

That last one is the oddity as two tracks from 1990 are not presented here. The Grasmere album was released (amongst many other versions) by Parade in 2004 as "Carnival of Brass" and this had the extra two tracks here presented to replace the two omitted. Omitted from the original 1990 recording are Festival Music and Tuesday Blues. In their place, from the 2004 reissue are Blue Rondo a la Turk and Fantasy on Swiss Airs.

There is a wide variety of brass music here- even the quick march The President, which the Fairey band can still be heard playing at the Whit Friday contests in the Oldham and Tameside areas.

This is brass music as it was played around 1990, as the instruments were moving into the large bore (and therefore louder) modern instrument style and although drum kits had been known for some years, the percussion was still background.

As you would expect from Championship bands, the playing on these old recordings is first class, and the recording quality does not detract in anyway, coming as close as you can to a live performance.

Apart from a recommendation to reorder the tracks, this is an excellent collection of brass band pieces and well worth buying if you don't have the originals (yes, I had previously bought them, and CDs don't produce the crackle of old LPs!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brass, 13 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Best Of Brass Bands (Audio CD)
Excellent CD chosen for our 21st wedding anniversary...brass ! Great price, speedy delivery and some lovely tunes to listen to while we had our romantic dinner for two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of Brass Bands
Best Of Brass Bands by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£6.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews