Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alchemy Rocks!
Ok, the lighting isn't brilliant; but it's on stage and recorded in the eighties so let's not dwell on that! Alchemy was the first live album released by a British band and should be used as a yard stick for how a concert should be done!
Make no mistake, this is Dire Straits at their very best! They show with effortless ease just how polished they were as a band and...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not do what it says on the tin................
While the DVD arrived in a timely manner, the fact that it had no annoying cellophane wrapping should perhaps have alerted me earlier. When I eventually got round to playing it on my DVD player, it would not work. A message about "not PAL" or something came up, but no picture or sound at all. I checked the box, and it said that it was good for regions zero, which means...
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by J. Cullen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alchemy Rocks!, 17 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Ok, the lighting isn't brilliant; but it's on stage and recorded in the eighties so let's not dwell on that! Alchemy was the first live album released by a British band and should be used as a yard stick for how a concert should be done!
Make no mistake, this is Dire Straits at their very best! They show with effortless ease just how polished they were as a band and what consumate musicians they are! I have owned the cassette tape, the cd (twice), the VHS video and now this dvd and have never tired of listening and watching them!
The only (very personal) complaint is that in producing the dvd some of the 'in between bits'have been cut: I really miss Knopfler's drawn out "Thaaaaankyoooou' after Private Investigations leading into Sultans of Swing; but hey ho, you can't have everything!
If you like live music and some good old fashioned foot stomping, get up and dance rock, then buy this dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Days, 19 Jun. 2010
By 
Michael Botham (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I must say that I was really looking forward to this release eventually becoming available on dvd. I originally bought the records when they came out, then the cds and the video. I even remember the concert being shown on television sometime around 1983 and I recorded it on Video 2000!
Although the music will be familiar to many it is really pleasing that this excellent concert has been released on dvd. The music quality is fine and the picture quality has obviously also been worked on. I am not concerned that the blue ray version may not be up to the usual standard or that the screen format 4:3 may not appeal to many, just that the concert is now available in a digital format. People really have to remember that it is now 27 years since this was recorded so it can't be expected to be as good as a modern equivalent concert.
This appeared after the band had recorded 4 studio albums. There was a, therefore, a large amount of material that could have been performed. The tracks chosen are a good cross section at the time and pre-date the hugely successful "Brothers in Arms" and "On Every Street" albums. This is the band in an earlier, less commercial phase and every band member appears right in the zone. It really is a classic concert and will be an excellent companion to the "On The Night" dvd. In particular the version of "Romeo and Juliet" takes on another dimension compared to the original studio track. "Tunnel of Love" and "Telegraph Road" are also highlights, but really the entire concert is superb.
The extras included are 2 studio tracks recorded for television at the time and a very interesting documentary. The 8-page inlay also gives good retrospective information. All in all an excellent package.
Could it have been better? Yes, with the obvious inclusion of "Love Over Gold". I believe this was released on the original cassette version but it surely could have been included here, given the extra time capacity of the dvd format.
However, I still give this 5 stars and urge all fans - old and new - to buy it. The old Video 2000 copy I made at the time will continue to gather dust at the bottom of the cupboard whilst this dvd will be played at regular intervals.
Happy days indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alchemy is an amazing concert, 21 May 2011
By 
Mr. Craig Henderson (North East, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Alchemy live is a brilliant concert recorded in London in the Summer of 1983 and it is great this gig is finally on DVD. Mark Knopfler's guitar playing is sublime and there are some great 'live' versions of classic songs like Romeo and Juliet, Sultans of Swing, Tunnel of Love and Telegraph Road. Yes the concert looks dated and the fashion is very 80s but Dire Straits were a band that loved music and playing, and were never bothered about fitting in. Some of the songs are timeless and Once upon a time in the West, Expresso Love and Private Investigations still sound good. This DVD is good value for money because you also get an interesting Arena documentary made in 1980 and two extra performances. This is a great concert to see and listen to a great band on the verge of superstardom before they recorded their Brothers in Arms album. Some people will not appreciate this concert, will sneer at the dated clothes and Mark Knopfler's receding hairline and headband, but they have cloth ears and for those people who appreciate good lyrics, great guitar licks and accomplished playing-this DVD is a must.
5 stars-great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll do for me!, 11 July 2010
By 
Maggie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
One of the biggest regrets I have is having missed the original Alchemy concert so this is the next best thing. I had the VHS but this is far far better for sound. No way am I the sort of geek - sorry, expert :-) that understands aspect ratios or sound qualities, I just know this is fantastic for any true fan who wasn't there or for anyone who has discovered MK and DS in more recent years (and there are plenty attending his concerts this year who were not born then!).
Listened to at concert volume on my brother's amazing TV/blue-ray/ stereo surround set-up, it felt almost as good as being there and the quality of the sound was such that I picked up nuances in the lyrics that I had never got from the CDs. The pathos in the way that Mark tackles Romeo and Juliet is stunning, although I have to say he did it just as well on this year's tour all these years later! And it is the best version of Sultans I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Package, 17 May 2010
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought the DVD version of this, and generally it's a solid buy. The gig itself is fantastic, and the best performance they ever committed to video/tape - it's leagues ahead of later releases like On The Night. The band is tight as hell; great solos, Knopfler puts a lot into his vocals, and the songs themselves are timeless. Romeo and Juliet especially stands out in this environment; I thought the studio recording was a little bit thin, but here it's glorious, replete with beautiful melodies on guitar, keyboards and bass, with some wonderfully shot footage from outside the venue intertwined with the sound.

You also get a cool sixty minute documentary filmed while they were recording Making Movies, it's interesting in hindsight to see them only eighteen months into their success, worried about how long they would last. It's full of live performances of their early stuff, and also in the extras are a couple of BBC performances from Old Grey Whistle Test, not exactly rare but welcome in this quality nonetheless.

Picture wise, people are right to say it hasn't improved particularly from the original VHS; it's clear and more than adequate, but in the age of high definition doesn't exactly push the boundaries of restoration. They also left out Love Over Gold from the concert, which isn't that great a loss since they only played three minutes of it. Otherwise, this is the band in all their glory, probably their prime, and anyone into the first four albums will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is just quality!, 13 Oct. 2011
By 
A. Martin "Ady" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Dire Straits - Alchemy Live... You know what it is because you've probably seen it before, you've heard the DVD has great sound quality but the picture isn't really up to DVD standard? You've heard right!
The point is though, the picture is perfectly watchable and is still a big step up from the VHS you saw this on in the first place. The sound quality on this DVD is absolutely right on the money. You can hear things going on here that you've never picked up on the audio versions, Vinyl,CD,Cassette or otherwise. you literally are placed in the crowd.
There are some great reviews on here regarding this item so I have no need to go into any great detail as I would simply be repeating what others have said. I can wholeheartedly recommend this item to anyone who enjoys music and for fans of Dire Straits I would say it is an absolute essential for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I originally bought this on VHS about 24 years ago now and watched it so often that the tape wore out pretty quickly. Couldnt believe it when I looked on Amazon a couple of weeks ago and saw it was now available on dvd. Its the best 8.99 I will spend this year and a must for all Dire Straits fans. The sound quality is brilliant which considering I am hard of hearing and have to have the tv volume up full normally or subtitles on, is really saying something. I still get shivers when listening to Romeo and Juliet! Its wonderful having it again after all these years, so thank you whoever decided to release it on dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At last, a classic from the 80s. Al fin, un clásico de los 80s., 13 Jun. 2010
By 
Juan Silvera - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Finally we can get this show on dvd. Certainly with improved video and sound quality over 80s' vhs and laser discs. The bonus are great. They are worth the money with songs played by the original line-up, I mean including David Knopfler. If you can, buy it. You won't regret.

Finalmente podemos tener este show en dvd. Ciertamente con calidad de audio y video mejorada sobre los vhs y discos láser de los 80. Los extras son fantásticos. Ellos sólos valen el gasto, con canciones ejecutadas por la formación original, quiero decir, incluyendo a David Knopfler. Si puede, cómprelo. No se va a arrepentir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I can`t believe it took me so many years to actually purchase this! This is Dire Straits at their very best. Mark Knopfler is at the peak of his powers here with some tremendous playing on ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST,ROMEO AND JULIET,PRIVATE INVESTIGATIONS,TUNNEL OF LOVE and the ultimate version of SULTANS OF SWING which also features phenomenal drumming prowess from Terry Williams. John Illsley plays a mean bass throughout. The audience are right up for this show and the reaction to each song is amazing..... Could not recommend this dvd enough.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant replacement of VHS version., 22 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
My VHS version of this concert was played and enjoyed many times over the years but it had been languishing in the cupboard since the VHS player broke. I bought the DVD version (not Blu-ray) and have to say that I am more than happy with it. The sound (on the DTS setting) is excellent and the picture quality is considerably better than it was on VHS. The concert, itself, by one of the best bands ever, has always been brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010]
Dire Straits: Alchemy Live [DVD] [2010] by Dire Straits (DVD - 2010)
£9.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews