Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the film, awesome
First of all I have to say that I am a great fan of the film. It is the first Batman film to truly capture the character of Batman, and while Tim Burton created a very visual, fantasy world for Batman, Christian Bale and Christopher Nolan have taken Batman back to his roots. It a much grittier and more realistic film, and the score accompanies this perfectly. I can't say...
Published on 11 July 2005

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A place where the sun never shines...
Imagine the Himalayas, their size and scale, but then imagine them if the sun never shone there.
Bleak, grey, empty of emotion and beauty. Like being trapped in a grey fog. Permanently.
We're looking for a hint of warmth, a mere glimpse of some pleasantness, but no, the relentless darkness pervades all. There is no hope, no redemption.
It's bleakness...
Published on 2 Dec 2011 by I. Rumens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the film, awesome, 11 July 2005
By A Customer
First of all I have to say that I am a great fan of the film. It is the first Batman film to truly capture the character of Batman, and while Tim Burton created a very visual, fantasy world for Batman, Christian Bale and Christopher Nolan have taken Batman back to his roots. It a much grittier and more realistic film, and the score accompanies this perfectly. I can't say that I have liked all of Hans Zimmer's work, but the powerful sound that characterised Gladiator returns in full force here.
The soundtrack manages to be in places dark and haunting, but in others soft and sentimental, which mirrors the more emotional parts of the film. I have now listened to it 3 or 4 times and it only improves with repeated play, as does the film (which I have also seen 3 times!). It is hard to pick a highlight of the score, and impossible to find any weakness in this impressive collection. Without being drawn into the all too predictable practice of creating a "theme" as seen in almost all superhero films, Zimmer and Howard have created a memorable and powerful score to accompany one of the best films of recent years.
If Christian Bale has indeed agreed to do 2 or 3 batman films, and if Nolan and Zimmer can be persuaded to continue with the projuect, I think we can all consider ourselves very lucky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely batty!, 23 Aug 2005
Fans of Danny Elfman's timeless scoring for the original Batman film need not fear. This latest Batman score doesn't even try to emulate or rehash the classic Elfman music - instead it takes a completely different direction, as the film itself has done from the previous entries of the Batman franchise.
Glorifying in rich, haunting strings and deep, solemn brass, this score mirrors the more sophisticated tone of the film it accompanies. This is a very deep, brooding and emotionally weighty score - but one shot through with strong, passionate themes that will leave the hairs on your arms tingling. Relatively quiet moments lull and enrich with heartbreaking strings and romantic themes. These are interspersed with sudden, crashing percussion that (once you climb back down from the ceiling) morph into exhilarating scene-setters. The tension, veiled menace and heart-pounding action of 'Myotis' typify this pattern, while 'Barbastella' really lends weight to the inner struggles of Bruce Wanye.
Be prepared for occasional experiments. Tracks such as 'Artibeus' really convey the heart-stopping fear of cornered criminals, with suitably tense outbursts of string and percussion peppered with disturbing synths. The Scarecrow's theme also makes use of this combination - the result of which makes for tricky but fantastic listening.
Overall, this is a fine addition to any film-score fan's collection, and a beautifully re-realised vision of the Dark Knight.
And the track names? Species of bat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new sound to Batman, 15 Jun 2005
Everybody is talking about how there is no distinct theme for Batman in this soundtrack. Burton's Batman did and it suited that film but I think a ongoing superhero theme would have been out of place for this take on Batman. Instead Zimmer and Newton Howard have leaned more towards how the music reflects the mood of the scene and psyche of its main protaganist. And in that they have very much succeeded.
On first listening, it is hard to imagine it working with the film. But after numerous listenings, I couldn't imagine a better sound to go with the reinvention of Batman. On the whole, different from what you would expect from these two composers with added sound effects, which are obviously there to create an eerie atmosphere for their use in scenes. But saying that there are parts to each track that unmistakenly Zimmer and Newton Howard. The likes of The Thin Red Line, The Last Samurai, Black Rain and The Village are all reminiscent on this score.
The two standouts are Molussus and Lazarius, which are completely different in mood and tone but equally as good.
Overall, a great new sound for Batman and I hope these two composers will be involved in the future of the Batman series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opus Magnus!, 11 Sep 2005
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just as "Batman and Robin " disappeared in a bloated puff of smoke so "Batman Begins" snook up in the wake of Star Wars and quite frankly blew me away with its intellectual realistic take on what drives a man to dress up as a large bat and beat up bad guys by night. The film is excellent in its own right but its punch is magnified by this fantastic Soundtrack which is by turns sweeping ,dignified, powerful and, emotive. I am a long term fan of Hans Zimmer putting the "Gladiator" soundtrack as one of my all time favourites. "Vespertilio" "Barbastella" These are not the names of songs from a typical pop album, I think this is fantastic, I mean they are probably Latin words but what on earth do they mean? Who cares because like the album captures the emotion of the film, so they seem to epitomise the meaning of the music. In this age of political correctness, chavs and generally dumbing down in most arenas, it is reassuring to see a project that is not afraid to be intellectually entertaining. I hope there are further Chris Nolan Batman films and I hope that Hans Zimmer is scoring them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moody, passionate, 4 July 2005
By 
Paul Tang "asfafa" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all, I am a Hans Zimmer fan, and love The Rock, Gladiator, The Thin Red Line, Last Samurai, King Arthur, Hannibal and so on. My CD purchases are usually original soundtracks.
At the moment, this is the only thing I listen to in the car and in the office. It's mean, moody, and conjures up all the scenes from the film. It conveys power, menace and a certain fragility. The film and music compliment each other perfectly.
Okay, this OST does not have themes like Elfman's score, but you have to realise that the music as well as the film had to go in a different direction from Burton/Elfman.
I recommend this soundtrack without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic CD, separate from the film, 27 Mar 2010
This review is from: Batman Begins (Audio CD)
Two top-drawer soundtrack artists competing on the same soundtrack brought out the best in each other. My multiple viewings of this film were partly caused by the music being so good and it's always good when a blockbuster film has its own proper soundtrack instead of being jam-packed with modern rock or 60s Motown.

It will however, drive your hi-fi to its limits, I still don't own the amplifier needed to get the most out of the heavy drums and general bass. There are general hallmarks from both composers that fans might recognise but the Batmobile chase theme that reminds you a little of Zimmer's Black Rain, for example, is well matched by other melodies from Newton-Howard.

So if you're undecided about the quality of this soundtrack, watch the film first, but it marked a genuinely new direction certainly for Zimmer without the rest of his usual "band".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Soundtrack !, 7 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic compilation of the original score; the film itself is great, the soundtrack is even better !

When I watched the film I couldn't help being taken in by the accompanying music and it didn't take long to also recognise the composing influence of Hans Zimmer. I thought his OST for the film 'Gladiator' was excellent, this is perhaps superior.

The quality of the emotion and power in the music can be appreciated from the tracks 'Myotis', 'Barbastella' and 'Nycteris'; but the track 'Molossus' is the pinnacle of the collection and is quite simply mind-blowing (it is used in the first Batmobile chase scene and is very much background music so is easily missed !).

The brass and percussion sections contribute greatly to make some truly exhilarating pieces. I also think some of the instrumental tones generated are unique; the contribution of the electric cello being the best example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Song Naming, 10 Mar 2006
By 
I thought this album was emotional, dark and haunting. The song titles are well thought out--each is a different meaning for bat!
Example, Eptesicus means "House Flyer" (obviously in latin)and
Myotis means "Mouse Eared". My favourite on this entire album is "Corynorhinus" which is the latin for the Ozark Big Eared bat. Wicked awesome stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hans Zimmer + James Newton Howard in the SAME soundtrack?!!!, 3 April 2006
Wow. Just...wow.
Some elements are unmistakably Zimmer - the long held note before moving up a tone, and Newton Howards signautre use of drums makes for THE BEST soundtrack I have ever heard. I mean combine these two guys and nothing's ever touching it. Ever.
You need a 20Hz and up FLAT audiophile system to really enjoy this though :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Soundtrack !, 25 Aug 2010
This review is from: Batman Begins (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic compilation of the original score; the film itself is great, the soundtrack is even better !

When I watched the film I couldn't help being taken in by the accompanying music and it didn't take long to also recognise the composing influence of Hans Zimmer. I thought his OST for the film 'Gladiator' was excellent, this is perhaps superior.

The quality of the emotion and power in the music can be appreciated from the tracks 'Myotis', 'Barbastella' and 'Nycteris'; but the track 'Molossus' is the pinnacle of the collection and is quite simply mind-blowing. I also think some of the instrumental tones generated are unique; the contribution of the electric cello being the best example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews