Customer Reviews

465
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Twilight Saga: Eclipse [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£3.98+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 8 January 2011
I have been putting off watching this movie for months, but I recently got sick and needed something to get my mind off my illness. I really wanted to enjoy this movie. But the same thing lost in New Moon was missing in this one. I have suspected since the last movie in the saga that the missing ingredient was the "cook" Katherine Hardwick and I'm now even more convinced that I am correct. The planets aligned when she directed that movie. The lighting, the actors, the set, the costumes, the quirky soundtrack, the make-up/hair and the performances were all brilliant. As other reviewers have written, all seemed to enjoy the whole process of making that film and the chemistry between Kristen Steward and Rob Pattison was definitely there. The kissing scene in the bedroom was one of the best first-kiss scenes ever produced. Pure brilliance. Many, many people (young and old)wanted to and put themselves in Bella's place. My reason for enjoying the first movie was that it recalled the innocence and intensity of my first love and the promise it carried. The fact that my first love looked an awful lot like Rob Pattison and was as intense as the character he portrays, made it even more fun!

But everything that MADE the Twilight movie, in my opinion, has been missing since Hardwick. Have you ever heard the saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it?" Well, it appears to me that the people responsible for the subsequent movies have been fixing things that should have been left alone. Why would you change a recipe that worked so well? While the last two movies have probably had much larger budgets to work with, they are to be commended for not "hollywooding" the characters and settings. However, the actors just don't appear to be into it. Stewart had to try too hard to be "Bella". I'm not even sure that some of the scenes were even shot with all the characters in one location, as a couple of scenes didn't show the main participants all together. I may be wrong, but if they were, they sure didn't act it. In Twilight I got lost in the movie. With Eclipse I just watched.

There are very few movie sequels that are at least as good as the first, and this one is no exception. I'll watch this series to the end, but only because I like to finish what I start.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Mousy Kristen Stewart, who dates outside of her species, causes a vampires vs. newbie vampires vs. werewolves war, perhaps the best scene in the movie, which lasted about two minutes. The movie is filled with numerous flashbacks, primarily to the 19th century. Unlike the Harry Potter series where the acting improves from one movie to the next, this one does not. No wait. It is not bad acting. We discover that newbie vampires are uncontrollable and emotional. Vampires that are uncontrollable must be destroyed, so only unemotional vampires, who simply appear to be bad actors survive. They in turn like the aroma of infrequent bathers and wig wearers who are also bad actors, i.e unemotional. So that explains it. They are supposed to be unemotional. Why the werewolves, who look like an underage male revue sucked, I don't know.

The most painful scenes are the one on one dialouge scenes. Here their "unemotional" ability comes out. Unfortunately this consists of too much of the movie as I kept yelling at the screen, "Get on with it!" Besides Edward's glitter, what is also unnatural is Kristen's hairline. I kept waiting for her fake hair to fall off. Young females will certainly rate this as 5 stars as the whole unnatural world is fighting over one of them, one that lacks a great body, personality, or hygiene. (Just a joke about the hygiene as everything unnatural keeps sniffing her scent.)

Kristen wants to be a vampire. Edward doesn't want her to be one. Edward wants to get married. Kristen doesn't. She wants to have sex, but Edward doesn't want to have sex out of marriage. (Guess the compromise coming in the next movie?) Dad doesn't want Kristen to date a vampire, but would rather she go out with a werewolf. The movie saga has become overly hokey.

It is unfair to say all the acting was bad. Alice Cullen was noticeably good, although she normally appears talking to Kristen. In one scene an excited Alice tells Bella, "You will be spending the night in our house with Edward." Bella, whose blank face doesn't even twitch, has a long dramatic Shatner-like pause, and finally remembers her line and says, "Like, alone?" It was MST-3000 bad. I had to laugh.

Dakota Fanning, who can act, played a very minor role where she wasn't allowed to act, just recite a few lines. The movie reminded me of "Billy Jack" where fans of the movie couldn't fathom why the Academy overlooked the movie, or when Star Trek fans couldn't understand why Shatner never got an Emmy. They would say, "Maybe because William Shatner was so good as Captain Kirk, they didn't realize he was acting." The same could be said of the Twilight series. We really don't realize these people are acting (except Alice).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 17 March 2013
This is the third Twilight movie I have tried to watch, and I just can't. I am seriously disturbed that this kind of inane garbage is what 90% of people seem to enjoy. Aldous Huxley's fears of society becoming so trivial that life was meaningless are actually realised in this absolute garbage.

I have given this a fair chance, believing that surely the fact that it is so popular with most people must mean that it has some redeeming features, but no. Apparently people are morons. The plot is beyobd horrific. It actually makes me feel physically ill. It is like fanfiction written by a 12 year old girl about having the two most popular boys at high school fighting over plain-Jane.

Despite necking a bottle of wine prior to watching, I was forced to admit defeat during the scene where topless Jacob has to keep Bella warm in a blizzard in a tend up a mountain while Edward watches. (She is of course absolutely fine wondering about in her shirt-sleeves in the snow the following day, but would have apparently died of hypothermia if Jacob hadn't been able to rub his abs on her (he is topless again, for the 8 millionth time this movie. I swear it must be in his contract)). I have never seen such a ridiculously contrived plot. The way the interesting elements of the plot (vampires vs. werewolves, hello!) is sacrificed to contorting the plot so that it reaches this kind of bizarre 12-year old girl's fantasy is quite impressive.

I salute anyone who makes it through this. I couldn't, and this is my third attempt.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 September 2011
I am quite firmly placed in the Team Edward category, but Eclipse the film nearly pushed me over to Team Jacob!
Edward is portrayed as a sullen, possessive a-hole with passive-aggressive (and often just plain aggressive) tendencies toward everyone including Bella. For sure, Edward has his issues in the book as well, but it's like they handpicked the worst of him for the movie and left the rest. It doesn't help that there's little chemistry between Edward and Bella - most of the time they just seem to be irritated by each other's presence. The line about them circling each other like satellites seems almost sarcastic because there's no evidence of this in their actions. Based on this you'd expect them to be breaking up instead of getting married.

Jacob doesn't get a fair treatment either. The acting performance is fine but the storyline involving him is severely handicapped. The kiss between him and Bella is nothing but awkward and doesn't begin to depict the supposed inner conflict that arises in Bella's mind. Also, when Bella leaves Jacob's bedside after telling him of her choice, the whole process of her having an emotional breakdown and purging her feelings for Jacob (which I thought was incredibly central to the story) is simply not there. Poof, gone. Why was this movie even made?

After watching the deleted scenes I could not understand why they had been cut. Particularly the bit where Edward tells Bella he understands if she's mad that he tooled with her car and that she should keep the window shut if she doesn't want him there. This is exactly the stuff that would've made Edward-of-the-movie more likeable, showing his tender and considerate side. And they cut it!

Others have commented on the excessive sunshine in the movie, I needn't repeat it here. Let's just say that I knew something was awry when even my husband (who dislikes the Twilight franchise) said "Aren't they supposed to sparkle?".

The hair (both wigs and simply styling) is bad enough to attract attention to itself, which is the worst thing that could happen. Speaking of hair - whatever happened to Edward's "smooth, marble-like chest"? The actor's excessively hairy arms and tufts of chest hair pushing out of his neckline kind of shatter the illusion. Minor, but again something that stuck out that shouldn't have.
Overall, I think the aesthetics of the film are not very successful. The morbidly fascinating hair aside, none of the characters actually look very nice at all. This is most startlingly obvious with Edward who is supposed to be dazzlingly gorgeous. Instead, he's sometimes just painful to look at, quite contrary to the first two movies. There are occasional moments, like the fight scene in the snow, that are beautiful. The rest just doesn't cut it.

The ONLY thing that was better in the movie opposed to the book was Edward's proposal speech. We are shown glimpses of Jasper and Rosalie's pasts but Edward's has never been touched much. I thought it was a nice addition.

This could have been a very good movie, but it's painfully obvious that both Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson have lost interest by now and the director didn't seem to care much either. It doesn't bode well for the Breaking Dawn movies, but I hope I'm wrong.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 31 January 2011
never read the books, i thought the the first two were very intense , dramatic , and romantic films... the music and all the scenes in the first 2 movies were all very well thought out and you

believe them (even if they break all the vampire conventions...)

in this one, i didnt feel the intensity, the charged up emotion of the first 2 , not even close, the music is just average , doesnt stand out, there are no incredible set pieces like in the

new moon with victoria being chased by the werewolves.........

The character of Victoria was given to Bryce Dallas, big mistake, i think the directors wanted a better actor to play the Dangerous Victoria, BIG LETDOWN.

the actress who played the other two had a feline dangerous quality she conveyed without saying a word, Bryce dallas looks like a princess with red eyes, not a vampire,,, bad bad

decision.....and she doesnt even appear more than 2 minutes in the whole movie.....

vampires now die like broken glass, which looks artificial and diferent from the first two movies, not in a good way.

also the enemy vampires have no personality,,,,, no more laureant, Victoria, or the hunter from the first movie , 0 personality

YOU WILL WATCH THIS MOVIE, YOU WILL BUY THIS MOVIE , doesnt matter what anyone says, i just want to say in advance this is a 3 stars movie not 4-5 ,

the Volturi also appear for 2 minutes ( and WITHOUT MICHAEL SHEEN.........!!!!!?), and again there is no sense of their danger as it was the second movie, apparently dakota fawning wont even

be in the last 2.....

the film promises a lot and doesnt deliver what it should , the acting of the main cast is also below the first 2 movies, only taylor laurent keeps the intensity you really feel for the

guy.....

thats all, enjoy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 January 2011
Sadly, in the end, this film is nothing more than OK. What a shame!
The opening delivers such promise, as the viewer is plunged straight into action - witnessing an anonymous victim under vampire attack on a bleak rainy night - it's edgy, atmospheric, and dark. It provides a new malice, to the Twilight saga, as well as a "behind the scenes" account of events, not revealed in the book. An inspired stroke to keep book fans guessing and general film goers interested. As we are flown away from the sinister opening, and across the familiar lush green landscapes of Folks, to Edward and Bella in their meadow, it becomes apparent that this scene is not treated with the same enthusiasm or care, and despondently, as the film progresses, subsequent holes are evident, as "film to book" sections appear erratically change/omitted, rushed or lacklustre.

1: the Edward-Bella dynamic;
The intense Edward-Bella connection is almost unrecognisable as their enactments are played out differently (car, playground, initial return from Jakes, hand off, fight etc.) transforming their proven dynamic and characters. Edward becoming simply fragile, love sick or jealous, Bella indifferent.
Bella's resolute awe and longing for Edward has all but evaporated, not helped by altered scenes, and their inseparable and obsessive chemistry visibly absent - (the kidnappings, the party.) The bed scenes particularly, fail to convey Bella's lust and Edward's quandary - so beautifully exposed in Twilight.
In fact, she's seems randomly irritated at his presence and it exudes "break up". As such, there was simply no decision for Bella to make following Jacob's declaration of love; it seemed a very natural progression in this film. With no real upset from Bella at Jacob's kiss, and no apology scene (only in the extras,) it actually seemed inexplicable for Bella to remain with Edward, let alone marry him!

2: Edward's Character:
Edward's character in the film is, for me, also completely misplaced and practically obscured (i.e. mostly in the background wallowing.)
The Edward from the book is dynamic; (fervent, overprotective, omnipresent, commanding, composed, noble); but in the film, is substituted for only one dimension, soppy jealous teenager.
This lack of attention to his Character, is rife throughout his scenes, as his endeavours are twisted and vampire prowess, practically side-lined - despite full sunshine, only sporadic sparkles, although a mind reader/one of the best fighters, is knocked over by Carlisle and almost killed by Victoria/Riley (if it wasn't for bella?) and despite inhuman strength, is easy overpowered/pushed back and forth by everyone.
The only times we see glimpses of the accustomed Edward from the book, is the tent scene (which was well done) and start of the fight. As such his Character is an inadequate counterpart to Jacob's wolf - which makes the love triangle completely pointless and Edward's Character slightly redundant.

In the end, it felt for me, the Edward/Bella scenes are played out simply because that's the story, and only serve in becoming irksome, slowing down the pace/tension provided by the New Born's story line. The sad truth being, that if you cut out these Edward/Bella scenes it would probably still flow and make a better film. This is the reason why Eclipse is just OK - although aspects are of the film are good, even great, (new borns, backstories etc.) Edward and Bella are not, which is the whole point of Eclipse. I don't mind poetic licence when adapting a book however to add in/change/cut key integral scenes which ultimately change a person's characterisation - it lives you just disappointed.
Eclipse doesn't feel like Eclipse. Shame - with more care, or time in this area, it could have been brilliant - how frustrating!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on 8 December 2010
Wow. Considering this is one of the most favoured books of the series - this was a poor effort. The fact it was released at the Cinema so speedily after New Moon was a warning tell-tell sign already, and evidently - you can see it was RUSHED purely to keep up with the MANIA surrounding these books / films and make profit profit profit. Sadly, in the process - the film suffered from this, and it showed. The whole thing looked rushed and shoddy.

The first Director - who directed Twilight, captured her passion for the books and the telling atmosphere that Meyer wrote about in this little area of America - and made it visually haunting, mysterious and strangely beautiful. It's Forks. It rains alot, and its cold all the time. There were some fantastic shots of the landscapes in Twilight, and the use of the blue / violet filters on the cameras really set up a distinct atmosophere visually, in itself. However... in this film - most of the shots in Forks and the surrounding area look like California. Unusually sunny, despite geographically this should not be the case, and also despite the fact Stephanie Meyer hammered it into us in all the books that this place was freezing, and wet most of the time. The fact that already the film asthetically looked like another movie set - this cost the film any atmosphere it had left at all, and frighteningly so. I could see it coming in New Moon though, there were bits of it then... but not like this. Is the director ashamed of the world Stephanie created? No need, if your gonna mess around with the plot (which he did do) leave the atmosphere Stephanie captured us with in the books, and was captured perfectly well in the movie of Twilight. This is a moody story, let it be brooding and unusual from what's out there already in every box office.

Rosilie's back story, and Jasper's - just like the rest of the film were rushed heavily. Something seemed very wrong with the period-flashbacks. It looked like a phoney set with extras in obvious costume. Of course this was the case in film making reality, but everything looked brand new and 'animated' in period style - not quite real, not like the actors had 'lived' in those clothes, which can give a sense of reality and truth when its historically correct and the production source real antique clothing, or fine replicas. Surely they have enough money to employ a few historians to work with the costume department like in any film with a historic story or twist within it? Check out the scene where Rosilie is walking with her fiance in what looks to be a park... you'll know what I mean about the whole thing looking phoney. Jasper's flash-back scenes were equally as dissapointing. Despite being a fine actor, his southern american accent seems to get thicker and thicker as the film goes along. It just gave the impression the director was asking him to ham it up hard.

Could not take my eyes off Bella's wig... it was so obvious! Again, where was the money in this film? Did the cast and production team pocket it for more plasma tv's and indoor swimming pools - than on the actual film itself? This film looked shockingly cheap - and it was the Twilight movie that was apparently low budget! Just goes to show that time, sensitivity and effort can really make a film's quality. It just seemed like nobody working off set could be bothered - "It makes millions, why make the effort anyway?"

The graphics were pure cringe... as well as the wolves looking somewhat more Disney than they were in New Moon - the killing of the newborn vampire graphics were TERRIBLE. Stephanie describes Vampires skin to look like marble... but the director, once again didn't get it, and whenever a vampire got decapitated - say by the head and neck - it would look straight out of a cartoon in quality (seriously it looked like early 1990's graphics we laugh at today) and there were no physical innards! Not to love anything grizzily, but realistcally there wouldn't just be a beige slab for a neck like an actual broken statue! Despite vampires being technically dead, their bodily internal organs would still be intact... not magically dissapear! Who did they employ for graphics? A Fresher at University happy to work for free so they can spend more cash on the off-set buffet? Most of the scenes were done on blue-screen too, not on real locations like in the first film - which gave reality and depth. Again, blue-screen is actually cheaper to use funnily enough... but where have all the millions of dollars gone on this film? There were some amazing shots of landscapes on Twilight, but no they stay in a Hollywood studio set the majority of the time despite the fact they had so much more money than Twilight's production, and in some ways more artistic freedom because of this...

The kissing scene between Jacob and Bella is SUCH a crucial part in this story, in fact - that's what the first 2 books and films were leading to... and it was such a throw away scene in the film! Really, it seemed the actors couldn't be bothered and the Director couldn't either. There was no tension, no reference to Jacob's abnormally un-human body heat, his living heart opposed to Edward's cold, dead one... the whole scene was a limp, weak kiss to some god-awful music that could have been bought and played behind any scene from any action/romance film... no unique atmosphere with music choice unlike the Twilight film, as well as how the whole thing was shot. The actors, particularly Kristen and Robert seemed a bit bored, like most reviews are saying. I completely agree. The Volturi cast also made a poor monotone effort, and with Jane's obvious black eye makeup (when do Vampires have time to put slap on? Were the make-up artists trying to create a 'scary' look? Because it just looked phoney) and her brother looking frighteningly 'current' like Justin Bieber (I guess they sold out to catch more 12 year old fans) why bother having the Volturi as bad guys? And why had the new director ignored yet again the first person narration of events by Bella? Twilight kept the inner narration, but again, the Director wanted this to be like any other movie.

All in all the film was rushed, and it was all about making money rather than telling the STORY, like how it was done in Twilight. It's dissapointing when the director who had the balls to put it out there as a film in the first place doesn't continue with the series (and yes I'm also talking about Harry Potter!) and some other big shot Hollywood Cheese steps in and ruins what the author set out to create, and what the initial director was intent on retelling visually. I LOVED the books, and I LOVED Twilight the movie... but after the semi-let down of New Moon and this complete blag of a film... I'm really let down and feel the story has become a little tainted.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
78 of 90 people found the following review helpful
on 29 July 2010
I went to see this film, boiling over with excitement. I LOVE the books, and I LOVE Edwards character.
So I sat in the cinema, like a child at Christmas. 20 minutes into the film, it occurred to me that I
wasn't feeling so excited anymore. I enjoyed it, don't get me wrong. But something was seriously missing.
The first film totally absorbed me, New Moon was gripping and romantic,but this left me feeling like I wanted more.
I agree with some of the other reviews, there didn't seem to be any chemistry between Bella and Edward, the
whole reason for the story. In the first film, you can tell they actually found each other attractive, and it was exciting to watch. I didn't get that feeling in Eclipse. I felt deflated when I left the cinema, I had built it up in my head and it didn't live up to expectations. I really hope they sort this out before making Breaking Dawn. Does Stephanie Meyer get a say in how these films are made? If I had written those books, I would expect raw sizzling passion from the actors playing my main roles.
I actually felt it oozing from Kristen and Robert that they don't like being part of the Twilight thing anymore. The first film, they had no idea what it would become, and you can tell they enjoyed making it. But this time I could FEEL that they were almost just going through the motions of playing Bella and Edward for the pay cheque and can't wait for the whole thing to be finished so that they can go back to playing roles in "Independent" films. It's not good enough and it spoilt the film for me. I loved Jacob, and he outshone the pair of them put together, and I am Team Edward all the way!!! Sort it out for Breaking Dawn PLEASE!!!!
2323 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2012
What can I say about Twilight? I've never bothered much to read the books,or watch the movies for that matter, but I saw girls/women around me in awe about this. Edward this, Edward that, Robert Pattinson here and there. So after watching Vampire Diaries I got curious and started watching Twilight. Within 20 minutes I was hooked. Can't let go anymore, ordered the books, ordered all the movies there are and following everything now very closely.

Feel a little embarrassed because I'm a 35 y/o woman that is totally hooked on the characters (book as wel as the people portraying them on screen) and keep rewatching over and over and over again. I actually feel a bit empty inside when I'm done watching, so I start from the beginning again haha!

I love the story, the special effects in the movie, it's just such a great big love. You shouldn't overthink it all too much. I know people are saying well how stupid is that, she has to die in order to be with him, he is too protective and overbearing. But don't look at that. Look at why she wants to become a vampire and why he acts around her the way he does. It's their love. And that love is amazing and I would wish for everybody in the world.

So read the books, watch the movies. You'll have a lovestory for life :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
96 of 111 people found the following review helpful
on 4 July 2010
Eclipse is many people's favourite book in the Twilight saga (as it is mine), and so I had high hopes for a movie adaptation that pulled out all the stops, and it did just that.

The movie opens on a sinister note: a rainy night in Seattle, where a Forks boy, Riley, is attacked and changed by Victoria. Meanwhile, Bella and Edward are planning the future and he maintains that he will only change her if she agrees to marry him, after they are married. Jacob is still tormented by Edward's return, his feelings and the knowledge that Bella wants to become a vampire. At the same time, Charlie is alarmed by daily increasing reports of murders and disappearances in Seattle. This hasn't escaped the Cullens' notice and it soon becomes apparent that Victoria, still hell-bent on revenge, is creating an army of new-borns with which to destroy Bella and the Cullen clan.

Eclipse was a sensitive adaptation of the book- suspenseful and breathtakingly dramatic in the fight scenes, particularly where the wolves were involved (the graphics here are great). The movie wasn't too long nor did it feel rushed, there is more humour here than in full moon, which provides a counterbalance for the impending danger posed by Victoria and the Volturi. The dual romance between Bella and Edward and Bella and Jacob was also dealt with really beautifully. The scenes where Jacob keeps Bella warm in the tent the night before the fight, and when she finally admits her feelings for him, are both heart-meltingly magical. Kristen Stewart is more relaxed playing Bella now, there was less awkward restraint on her part in this movie and she's a lot more confident, despite her fragility. It goes without saying that Stewart is perfect as Bella, and she is absolutely beautiful in such a natural way whilst being seemingly oblivious to it. I loved too the way Jasper's and Rosalie's pasts were explored by the movie, and their previously sidelined characters become more understandable for us viewers. But for me, the film belonged to Jacob (Taylor Lautner). Lautner is that unusual actor who is devastatingly beautiful, likeable, incredibly talented and mature beyond his years, and I felt the beautifully written script was interpreted brilliantly by him, and the poignancy of Jacob's dual torment and passionate devotion to Bella is really tangible in his words without being tortured or angsty as you might expect in such a young actor.

All in all, a fantastic and thoughtful adaptation, guaranteed to satisfy even hardcore fans of the book.
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.