Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misleading reviews when this is a flawless product
Before I say anything I'll just say I picked these up for £49.99 as a lightning deal which was a complete bargain, it was 100% worth it.

There are a lot of reviews about this that complain about bass, muggy sound and things like that, but I promise you they're not the headphones, its just people not using them properly.

With headphones, especially...
Published 3 months ago by Aman S

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but just not for me.
Great sound from these headphones, cannot fault their performance. I just could not say they were comfortable to wear, after twenty minutes I wanted to take them off. Even though they claim to be over ear I could not fit them over my ears which mean the cups rested across the bottom of my ears causing pins and needles in my ear lobes after ten minutes.
I cannot fault...
Published 3 months ago by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misleading reviews when this is a flawless product, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I say anything I'll just say I picked these up for £49.99 as a lightning deal which was a complete bargain, it was 100% worth it.

There are a lot of reviews about this that complain about bass, muggy sound and things like that, but I promise you they're not the headphones, its just people not using them properly.

With headphones, especially premium ones, you have to be patient. Straight out the box the sound was disappointing BUT to me thats minor. You just have to plug them into something and leave music playing (preferably different genres) for at least 24 hours so the headphones "burn in" to properly allow the drivers to loosen up and perform how they should do (if something is designed to vibrate and it spends months not moving at all its obviously going to be stiff). After doing this an extremely noticeable improvement in audio quality occurs, Perhaps one of the most drastic improvements on any headphones I've owned (which is a lot).

After they've burned in if you're still not happy look at what you're plugging them into. The quality of audio from my iPod is much better than my phone so there's the sound improved further. Also your audio files, an MP3 at a low bit rate will sound awful in any half decent headphones let alone ones as premium as this. Aim for MP3's at 320Kbps for compressed audio. Even then if you're not satisfied look at your EQ preferences, I think these headphones really benefit from a treble increasing EQ, it honestly creates such a natural sound which still blows me away.

After you complete these steps and finetune the audio to your liking you can properly begin to critique the headphones.

The sound quality is phenomenal. Instrument separation is perfect, I can always tell what's being played at what time without straining, bass is present without overwhelming the rest of the tones creating a very satisfying umph behind the main tones of the music, the treble isn't over exaggerated and harsh on the ears, it just sounds natural. Mids are often lost in cheaper headphones, but not these, every tone is accurately reproduced and you will really hear the difference.

The headphones themselves are relatively heavy but not fatiguing to wear, the ear pads fit nicely around the ears and they are comfortable for long use. The build quality on the product is outstanding even the thin metal attaching headphone cup to headband feels so strong and this same strength applies to the carry case, and the cables.

I honestly cannot recommend these headphones, I've owned plenty earphones and headphones ranging from things like Klipsch Image x10i to Monster Gratitude in ears and none of them scratch what this headphone is.

To Summarise

Pros
+ Excellent, natural sound great for all music genres with multiple instruments (I listen to rock, metal, dance, indie and classical and some pop)
+ Very well built to the point where I don't see them breaking before the warranty period is over
+ Bundled case is great as you can hook it onto the outside of your bag so space isnt taken up inside and it has space for all the accessories and the headphones
+ Comes with a cleaning cloth, Cable with a mic/ 3-button control, longer cable with no control for things like a Hi-Fi
+ That it was only £49.99

Cons
- Sound has to be tinkered with (for me enjoyable but for most a nuisance)
- The cables are good quality but I don't think they Look as good as they possibly could
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look good, sound great, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recently purchased these in order to have a decent pair of headphones that went over your ears rather than in them. I looked around at various manufacturers and reviews and decided that V moda seemed to have everything needed to use not only on portable devices but for PC and hifi. I am not disappointed. I have used them on a samsung galaxy 3 and given the EU max volume limits they are still plenty loud enough and no amplifier is needed (in fact given the low resistance of the headphones an amp may well reduce sound quality). The differing sound styles the phone has are clearly very different through these headphones and the equaliser settings have a profound impact on the sound produced. I tried them on my sons i phone5 with one of his very bassy tracks and felt the rumble down either side of my neck. Finally I put them into the PC and played various styles of music from low to max volume. On max volume there was no distortion of the sound at the higher frequencies and a tiny tiny amount with the big bass tracks , but to be honest my ears were beginning to bleed and the bass rumble through neck and head may well have played apart in this apparent distortion. Deafness would ensue very quickly at those volumes anyway.
As for comfort and style they are brilliant. Soft ear cups and lightweight chassis make them easy to wear for hours and apparently you need to bed them in for 24 hours before max comfort is reached and the best sound produced.
All in all I really like them and don't feel that I have had to follow the Beats crowd to great sound.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V-MODA LP Around-Ear Stereo Headphone review by Dale, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
Dale Thorn (Seal Beach CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Sources: iPhone6+ with Portaphile Micro/PA2V2/Decware Zen Head amps using the LOD, various computers using Microstreamer/Beyer A200p/v-moda Verza DAC/amps.

Review notes: My first impressions of the sound of the V-MODA LP are based on direct comparisons to other headphones - the v-moda M100 and XS, the FAD Pandora VI and IV, the Beyerdynamic T1 and T90, the AKG K812 and K712, and notes that I've accumulated from many prior reviews. I'll describe how I relate to the LP (i.e. my personal tastes and how I use the headphone) only after covering all of the objective issues.

The LP's sound is dark and bassy, having less output in the presence area around 3-5 khz and more output in the upper bass than many other full-size headphones (ex: v-moda M100, Beyer DT770, etc.) Some of the other dark-sounding headphones I have do compete with the LP in overall presentation and balance, but don't always have the clarity and accuracy of tone that comes with the higher quality drivers and manufacturing standards that the LP benefits from. I can't say much more about the sound except that I re-tune it in a sense, using my favorite EQ app - Audioforge. That gives me the lower bass and upper treble to satisfy my hi-fi listening, and because of that higher quality construction I mentioned, the LP delivers that enhanced sound without distortion or muddiness - excellent clear sound in fact (see above chart or check my dalethorn website under Photos and Audioforge no.3.)

The LP's isolation is modest - possibly less than average for a full-sized closed headphone, but given the design to be used in environments where increased volume is the intent, not likely a concern outside of passenger jets or very noisy trains. Leakage is also moderate, and unlikely to be a problem when used on a train, bus, or jet plane, but if used in a public library or a very quiet office, volume would have to be kept below audiophile levels. My 4 v-moda M100's were black and white (2 each), but this time I got a rouge-red color with textured custom earcup plates. The LP looks so similar to the M100 (given similar colors) that most people probably wouldn't know the difference unless the M100 hinges were pointed out to them. The LP uses the same ultra-quality earpads as the M100, and those are a dream fit for me. Users who need larger or deeper earpads can buy the XL earpads for the LP, which I assume are installable the same as the M100 series.

This LP's darkish red colors are beautiful, and its military-grade look is not only very classy, the build quality is the best in the headphone business - all metal and perfectly finished, but not heavy on the head. At least part of the reason this LP is so comfortable is the design that's shaped to fit the head without anything sticking out like an astronaut helmet etc. The additional benefit of that design is the look - I've never seen a better-looking headphone on anyone's head. V-MODA's newer 'XS' headphone used the marketing slogan "Mind the Gap" to describe how that headphone was contoured to fit its users' heads more closely and securely than previous models, and especially its competitors' headphone models. But the LP certainly looked forward to that design, which is very apparent when you see just how closely it fits most heads. The LP's range of adjustment is slightly more than an inch on each side from where it fits me - about half an inch up or down.

My v-moda LP came with 2 cables, each about 2m long, one with a control box and one without. These are fabric-covered cables, and don't stick to clothing like many of the rubber cables do. The ends that detach from the earcups are generic miniplugs, so generic cables can be used as long as the sleeves ahead of the miniplugs are narrow enough to fit into the earcup socket. The business end of the cables are 45-degree angled miniplugs - the most ideal kind. This headphone came with a perfect stiff zippered carry case, slightly longer than the M100 case (since the LP doesn't have collapsible hinges like the M100 does), but about the same thickness, so it will fit into backpacks and most luggage easily. Note that when using the LP as a portable headphone, a carry case isn't essential, since the headphone can be pulled off the head and worn around the neck with the earcups pulled all the way down.

In previous reviews I've included the following music examples with comments about how the headphones sound with each track. My suggestion is instead of reading each one as an absolute unto itself, you could compare my notes here to those other reviews and see how the LP compares with each individual track. Note that the comments below apply to the LP's sound played with the Audioforge equalizer as noted above.

Animotion - Obsession (1980's New Wave/Techno): The upper bass synth has excellent detail and tone, and both male and female vocals sound natural without favoring either. The LP plays this very well.

Bauhaus - Bela Lugosi's Dead (~1980): Strong midrange sound effects - this is a good worst-case test for resonant-type sounds in the most sensitive midrange area. Handled perfectly by the LP.

Beethoven Symphony 9, Solti/CSO (1972): Excellent overall sound. Of special note here are the bass impacts beginning around 10:30 of the fourth movement. Those impacts are soft and well in the background, but you can really feel the weight they carry with the LP.

Black Sabbath - Iron Man (Classic Rock): Very good instrumental detail and the vocal sounds very natural. As with most classic rock tracks, there is very little or no deep bass. The LP plays this music smoothly, and the lack of deep bass doesn't unbalance the treble.

Boz Scaggs - Lowdown (1976): Great sound quality - this is a good test for any nasality in the midrange. Handled extremely well by the LP.

Cantus - Danny Boy (Traditional/Male Choral/Acapella): The LP plays the voices with enough low end warmth and weight to sound very natural, yet there is no added emphasis of the lower register of the male voices on this track.

Cath Carroll - Moves Like You (1980's New Wave/Techno): This track's percussion and voice are crisp and well-balanced, and there's a good sense of space or soundstage around the voices and instruments. The LP reproduces the space and detail very well.

Catherine Wheel - Black Metallic (~1991): Goth with industrial overtones - I like this since it's a great music composition and the sound effects are smoothly integrated into the mix. This may sound distorted or mushy with some headphones, but the LP renders the deliberate instrumental distortions clearly.

Chris Isaak - Wicked Game (Pop/Rock): The LP plays this high treble energy recording very smoothly - the voice and instruments are very detailed but not edgy - very musical in fact.

Chromatics - I'm On Fire (Synth-Pop, female lead): This track has a good amount of space around the voice and instruments, making for a very pleasant stereo image. The voice is excellent, and the tambourine is clearly recognizable.

David Hazeltine - Fur Elise (Jazz): A very high-quality recording from HDTracks. The LP reproduces the instruments smoothly with a spacious ambiance. The wire-brush-on-cymbal harmonics are normally very extended and detailed, but the LP needs some treble boost to get the full upper-harmonics effect.

Grieg (Beecham-Royal Philharmonic) - Peer Gynt-Solveig's Lullaby (Classical): This very old (late 1950's) stereo recording must have been made on the most expensive gear in the world, since the overall sound quality and especially Ilse Hollweg's amazing voice are as close to "being there" as I've heard with some of the better classical recordings made since the year 2000. The LP plays this music perfectly.

Hans Zimmer - Dark Knight-Aggressive Expansion (Soundtrack): The percussion in this track hits really hard, and the bass tones beginning around 0:45 have the ultra-deep "shuddery" kind of sound and feel that indicates a solid deep-bass response. The LP plays this music extremely well.

Heaven 17 - Let Me Go (1980's New Wave/Techno): The bass instrument (guitar?) has excellent detail, and the voices and ambiance have a "you are there" quality that's uncommon in early 1980's pop music. The LP plays this track perfectly.

Hugo Audiophile - 15-16 (Electronic): I'm not sure what the 15-16 stands for - perhaps track numbers from a CD album. The deep-bass tones that start around 33-34 seconds into the track reproduce very well with the LP. This is a great recording for evaluating whether a headphone's bass will be sufficient for most environments, since for many headphones that have a weaker bass, the deep bass gets absorbed and mostly lost when the environment contains a lot of low-frequency energy.

Jimmy Smith - Basin Street Blues (early 60's): This track has several loud crescendos of brass and other instruments that don't sound clean and musical with some headphones. The LP provides great detail. Listen particularly to the second crescendo at 15 seconds in for best-case detail. I'd like to emphasize that these crescendos are probably the worst-case test I have for instrument separation and detail, and the LP does those very well.

Kellogg Auditorium, Battle Creek Michigan, Aeolian-Skinner Organ (1933) - Pedal, 32', Resultant, Arpeggio: This 16 hz organ pedal tone differs from other music tones in that you won't "hear" the tone - you'll only feel it. Although most music tones have harmonics (including this one), the harmonics from this tone will be too weak to provide any "feel", so whatever you actually hear would not be part of the fundamental 16 hz tone. There are ~30 hz sounds in the outdoor environment in big cities, generated by large trucks, buses, and subway trains, and they have a quality of "rumble" that's similar to some deep-bass tones found in music. This 16 hz organ tone is easily distinguished from those sounds when compared on a headphone that has good undistorted response at 16 hz. The LP plays the fundamental tone pretty well, but not quite as detailed as some of the better planar headphones I've used.

Mantovani - Sunrise Sunset (Easy Listening, ca. 1972): A master musician and conductor who specialized in light classics and orchestral pop music, Mantovani's accomplishments were overshadowed by music critics who couldn't tolerate the notion of "light classics" or "semi-classical" music, even when those recordings were no threat to the classical music genres. In any case the later Mantovani recordings from the mid-1960's through mid-1970's had the advantage of being mixed for much better hi-fi systems than those which the music critics possessed at the start of the Long Playing (LP) record cycle. Here in 2014, at least some of those digital remasters have improved the sound further, although it's not always the case. This track as played on the LP is a perfect example of the sheer musicality lurking in those later recordings, and is highly recommended for soundstage, instrumental tone, and musical balance.

Michael Tilson Thomas - Rhapsody In Blue (20th Century Classic): Great sound and soundstage, and terrific piano playing and tone. There are some very deep bass impacts starting around 38 seconds into the 17:24 length track, and the weight of those impacts is fairly subtle with the LP.

Pinback - Non Photo Blue (Pop-Rock): Crispy sound with "crunchy guitars and bashing drums" - the LP renders this music as perfectly as I've heard an energetic pop-rock recording played with any headphone.

Porcupine Tree - Trains (Pop-Rock): This track opens with some nicely-detailed string sounds and a forward-sounding male voice with a higher-than-average register. There are a series of "clip-clop" effects starting at 3:19 that should sound like they were made with wooden blocks of some kind. The LP reproduces that sound effect perfectly.

Richard Strauss (Mester-Pasadena) - Also Sprach Zarathustra (opening) (Classical): The granddaddy of bass is in the opening 1:50 of this recording, and I've heard it only once on a large and expensive loudspeaker system in Cleveland. For most people, that experience would be indistinguishable from being in a fairly strong earthquake. The LP conveys that experience fairly well, but with less impact than some of the better planar headphones I've used. The Tympani also have good impact here.

Scarlatti-Kipnis - Sonata in E LP K381 (Classical, Harpsichord): The harpsichord here is normally fairly bright and detailed, but the LP needs some treble boost to render the tones and transients properly, and to reproduce the full upper harmonics of the harpsichord.

Tiger Okoshi - Bootsman's Little House (Jazz): The trumpet here is recorded fairly close up and is somewhat bright with a significant "bite". The LP's reproduction is near-perfect, and the close-miked piano is also a treat. For comparison, I have several Maynard Ferguson tracks that feature a similarly strong trumpet with lots of brassy bite.

Trombone Shorty - Backatown (Jazz-Funk): The deep bass impacts here are strong and work extremely well with the horns and other instruments. The LP delivers the impacts with great weight and detail, and the horns have the kind of bite that gives them a wonderfully realistic sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound quality, high quality frame, noise isolation, no leakage, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having used V-Moda headphones for around 4 years now, including the Crossfade LPs here, Crossfade LP2 and M-100s - I can only say that these are simply the best headphones available on the market today, even though relatively uncommon and classed as "designer headphones".

It's virtually impossible to find a fault with sound quality once the drivers are worn in (this process can take a few weeks if a light listener), especially if you're a bass head. For people that don't like too much bass, the headphones still provide great quality sound, particularly at the lower volumes, and the bass frequency may only be registered as slightly higher than usual. You do expect this from a good quality of headphones like this with such large drivers built almost specifically for boosting bass whilst not sounding artificial.

I think one of the best understated, and non-intentional features of these headphones is the ability to isolate background noise. It's not active, it's not passive - they're not even meant to do it. However, the seal that the headphones provide around the ears along with the high quality frame and subsequently tight fit do provide a quite nice level of isolation.

Sound leakage is minimal, but please note that they do have the "V Vents" on the side which leak a tiny bit of noise. The headphones are of course capable of playing extremely loud, almost like speakers with an amp without losing quality, at which point they would obviously leak noise like anything else.

The build quality of the headphones is impeccable with one downside only. At the tips of the headband is a plastic inner cover which *will* crack over time on the LPs. I have witnessed this in all 6 Crossfade LP headsets that I and others have used and it is simply caused by the repetitive stress placed on the ends of the band when you place them onto your head. I'm not sure why V-Moda haven't fixed this, but they do have their "Immortal Life" program if you feel you need a replacement at any time.

The headphones come with 2 cables (one with a single-button mic), a carry case, and a caribiner clip to carry on your belt, though the case is pretty chunky so not really that useful.

I can highly recommend these headphones, and if you're willing to spend a little more money for more features (such as folding into a smaller case, headphone chaining (it has an input/output on either side) and more refined soundspace) I would also highly recommend the M-100s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleasing to the ears!, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After buying these I read a few other reviews on other sites and they weren't all as positive as I expected. Most were on audiophile sites though and I suspect that the standards expected by those carrying out the test are ridiculously high!

Since receiving mine I have enjoyed numerous hours listening to very varied music and I can honestly say that I'm over the moon with them. The bass is nice and deep without distortion at volume, mids are clear and not muddied by the bass at all and the highs are crisp and clear.

I have had numerous sets of high quality headphones from the likes of Sennheiser and Pioneer and these are easily comparable. Overall a fantastic pair of good quality headphones, very comfortable and feel built to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live Play - for fans of live music, 1 Sept. 2014
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I you enjoy live gigs as much as recorded music you may find that the V-Moda Crossfade LP headphones are just right for you. The LP stands for Live Play and if you find your recorded music collection sounds a bit flat after being at a live gig then the sound balance of these headphones can help redress the balance. The LP model is far from being a neutral studio reference headphone but packs an awesome audio punch that will make you wonder why your ribcage isn't vibrating along with the bass!

Now, although I'm not a huge fan of the bass you can get from some celebrity-endorsed headphones I find the bass from the V-Moda LP is extended rather than boomy and can hit low frequencies that other headphones struggle with. The whole balance of the sound is like being next to the PA stack when your favourite band is playing live. I listen via headphones quite a lot and although I wouldn't use the V-Moda LP all the time, when I'm in the mood for a bit of extra excitement in my listening they are my first choice.

As well as their distinctive sound they are as tough a set of headphones as you are likely to encounter. They come with a solid protective case, two connecting cables - Apple and others - a 1/4" jack adapter and even a cleaning cloth! Tough, very stylish and with a unique sound signature I would recommend the V-Moda very highly to fans of live music - I love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, but just not for me., 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great sound from these headphones, cannot fault their performance. I just could not say they were comfortable to wear, after twenty minutes I wanted to take them off. Even though they claim to be over ear I could not fit them over my ears which mean the cups rested across the bottom of my ears causing pins and needles in my ear lobes after ten minutes.
I cannot fault the quality and sound from these headphones,they were just not right for me, so I have returned them. A shame because I wanted to like them because of the great sound, but I need something I can wear for longer than ten minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Regrets, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really awesome pair of headphones- great sound quality and look good too! Nice long cables so no movement limitations. Minimal (and I really mean minimal) sound leakage during playback.
My only issue is the angular headphone jack on the cables. For some reason it doesn't quite fit all the way in to my Samsung Galaxy S3 and I only get sound from one ear when this happens. This means I can't use my inline headset cable with my phone as it doesn't work if you plug the lead in the other way around. It's a shame, but only a minor issue when compared with the greatness that is these headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant headphones, I have had these for well over ..., 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant headphones, I have had these for well over a year now and they are still my main set of headphones. I use them for PC gaming and for portable HI-FI.

The foam cups are the most comfortable I have ever found on a set of headphones and they clamp over your ears nicely to isolate the sound.

The drivers are VERY powerful, I use an external portable DAC and amplifier with my ipod on them and the volume these things can go to and the bass they put out is insane. I can actually take them off crank up the external amp and use them as speakers they are that loud and clear.

Anyhow, the listening experience especially with a decent DAC is fantastic, at first the sound a bit muffled with very heavy bass and supressed mids and highs, but after 100 or so hours and loosening them up they just sound better every time.

If you are into your bass heavy music these are a must, I tried them without my external DAC and AMP and even on a standard IPOD the bass reproduction was very nice.

I listen to all types of music and these can produce a clear, soothing sound or a thumping club like sound whenever you want.

They look very smart too, especially with the polished plates on the ear cups. They aren't too heavy either although they do clamp on your head tightly. Sometimes after extended gaming sessions they can make the top of my head ache a bit.

Build quality is great, all metal frame with thick plastic shell, although a very small corner since the 1000's of hrs use has chipped off of the case just near the metal mount for the ear cup.

Very smart, brilliant sounding high quality headphones, a must for any bass head or gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend., 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V-MODA Crossfade LP Over-Ear Noise-Isolating Metal Headphones - Phantom Chrome (Electronics)
In my opinion these headphones are able to handle most music genres very well although the bass does need taming using equalizers for some. Beautifully presented and a good solid buy for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews