Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!
This album was a purchase for an opera-loving relative. She absolutely loves it. She particularly commented on the quality of the singers/soloists, which sometimes on compilations like this can be patchy. Also the great variety of music on offer, with one disc dedicated to overtures. Overall, a great purchase especially at such a reasonable price. Definitely recommended
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by C.H: Spain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad collection
This is a nice collecting, but many recordings are very old, meaning you can't fully enjoy the sound. But on other hand it is indeed very cheap.
Published 1 month ago by SST


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful!, 1 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
This album was a purchase for an opera-loving relative. She absolutely loves it. She particularly commented on the quality of the singers/soloists, which sometimes on compilations like this can be patchy. Also the great variety of music on offer, with one disc dedicated to overtures. Overall, a great purchase especially at such a reasonable price. Definitely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Oldies, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Goodness knows where some of these recordings were found but it's true to say that they are real Golden Oldies, Mario Lanza, Maria Callas, Joan Hammond and the 'best pairing ever' for the Pearl Fisher's Duet of Jussi Bjorling and Robert Merrill (every recording since, and there are many, pales into insignificance,). It contains something for everyone - arias we all know and love and in some cases, even sing along with, it's irresistable. Even if one is not an opera buff - some operas are truly boring - this collection has all the best bits. The reproduction is good, we don't have a fantastic sound system but the sitting room is full of well-balanced sound and the Bose system in my car makes it sound even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful selection, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
Jonathan J. S. Brown "JJSB" (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Very pleased with this selection mostly of singers from the middle of the 20th century. Many of them are very good indeed and it is sobering to realise just how good many of them were compared with the modern superstars. For example there are a number of recordings of Bjorling in great voice and I can understand why one poll put him as the greatest singer of the century but there are many others who rate very highly indeed. Amazing value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SINGERS FROM A GOLDEN AGE, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
G. R. Horne Esq (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
100 Opera Hits is excellent value for money in that it gives the opportunity to hear some of the great singers from the post-war years and shows up the rather over-praised moderns. On the tenor front there is plenty of the incomparable Jussi Bjorling, fine examples of the quality of the early Di Stefano, Mario del Monaco , the wonderful Carlo Bergonzi and the rather wayward but thrilling, Mario Lanza. Add the sopranos Renata Tebaldi, Callas, Victoria De los Angeles and Sena Jurinac plus some of the leading baritones such as Robert Merill and Tito Gobbi and you have a wide selection to enjoy. There are a few tracks from some who might be called good second raters but , all-in-all, a selection well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 199 Hits - Opera, 3 Sept. 2012
By 
Helen Lore Zetter "helen zetter" (wisboroughgreen w.susex u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Fab.Another great buy!Considering the price,to get hours of music it is just great.Certainly there are some discs I like better than others but certainly I would not change my choice of package.The little booklet within the pack I find very useful too,as the music that I am not that keen on can be looked up and skipped without reading pages of description for each work.I do find it is so easy to buy such inexpensive packages through Amazon rather than standing about searching in record shops while they blast out the latest pop discs in which I am just not interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Foundation for Listening to Opera, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
This boxed set represents incredible value including, as it does, some of the greatest recorded performances of many of the standard arias, choruses and orchestral interludes. There are many tracks of jussi Bjorling and Maria Callas including some performances that have never been matched. Jussi Bjorling in Nessun Dorma,the Flower Song, O Paradiso and the famous performance of the duet from the Pearl Fishers with Robert Merrill. Maria Callas in Casta Diva, Vissi D'Arte. And there are tracks with Kirsten Flagstad, Renato Tebaldi, Elizabeth Schwartzkopf, Tito Gobbi, Luigi Alva Guiseppe Di Stefano, Mario del Monaco and even a few to remind us just how good Mario Lanza could be. The quality of the recordings is variable since some are quite old; some are excellent and none is unacceptable. If you want to get to know more about Opera you cannot do better than buy this box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Introduction to Opera, 14 July 2012
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
At about 7p per track you cannot go wrong here and this set is a great introduction to Opera. Listen to it to see what sort of operas you want to explore in more detail and what you don't like. Some of the tracks sound fairly old, but most are of good audio quality. Great value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FISHING FOR PEARLS BEYOND PRICE, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
Other reviewers have concentrated rightly on the quality of the singers, most of whom have been selected from the top ranks of what must truly have been a golden age of opera. Let me instead praise the wonderful accompaniments, by some of the greatest orchestras and conductors of the age, in a choice of arias, choruses and overtures that could not be bettered. This is wonderful music that alternately thrills, soothes and caresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars opera fanatic, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
delighted with your choice of recording.-use them at home and driving to work-would love to have a write-up with each record-a wee story with each recording would have been helpful as my knowledge of both french and italian are practically nil. thank you for what i got. john red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 opera hits, 16 Mar. 2012
This review is from: 100 Hits - Opera (Audio CD)
very pleased with both the content and the great value, I have just joined a community choir and many of thye pieces I have to learn are on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits - Opera
100 Hits - Opera by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews