Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any Product Owner
The role of the Product Owner is the arguably the most misunderstood role in Scrum, but equally the most pivotal to the success of any Scrum project. I see this book as a must read for anyone considering doing this role or needing help in doing it better. Roman's examples and analogies help clarify the role and responsibilites required to help teams and organisations...
Published on 3 July 2010 by Paul Goddard

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be much better
Roman Pichler's Agile Product Management with Scrum is aimed for people that already have prior knowledge of both product management and scrum. In practice the book is 95% about scrum and only 5% about product management. The focus is on the role the product owner in the scrum development endeavor. The subtitle "Creating Products that Customer Love" is quite misleading as...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Niklas Kari


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be much better, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Niklas Kari (Helsinki) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Roman Pichler's Agile Product Management with Scrum is aimed for people that already have prior knowledge of both product management and scrum. In practice the book is 95% about scrum and only 5% about product management. The focus is on the role the product owner in the scrum development endeavor. The subtitle "Creating Products that Customer Love" is quite misleading as the book doesn't deal much with how to extract insight from the market. For instance the chapter on how to create product vision was only four pages even if it had references to a fairly substantial literature.

Having read this book after reading Mike Cohn's book Succeeding with Agile was somewhat of a disappointment as quite much of the content was the same. Of course Pichler's book was much more focused, but what it lacked in breadth compared to Cohn's book, it didn't make up in depth. At only 118 pages + some prefaces, indexes and similar the book was at times shallow and had brief treatment on topics that would have benefitted of more in-depth discussions and examples. I think the author had endorsed the idea of minimal marketable product. Nevertheless, I don't regret reading the book as it was to easy read and there were many good points, but it didn't impress me.

I recommend this book only because at the moment it appears to be the best book on the product owner role. But I would expect the next edition, or should I say release, of the book to be significantly enhanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any Product Owner, 3 July 2010
The role of the Product Owner is the arguably the most misunderstood role in Scrum, but equally the most pivotal to the success of any Scrum project. I see this book as a must read for anyone considering doing this role or needing help in doing it better. Roman's examples and analogies help clarify the role and responsibilites required to help teams and organisations build great products. The product owner role shouldn't be taken lightly and this book puts the required amount of emphasis on how applying that role effectively maximises the chances of Scrum succeeding in organisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable resource for Agile Product Owners/Managers, 2 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best books on software product ownership or product management that I have come across. Certainly one of the most accessible. At around 160 pages there is enough detail to explain the concepts and provide some good examples from the Author's professional experience without labouring any of the points or digressing from the core subject matter.

Roman gives a well rounded and thorough overview of the Product Owner role within the SCRUM framework, covering the responsibilities and tasks in an appropriate level of detail. There is a lot of information about putting the concepts and principles of SCRUM into practise and getting the most from your team(s), with an appropriate emphasis on empowering the scrum team, the product owner and the stakeholders.

Thoroughly recommended for those new to the Product Owner role, but also as a reference to those who've been working this role for some time. I fully expect to keep referring back to this book during my work as a Product Owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book on Agile Product Management, 6 Oct 2010
A great book for anyone transitioning into the role of a Product Manager or as reference to those who have done the job for some time. I've purchased a few copies for my team and it serves as a great way for all involved to understand how a Product Manager fits into the Scrum process and how they add value. I'd like to see more from Roman on this subject. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to subject and very practical, 19 Dec 2011
I came to this book as someone who has a basic understanding of Product Management, but with a far deeper background in Product Strategy, Marketing and Selling. I have recently joined a company that uses Agile and Scrum, which I was aware of, but did not have a detailed understanding and now need to not only manage the parts I am familiar with, but also many aspects of Product Management itself. I needed a book to provide me with some knowledge, tools, inspiration, etc to both manage my organisation and critically allow me to do some "do-ing" too!

Don't be fooled by the slimness of this book, this book packs a punch with lots of great content to orientate the reader on what Scrum and Agile are, how Product Management works in this context and the tools and approaches to use to do this. It is laden with practical advice, including tips so you can identify when you are doing things wrong! The book is very accessible and is one that I keep returning to as I work on different parts of the Product Management process with different products in our portfolio.

Don't be surprised if this challenges existing thinking in your Development organisation too on how Scrum and Agile should be used. This book will give you any number of "lightbulb moments" as to why not only Product Management needs to change, but how Development needs to change, even where Scrum is already being used to allow you to become a far more flexible organisation focused on delivering customer value. THis book gets a BIG 5 STARS easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for Scrum practitioners, 17 May 2010
This is a great book for Scrum practitioners. As well as emphasising the previously much-ignored role of the product owner, it also makes great further reading for anyone who is using Scrum and wants to "grow up" with it more.

The book is written in an easy, readable and informative style. There is much anecdotal content, and refreshingly, Pichler doesn't avoid expressing opinions based on his obvious wealth of experience as a Scrum consultant and coach.

As a Scrum master I have been involved in many Scrum projects over the years, but I found this filled in some gaps, and answered some questions for me. The emphasis on the Scrum Product Owner means that there is a lot of advice in the book which is germane to product release. This after all is what Scrum is about, and although this should be essential reading for anyone wanting to be a product owner, I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has any role (or who is a stake holder) in a Scrum team.

Pichler tackles such issues as handling non-functional requirements and investigative tasks in the product backlog and sizing and detailing stories. He also discusses the large scale problems like having hierarchies of product owners, coping with dependencies across multiple Scrum teams and presenting product road maps to upper management, or customers, without violating the principles of Scrum. He also presents some interesting metric approaches for measuring velocity to address the "lack of predictability" problem that some teams find with Scrum.

There is good coverage of the importance of product visions, how much and how little to add, as well as recommending some techniques for verifying and creating them.

As well as clearly stated, sage advice throughout, there is also a list of anti-patterns or common mistakes at the end of each section, which will be all too familiar to anyone who has worked on a Scrum project. An excellent tool for pointing out to other team members that they are doing it wrong, without getting personal!

Absolutely required reading for any product owner wanting to ship successful products, and highly recommended for anyone who is using Scrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable help for Product Owners, 18 April 2010
By 
Geoff Watts (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am really pleased that this book is now available as it is long overdue. I have read Roman's online posts and this book continues his history of giving sound advice by providing some very clear and understandable advice for the Product Owner role. The advice isn't necessarily easy to implement and I take some kind of comfort in that as the Product Owner role is not an easy role. I also like the size and shape of the book which makes it very easy to read and carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and not too big, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Hadrian Parry (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just the right size of book if you need to get your head around the subject well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and a good value, 20 Jan 2011
This book is an excellent source for Agile Product Owners. It is well-written and practical. I bought the book a few months ago, have read it twice, and implemented many of the ideas presented. It is not only a good and fun read, but more importantly, it is structured in a manner that allows for personal reflection and growth. It is one of my best reference library books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect guide to the Product Owner's world, 7 Nov 2010
Since Product Owner is the pivotal role on the scrum project, Product Owner who knows his/her job is a mere guarantee of the product's success. Roman has made an absolute guide how to become a successful product owner.
I would certainly recommend reading book also to Scrum Masters and basically anyone practicing Scrum. I believe that part of Scrum Master's job is in some part to help and guide product owner through the scrum process. Reading this book, helps Scrum Master understand the world of Product Owner better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews