Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!
Play this wonderful CD and forget all your troubles. Wonderful 20's/30's tunes to lift your spirit. Don't miss to buy!
Published 18 months ago by M Evans

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could be better
Bought this after purchasing the excellent DVD of the TV series but was disappointed with the small amount of songs on the CD. There are other compilations out there offereing a lot more but I expected this to be the closest to the TV version as it had pictures from the TV series on the cover. However it states "music from and inspired by the TV series" so not as good as...
Published on 21 July 2010 by bada Bing


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could be better, 21 July 2010
By 
bada Bing "George" (Cockfosters. Herts.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
Bought this after purchasing the excellent DVD of the TV series but was disappointed with the small amount of songs on the CD. There are other compilations out there offereing a lot more but I expected this to be the closest to the TV version as it had pictures from the TV series on the cover. However it states "music from and inspired by the TV series" so not as good as it could be. I dont know why the BBC did not put out the equivalent of the 3 LP version that was avaliable years ago.

So overall not bad, some good songs but a bit of a let down and there are better compilations out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Opportunity Missed, 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
The first 16 tracks are from Volume 1 of the vinyl LP from 1978 (EMI) the other 9 tracks are a selection which must have been considered appropriate. I cannot see why the second LP which contained 18 tracks "More Pennies from Heaven" could not have been included and released here as a double CD. Decca released in their Vintage Series a double LP in 1978 which contained 29 tracks and incidentally there were no duplications. I am aware that there are other CDs available but this is a great opportunity missed (to release both LPs onto CD) Unfortunately this CD does fall short of the initial releases in 1978. A great pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!, 26 Feb 2013
By 
M Evans "Marilyn" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
Play this wonderful CD and forget all your troubles. Wonderful 20's/30's tunes to lift your spirit. Don't miss to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
Great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
brought this has i thought it was the same as the orignal version i had on cassette in the 80s
it isnt but still a good cd and a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great old tunes, 9 Oct 2013
By 
S. D. Thatcher (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
Great music from times gone by -pity todays music will not last as long as these tunes a must for everyone collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
was a gift for my husband, as he enjoys this music.he is pleased with it,was in good condition when received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music to my ears, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
This is a great CD. I love the music from the thirties inspired by the classic TV drama Pennies from Heaven. I saw Potter's masterpiece as a boy on BBC television. I also have the vinyl album somewhere.. However the CD contains far more tracks. Listening to it evokes happy sunshine memories of a bygone age when people were polite and dreamed of better things to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Breath Of Fresh Air, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
I've had this really jolly little tune stuck in my head on and off, it's been there since I worked in Oddbins back in the 90's. I couldn't remember the title or where the song was from. Then it came back to me, it was something from Pennies From Heaven. So, I flicked through the track list and found Painting The Clouds With Sunshine.
This album is full of cheery little ditties from the 30's and put a huge smile on my face. If you need cheering up a bit, get yourself a copy and listen to some "proper" songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pennies from Heaven, 8 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Pennies From Heaven (Audio CD)
I was inspired to buy this after seeing the excellent ballet of Pennies from Heaven in Glasgow recently. A charming album which I've played frequently since I got it. Used to have it on vinyl but all my vinyl collection went to charity shops when I bought my Bose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pennies From Heaven
Pennies From Heaven by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews