Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2009
Like walking into your favourite pub and seeing most of your best friends. The perfect blend of established favourites and new music (for me). The musicians, "old and new", are many of the finest on their different scenes, and the exchange between them adds a new dimension to every track. We share the fun they had making it. Congratulations to Pelicula and Whirlie. When is Transat 2 coming out? and 5 & 6?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
I have been enjoying the BBC4 series and wanted a permanent memento. This album has provided it.

The standard of musicianship is very high and the participants' evident enthusiasm rings out, loud and clear.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone seeking beautiful and unpretentious music played at a very exacting level.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
Once again an amazing gathering of musicians reading like a proverbial "who's who".
Its an eclectic mix especially some of the Americans who are less from the folk tradition and one or two of the songs are "interesting" with pipes/fiddles et al in the backing when perhaps the original arrangements were more electric. None the less the performances are all great and provided you are not expecting a "traditional" scots or irish acoustic sound then its really enjoyable. I have not stopped listening to series 3 and I think series 4 is also going to be regular in the CD player.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
Thanks to the magic of Amazon's distribution system, my DVD arrived just before Christmas. It must be every exile's dream to have these guests around the `hearth' at this time of year. The in-house laddies: Jerry, Aly, Russ, Michael, Ronan, Phil, Donald, Danny, Todd, and James (when will he get his own `spot'?) are in fine form, while the lassies: Julie, Karen, Jenna (looking even more beautiful), Mairead, Allison, Emily, Martha, Rosanne, must be what the Guardian meant by "looks as good as it sounds". For me the standout tracks are the instrumentals: Allan and Ronan dueting on pipes (Allan on Northumbrian pipes?); Jerry on "unionhouse Branch'; Aly's medley in Programme 4, and Ronan's amazing `Black, Black, Black'. The spirit of John Martyn seems to be present in Liam O Maonlai, while Allison Moorer really captures the spirit of the exile's lament in `Carrickfergus'. My only criticism would be the lack of banjo - surely the ultimate Transatlantic cross-over instrument (would have sounded great with Russ Barenberg's `The Pleasant Beggar'), also Donal and Phil should sing more often (and play bouzouki together!). Hope my Transatlantic 5 arrives by next Christmas!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
What more could you ask for? Superb musicianship, excellent songs and detailed arrangements. The recording quality is top notch and the whole package is a great addition to anyone's music collection. Can't wait for Vol. Two to come out...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
Just can't stop watching and listening to those great musicians. Wish I had been among them.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
fast delivery and great CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Fine musicianship
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)