Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2011
I was initially underwhelmed by this after my first listen but it's one of those CD's that gradually creeps up on you and you suddenly find yourself wondering why you ever doubted it's pedigree?
Steeped in 60's girl/harmony group sensibilities, it's bedrock is Liz's beautiful vocals and although none of the songs are especially stand-outs in their own right, the album as a whole is joyously gentle and uplifting.
There are numerous handclaps, bababa backing vocals ,restrained orchestration and flurries of brass.
"I want you back" and "Can't understand" are very catchy and "The one who left me" is slightly more quirky but still within their comfort zone.
My favourite tracks are saved for the final two "All i wanna do" where Liz hits top form and "I don't believe in love" which has a (fragile) male vocal opening, which is a nice change and perhaps could have been used more, before Liz takes over again to finish the album in style.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
A beautiful debut album by this Septet from Cardiff, which includes all songs from their previous 7" and EP for Elefant. Great production from Ian Catt as usual.

Catchy Indiepop with lovely vocals from Liz and strong 60`s girl-group references.

Highly recommended for Camera Obscura and Belle & Sebastian lovers.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
I have to say I'd never heard of this band, but heard them on radio randomly and loved their 1960's girl band kind of sound. The highlight is probably let it slip (the first song) but the whole album offers a range of happy clappy upbeat songs that make you want to tap your feet and drink some pimms. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
This album is perhaps not dissimilar in spirit to the eponymous, Sarah-Records-influenced debut by The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, though, with their 60s sensibility, The School are more Ronettes than C86. It should surprise no-one, then, to read in the album notes that "Loveless Unbeliever" was produced by Ian Catt, who has worked with the likes of The Field Mice.

The School's closest cousins are Spectorish, 6os-referencing girl groups. You'll be filing "Loveless Unbeliever" next to Camera Obscura, California Snow Story and early Belle & Sebastian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
On paper 'Loveless Unbeliever' has everything - 60s girl group roots, breezy indie attitude, St Etienne's producer at the helm, and the doe-eyed singer on the cover - but somehow it adds up to less than the sum of its parts. The songs are standard girl-moons-over-boy fare, in keeping with their pop purist pretensions, but the tunes lack the grit that could turn them into pearls: only a few tracks like the gloriously swooning single 'Let It Slip', 'Shoulder' and the 'Wishing & Hoping' rip-off 'Hoping & Praying' really stand out. I really wanted to like this but it isn't there yet; it's more Tracey Ullman than Dusty Springfield. As teachers were once allowed to say, The School 'must try harder'.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
Loveless Unbelievers is a good popy Indie album I give it four stars out of five . I would recomend it for easy listening with a good deal of quality songs .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
I recently bought this vinyl (red) and I'm listening to it. What a great band; The instrumentation is just fantastic, the singer has a very nice voice, so sweet.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)