Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes "read" is better....
This is probably not the most sophisticated or deeply plotted Stephen King book - it is one of his early works and that shows. Pet Sematary is, however, the most absorbing and haunting novel I have ever read and is full of a black humour that remains with you long afterwards.
The concept is simplicity itself - happy all-American family move to their dream house in...
Published on 18 Feb 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pet Sematary
My first Stephen king book. Good read. Not very scary so will try another book from this author. Loved the ending.
Published 4 months ago by Crystal


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Kindle Edition)
Read this book years ago as an avid fan of Stephen King. It is still as wonderfully terrifying as it was before. Brilliant writing and a pure spine chiller. Still his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Kindle Edition)
I have not read many better books than this; not only has it been one of my favourite reads from Stephen King, it comes only second to "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?" overall.

The pace the book sets is exactly what you expect from King, with 200 pages of scene setting, 150 pages of build up and 50 pages of climax. What sets this book apart though is the horrifying description and story. The story is taken to eerie limits of graphic detail and drama.

Read this book... if you read anything by Stephen King it should be this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet Sematary, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Kindle Edition)
Outstanding novel, a favourite from my teenage years. Will never tire of it. Don't read it before you go to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling and excellent, 24 Dec 2012
By 
R. Worrod (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Kindle Edition)
If you already like Stephen King you're bound to have read this as it's one of his best. Brilliantly written and wonderfully chilling! The night I finished it there was a massive storm which caused one of the shutters bang on our window and I had to send my husband to sort it out as there was no way I was going anywhere on my own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any horror or King fan., 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Kindle Edition)
I saw the film years before I read the book, which I have in a hard copy from years ago. The read, as with the majority of book/film stories is far superior. I needed it on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy as hell, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
This is IMO the creepiest of King's books. As usual the premise is fantastical, but that's not the issue... it's the subject matter i.e. the loss of a pet / member of your family. King nails it completely with his usual knack of speaking for everyman at the worst point in that person's life.... I can forgive a lot of plot/story wildness if the characterisation is perfect and the emotions are spot-on. Don't read late at night. Don't read if you have a newborn child. But do read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING!, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
A brilliant book that draws you in right from the beginning; typical Stephen King horror! Definitely worth a read if this is your type of genre, a must read for any avid King fan! The product itself arrived quickly and was in mint condition! Worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best last page ever, 19 May 2010
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
I read this book many years ago and I have never forgotton the impact the last sentence in the book had on me. Nowadays when I'm in a bookshop I can never resist opening a copy of this book and reading the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More like a film than a novel, 12 Dec 2000
By A Customer
A book about death, about what it is to be a man, a husband and a parent. About how parents try to sheild and protect their kids from the realities of life, and death. About how, ultimately, parents have to let their kids go. In this respect, reminscent of "Catcher in the Rye" when Holden relaises he has to stop trying to sheild his little sister. A great read but not necessarly a great novel. At times, reads too much like a film screenplay and all the "cross cutting" scenes towards the end are illustrative. But a good book and more than just a simple horror read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Stephen King's Best, 23 Oct 2004
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
Fantastic book. Really scary. Hard to put down. Do not read when 'Home Alone'.
Story about a youngish family who move to Maine. Seems ideal but from the very beginning there are some very creepy happenings.
Steven King has wrote this book with such depth of feeling that you feel the tragedies are your own. In all his books he makes the supernatural seem incredibly real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pet Sematary
Pet Sematary by Stephen King
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews