Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just read the whole book in 24 hours - excellent
I might be biased as I am a Stephen King fanatic but these are his best short stories yet. If you enjoy his work you will love these. If you are new to Stephen King and not sure if you will like his stuff then I would recommend this set of short stories as an introduction. As King is getting older (he turned 60 this year) these stories have a running theme throughout of...
Published on 16 Nov 2008 by L. Grace

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped
A few years ago I had read Everything's Eventual : 14 Dark Tales, a collection of 14 short stories by Stephen King. For years I had been a big fan of Stephen King's novels, and I had always enjoyed short stories as a genre. Therefore I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Stephen King is not only able to write book-long narrative thrillers, but was equally if not...
Published on 12 Jun 2011 by Dr. Bojan Tunguz


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 30 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Paperback)
I do like short stories and as Stephen King's full length books can be over long I had hoped this would be a good read. I must say they are all quite readable stories but the quality does vary - some are much more enjoyable than others - so only three stars I think would be a fair assessment - worth a read but not his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A writer of substance, 28 Dec 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Hardcover)
I have to confess that to a certain extent I miss the old days when Stephen King had a simple aim when writing. Scare the reader as much as you can. This has all changed and although he retains the ability he seems more interested in structure & character development. Rather than outright scares the short stories here are either fairly straightforward thrillers or slightly weird. Beneath them all is a strong sense of melancholy & what might have been.
The beauty here is a variety of styles, from a strong sense of Ray Bradbury 'other worldliness' to the best murder thriller writers. King has a superb ability to describe settings and characters emotions in a detail that draws the reader in & makes a connection between you and those being described.
The plots here vary wildly & some are just a brief look at a moment in the lives of others, such as the writer who must decide whether to intervene in a domestic incident or the middle aged couple whose lives have hit a rut but who are about to be torn about by the husbands dream. The decision to finish this particular story just at the point it is about to hit it's stride is both frustrating & inspired. It's just one idea out of many that are original & keep this collection lively.
They don't all work but thats not because there are dull stories in here but rather just such a wide spectrum it would be odd if they all appealed to everybody. So it makes sense that there is likely to be something in here you will enjoy.
In truth King writes best when slowly unfolding his ideas across a full novel. Although a more than capable short story writer it's not his best medium. That said for my money this is a really enjoyable collection that keeps you hooked for 'just one more tale' & continues to entertain. I would say it was also a book you could happily return to & read again.
To compare Kings latest releases with what's gone before is an impossible task that bears little fruit but this is a worthy addition to his, (vast), resume & leaves him comfortably positioned as one of the finest writers on every years best-sellers list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag but overall good Stephen King, 5 Dec 2008
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Hardcover)
Stephen King's output has been a little patchy for the past few years. This has meant that whenever a new book of his comes out my first thoughts are 'is this going to be good Stephen King, okay Stephen King or just plain poor Stephen King?'

With Just after Sunset the answer to that question would be that it is all three - good, okay & poor.

Just after Sunset is a collection of 13 (a very bad number, according to a character in one of the tales) short stories. A few are not very good. I didn't like Harveys Dream, Graduation Afternoon or Willa. The latter is the weakest of the lot and as it is the first story it doesn't get the book off to a very promising start. A few are not bad. Not great, but okay. The Cat from Hell, Ayana and Stationary Bike come into this category. The majority though, are excellent, almost on a par with anything Stephen King as written previously. Gingerbread Girl, N, Rest Stop, Mute and A Very Tight Place are all excellent little stories. Most of these could have been puffed out and made into book sized novels but their sheer brevity makes them both punchy and powerful.

In the introduction, Stephen King tells us that writing short stories was an ability that at one time he had lost. Stephen Kings constant readers should be as pleased as I am that he has regained this ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirteen Times Thrilling!, 20 May 2010
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Paperback)
Here is Stephen King at his best. The writing, the philosophies of mind behind the stories, and the characters are ever more refined than those in his past works.

Each story takes us away on a different and absolutely unexpected journey, so that the whole collection provides more rich entertainment and thought provoking perspectives than a novel of the same length. The adventurous endeavours, surreal twists, and startling shocks are multiplied, yes, THIRTEEN times!

Happy reading! This is a wonderful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliably good, 20 May 2010
By 
Kelly-ann Semper "kasemper" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Paperback)
Stephen King's ability to disturb is as strong as ever, with excellent writing skills. This book is probably a good introduction to the writer if you're not an old time King fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Kindle Edition)
Read this on holiday recently. A range of quality, a few really good ones and some OK. No stinkers though. Overall enjoyed it and teh short story format for Kindle reading in snatches of 20 - 30 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Value Item, 12 May 2014
By 
Alan Edwards (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Paperback)
Item arrived along with my nicotine gum. Very pleased with both! They were in good condition as well. Many thnaks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars s king, 11 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Paperback)
Not many of his books that I haven't read, but this is one of them - looking forward to reading this. Top condition and fast delivery thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what you expect from King., 22 Mar 2014
By 
M. Cummings (Sunbury on Thames) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Kindle Edition)
I like these short stories, not too long and easily read in one sitting. Perfect for the beach, or anywhere else for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short-ish Stories?, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just After Sunset (Paperback)
I think this was the book with short stories - sorry if I'm wrong...Yes some of them were little gems, others not too clever. But then you win some you lose some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just After Sunset
Just After Sunset by Stephen King
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews