Customer Reviews


244 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkles like a diamond
This is one of the most brilliant films I have ever seen: it sparkles like a diamond. It is an affectionate, clever and funny look at the history of "talking pictures" - and so much more! As a fan of old movies and musicals and having a keen interest in the history of motion pictures, I find this to be a truly magical, wonderful film. However, aside from the humour, the...
Published on 4 April 2007 by Gem

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I feel totally misled by Amazon
My Singin' in the Rain Blu Ray / DVD pack arrived today... one movie short. I was led to think by the title "Singin' in the Rain - 60th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition (Blu-ray + DVD)" that I was getting a Blu ray AND remastered DVD version of the film, but noooo.

Even the Amazon review itself talked about the dvd, but was there one, nooooo...
Published on 14 Nov 2012 by S. Green


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkles like a diamond, 4 April 2007
By 
Gem (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most brilliant films I have ever seen: it sparkles like a diamond. It is an affectionate, clever and funny look at the history of "talking pictures" - and so much more! As a fan of old movies and musicals and having a keen interest in the history of motion pictures, I find this to be a truly magical, wonderful film. However, aside from the humour, the music, the charming performers and the glorious technicolour, this film is worth watching for two things alone: Gene Kelly and Donald O'Connor. Their dance routines are an absolute joy to watch. I watch their routines over and over again. The 'Moses' routine is fascinating as these dancers have very different styles and yet they both compliment each other so well. Their dancing is so fantastic it makes you want to cry. If you are a fan of old movies and old movie musicals and this one has managed to pass you by, invest in this movie now and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Classic Musical Chronicling Hollywood History!, 3 July 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Singin' In The Rain [DVD] (DVD)
Not only is this a truly classic musical and a wonderful comedy, it is also a piece of Hollywood history, cataloguing (albeit tongue-in-cheek) the mayhem that ensued when silent pictures gave way to the new-fangled 'talkies,' suddenly putting stars whose voice and face didn't match permanently out of work!
The story opens at a film premiere in Los Angeles' famous Chinese Theatre. Silent film stars Don Lockwood (Gene Kelly) and Lina Lamont (Jean Hagen) arrive for the opening of their latest film - and Don tells the waiting audience how he and Lina first met. Throughout, Lina remains enigmatically silent. Later, the studio boss announces that their next film will be a talkie - and finally the beautiful Lina speaks, revealing the horrible truth: she has a voice that could strip paint and crack teapots!
On his way to the post premiere party, Don meets Kathie Seldon (Debbie Renolds). She is a wannabe actress - and refreshingly unimpressed by his big screen star persona. Don inevitably falls in love with her - but things don't go quite according to plan. Lina is convinced that her on-screen romances with Don are, in fact, the genuine article.
Filming of Don and Lina's new romance, 'The Duelling Cavalier' is soon halted when it become obvious to all that Lina's voice will ruin it. Don's best friend, Cosmo Brown (Donald O'Connor) suggests transforming the film into a musical and dubbing out Lina, using Kathy's beautiful singing voice instead. It seems the perfect solution - but is it a recipe for disaster?
This fabulous musical has possibly one of the best scores of all time. Every song is truly memorable, including: 'All I do is Dream of You,' 'Fit as a Fiddle,' 'You Are My Lucky Star,' 'Broadway Melody,' 'Good Morning,' Make 'em Laugh,' and of course the wonderful title piece 'Singing in the Rain.'
The comedy scenes are a delight; in particular those showing the teething problems with sound-recording and the risible on-screen results are hilarious - especially when the sound goes out of sinc with the film.
Anyone with an interest of Hollywood history knows that these scenes are uncomfortably close to the truth. Even the featured characters: a gossip columnist, exotic femme fatale star, ineffectual studio boss, etc., are based (albeit loosely on real characters). The character of Kathy, (forced by studio bosses to sacrifice her own career to dub the voice of others) might possibly remind many of Marni Nixon, who several years later spent her career dubbing the singing voices of non-singing stars for such famous musicals as 'The King & I' and 'My Fair Lady' - and all without screen credit.
Sound and picture quality on the DVD are greatly superior to the old VHS.
Grab this now - and the next time it rains, you won't be able to resist bursting into song too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technicolor brilliance..., 27 Jan 2006
Produced when Technicolor was a revolutionary and seat-filling innovation, "Singin' in the Rain" is, regardless of its many other claims to fame, a stunning example of how to use the medium's clear, saturated colours to incredibly powerful effect. Every scene is meticulously crafted to amplify the contrast, atmosphere & impact of the technology and, on this superbly rendered DVD rendition, they just jump out of the screen at you.

A truly amazing experience for this reason alone. Add-in its wonderful songs - including Gene Kelly's iconic title number, arguably the best song & dance routine of all time - its brilliant comic sequences - including Donald O'Connor's "Make 'em Laugh" slapstick rollercoaster, arguably the slickest & funniest slice of cinema of all time (watch how he catches his hat towards the beginning... incredible) - and its charmingly optimistic, infectiously entertaining story-line and you've got something very special.

They don't make films like this any more; in fact they didn't make many, if any, films as good as this then. Pure cinematic brilliance - sit back and revel in it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An alltime favorite!, 8 May 2006
I have had this movie on VHS long before DVDs even existed! And watched it countl4ess times, so now my original 2 (!) copies are worn out. This is a wonderful movie, an all-time favourite you can't get tired of!

The humour, the playfulness, the freshness and charm are still intact after so amny years. The songs and dance parts are amazing. This movie is a true legend! Who has never heard of "Singin' in the rain"? *shakes head* everyone has!

The actors are great: Gene Kelly is stunning, Debbie Reynolds is charming in her fresh youth, Donald O'Connor playing Cosmo is extremely funny and Jean Hagen (who plays Lina Lamont) is simply perfect! her voice is so irritating, hehe :-)

This film is a must have, you must have it in your collection, there is nothing that can cheer you up better on a rainy Sunday or after an exhausting week on a Friday night than watching this witty and funny production. This movie is a true gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Blu Ray!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A terrific transfer of a terrific film!
This blu ray provides a wonderful visual and reference quality audio experience of one of Hollywood's finest musicals. The cast are uniformly excellent - the script witty and sophisticated - and the musical numbers a total joy. The extras are splendid too - did you know Gene Kelly had a temperature of 104 when he did that famous number in the rain? So all in all an excellent buy which has achieved wonderful acclaim from all the main blu ray review websites.

Video
Codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 1.37:1
Original aspect ratio: 1.37:1

Audio
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
French: Dolby Digital Mono
Spanish: Dolby Digital Mono
Portuguese: Dolby Digital Mono
German: DTS-HD Master Audio Mono
Italian: Dolby Digital Mono
Czech: Dolby Digital Mono
Polish: Dolby Digital Mono

Subtitles
English SDH, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German SDH, Italian SDH, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Hungarian, Norwegian, Polish, Russian, Swedish

Discs
50GB Blu-ray Disc
Single disc (1 BD)

Playback
Region free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rivetting, 11 April 2005
By 
Frieda Verbaenen (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Maybe I am one of the few who directly go to the extras on DVD and I certainly wasn't disappointed in this one. The film is a classic and can put a smile on my face any time I feel down in the dumps.
I especially loved the special of the Arthur Freed Unit as my favourite musicals were produced by that Unit. Although I am only 41 and born after the heyday of the musical, I have always loved them and especially want to k now how they were made. I will always appreciate the hard work and long hours that were done by anyone involved in these "feel-good" movies (from the time when that wasn't a dirty word).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give me this anyday over Moulin Rouge and Chicago!!, 2 Sep 2003
By 
T. Jayaram "jaypen.com" (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I knew the reputation of Singin' In The Rain.. but i always thought it might be one of those cheesy musicals with one good song, and is famous for no other reason than being great in its day.. but after watching the poor Mouling Rouge and the ok Chicago, and taking into consideration how many people claim these to be a return to form for musicals.. i just had to find out whether they really were, because i could swear musicals were MUCH better than these recent attempts...
And all i can say is all the reputation Singin' In The Rain has is more than well deserved, it is just one of those classic great films, and has to be one of the absolute best musicals i've ever seen. The 90 minutes fly by like nothing else, and you will have a smile on your face for more or less the complete duration... the cast couldn't be any more charismatic or likeable, a very simple story FULL of charm.. and the songs!! great, but don't let me forget the dancing!! now this is one area where we lack today, we simply don't seem to have such amazing performers who can act as good as they dance, and boy can they dance!! some sequences will blow you away. Even the film from a technical stand point is brilliant, every department is inspired.
There is only song i didn't like, the one where they sing about fashion.. other than that this film is near flawless, a masterpiece that will put a smile on even the most cynical face.. cheesy it is NOT!
Add to this one of the best transfers on DVD, and a great price!! an easy Recommendation!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favorite Musicals, 3 May 2004
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are so many aspects of this movie which make it entertaining. For one thing it seems to bring out the best in most of the cast members. This is particularly true of Jean Hagen and Donald O'Connor who turn in stellar performances. Of course Gene Kelly is always in top form. It also helps that SINGIN' IN THE RAIN is a good story about the transition from silent films to talkies.
Surprisingly the movie received only two Oscar nominations which were for Best Supporting Actress (Jean Hagen) and Best Scoring of a Musical Picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical musical and a treasure to watch., 13 Dec 2005
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In my opinion this film is quite easily the best musical of all time. It glistens with great musical numbers and astounding dance sequences. And of course there's the forever popular and famous title track and dance routine.

Basically it stars the ever watchable Gene Kelly and Donald O'Connor with lovely support from Debbie Reynolds. The film is set towards the end of the silent era and moving into the talkies for the first time. And how the actors cope with the major transition.

Gene Kelly performs with such grace and ease that it's an absolute joy to watch. Taking this into account, at the time he performed the "Singin' In The Rain" number in the terrential rain, he had a head cold. You wouldn't know it watching him dance like a demon. One of my favourite musical dance sequences is Donald O'Connor's "Make Em Laugh" routine. It has me in histerics every time I watch it. His movement and comic timing is just genius. And then there's Debbie Reynolds. Her support and singing is a pleasure and a breath of fresh air to the whole movie.

All in all, this musical extravaganza is pure genius through and through. It hasn't dated at all and it looks great on DVD in its new print. The extras on the second DVD are also well worth looking at. There's a half-hour documentary with Debbie Reynolds looking back at the making of the film and what it meant to her and all involved with the project. There are other extras too worth looking in to. Definitely one of my favourite films of all time. A classic gemstone that should be cherished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film has it all!, 6 Nov 2003
This review is from: Singin' In The Rain [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful introduction to all that was great about the musicals of the 50s and earlier. It has fantastic numbers from the plaintive love song 'You Are My Lucky Star' to the comedic duet 'Fit As A Fiddle' and the hugely ambitious 'Broadway Melody' set piece which demonstrated the range and ability of Gene Kelly's talent.
The film tells the story of the period when Hollywood was making the change from silent films to 'talkies' and it does so by relating the difficulties that some stars had in doing so. For those viewers who know a little of Hollywood history it is amusing to try to recognise the real-life inspirations for some of the characters; the venomous gossip queen, the sultry foreign star, the bumbling studio head and so on. Essentialy though, we never lose sight of the three central characters played by Kelly, Reynolds and O'Connor. This is a musical, love story, comedy and documentary (of sorts) all in one and, as such, it will have something that everyone will like.
Keep an eye out for the 50th anniversary edition on 2 discs as it has an excellent commentary as well as 2 documentaries on musicals in general and the making of Singin' in the Rain in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews