Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublimely beautiful disc of sublimely beautiful music
This disc, first issued in 1984, focusses on a recording of the second of three versions Faure made of his Requiem. The first did not include two of the movements and was written for a smaller orchestra without violins, horns or trumpets. The second version from 1893 and recorded here incorporated these extra instruments in a limited but telling way and also included the...
Published on 21 Dec. 2012 by I. Giles

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad pitch on Sanctus
No, I can't recommend this recording because a violin solo is playing the theme on Sanctus part with a bad pitch.
Published 15 months ago by Ankarbranth Stefan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recording, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
Just closed my eyes and listened to the clear uplifting performace by the Cambridge Singers. It is the first time I have had a CD recorded by them and I was very delighted. I am one of those listeners who know very little about music, do not play an instrument or sing apart from in church, but this does not, I think, curtail my enjoyment of just listening and appreciating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faure's requiem, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
I bought this for my son who was singing it at choir.A lovely performance with clear intonation by the choir and beautiful support from the orchestra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faure: Requiem - Cambridge singers, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
Nice clear sound. Bought it to listen to as I am learning this piece with my local choir. A very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
I like this music I hope the recipient will also like it, and inspire her to listen to more Faure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recording, 13 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
Performed Faure's Requiem in Sixth Form and ten years later this music still brings back happy memories - fabulous recording and a definite must if you are looking for beautiful chilled choral music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
I liked this music to compare with other music and it was a need for me to buy this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good I'm told, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
bought this as a gift for a family member for Christmas. I have not hear it but he tells me it is an exceptional recording - he sings this in a choir and is using it to practice so he know what he is talking about - I think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faure: Requiem CD, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
As with Verdi's requiem, a good place to start if you are getting interested in classical music. Unsurprisingly, the 'good bits' are all the better for having immersed yourself into the lead up. (Apologies to serious classical music buffs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad pitch on Sanctus, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Ankarbranth Stefan "Swedish Eyes" (Växjö, Kronoberg, SE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique] (Audio CD)
No, I can't recommend this recording because a violin solo is playing the theme on Sanctus part with a bad pitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews