Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series
I was very happy to catch the box set on Blu-ray at just 28. Perfect! This is a great series and one that keeps me coming back. To set the record straight with a few 'dips' in the seasons it's probably worth mentioning the following:

Season 1 was a great and interesting start to Heroes. Well written, fresh and exciting. Season 2 was a lot shorter and in my...
Published 18 months ago by Sarah

versus
130 of 140 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save the cheerleader,save the world but then what do you do?
Heroes started out very well. It was met with both critical and audience acclaim. It followed the likes of Claire, Peter and of course Hiro, long before their characters become repetitive and at times, annoying (season 3). The stories were engaging and exciting, the villain of the piece, Sylar, was mysterious and dangerous exuding real menace before becoming overexposed...
Published on 13 Sep 2010 by SF- A story is as real as you ...


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 24 Feb 2013
Once you start you just can't stop until you reach the end of the heroes journey. Gripping from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Save the cheerleader save the world!, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching the first series of Heroes on TV I was amazed at how brilliant a series it was. Great characters, great story telling and a brilliant premise. However, series 2 came along and whilst it was still good it was obvious that the series had lost it's way. Saying that it was much better than some of the other rubbish on TV at the time. The drop in quality however was enough to make viewers leave in their droves and what followed was 2 more mediocre series until the show was finally dropped despite a pick up in quality towards the end.

Although I have said rather negative things above it is well worth a watch and series one is brilliant TV. So its definitely worth a view in my opinion. The new box set is really compact and I was quite impressed with how small it was measuring in at 17.5 x 12 x 13.5 cm (L x W x H). Each season comes split over either four discs for seasons 2 and 4 or five discs for seasons 1 & 3. Each season is split over two standard blu-ray cases, so the box contains 8 blu-ray's.

The art work on the actually blu-ray cases is either the Heroes earth logo or a picture of the cast so not as elaborate as the previous releases have been with their comic book style designs. As far as I can tell all the extras from previous releases are included across the 4 seasons.

The image and sound quality are brilliant and looks really good playing through my PS3 onto my 42" TV.

Overall well worth the watch just don't expect the later seasons to follow the quality established in season 1, in what is in my opinion one of the finest things ever put on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who let the Heroes down ?, 7 Dec 2010
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched the first 3 series of Heroes on Tv but missed the last one so decided to buy this set, as it was such a bargain price.
It comes in a very slim box, very understated by Heroes standard.
Watching the first series again was amazing- remembering how great the storyline is and how strong the charachters were & reliving the aspirations it promised. Seeing Hiro, Claire, Peter , his spooky mum and Sylar makes your heart race !
The acting is excellent and everything from the connections & presentation is great. I watched it with my partner who has never seen it before.
For people who have not seen it before it is amazing and for those who were fans, like me, it is great to relive the gripping moments, twists and fantastic uniqueness that Heroes was.
However like the fans ,with the abrupt ending ,the box set lets fans and Tim Kring down. I bought the original first series from America and it was beautiful presented like a comic book, with great diagrams & extras. However this box set has nothing for fans- no leaflets, diagrams or anything linking it to the Heroes series. There are bonuses on each set but nothing special, like the behind the scene series which was shown on tv at the time the series was aired.
It is really disapointing and mirrors how the fans were just forgotten. I really think they should remarket this in the same way they did the first Dvds, and the web site Seven Wonders.
Heroes was unque, totally different & inspirational. The original first 2 series convey this, the last two not so, so why does the boxset not do the same ?
I give the series 4 stars ( would have been 5 if not for the last series never been resolved ) .
If you have never seen this get it- it was an amazing show with a great message- we are all heroes , all unique and working together can make a differance. Just give the last season a miss.
If you are a fan -its worth getting to relive the greatness Heroes was- however if you already have the series Dvds its not worth buying this as it offers nothing new .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality dvd's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great series, very catchy. Original screenplay. Amazing actors, especially everybody knows who :) Highly recommended to all people who's tired of movies about real world. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good collection and very enjoyable., 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great and entertaining box sets for 15+ . I love all the interesting characters and getting to know each characters backgrounds and powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yey, DVD,s!!!!, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am so pleased I got DVD s delivered as I ordered a box set of DVD s. if a VCR box set came I would have been in a right cafuffel as I don't own a VCR, hopefully I would have been able to purchase a VCR player from this site or last resort trawl second hand shops... But knowing my luck would only be able to find a beta max player and I don't think they play VCR s, but luckily DVD s which I ordered arrived so I'm happy, I have not opened the box set yet... Please please be DVD s and not a box of pickled sea horses, they won't play on my x box, I am no expert but even I know that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Skip the box-set buy season 1 instead, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season one was an excellent beginning, introduced all our important characters, Laid the foundation for what the motivations that drove them were, and how exact character fitted together in this compelling interwoven story.

Unfortunately after season 1, it all starts to go down hill, characters become over exposed, start acting contrary to the previously established motivations and in many cases become annoying.

Skip the box-set and save yourself some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very underrated Sci-Fi series, 15 April 2014
When deciding to check out another TV show, I decided to give Heroes a shot despite the very mixed responses I've heard about seasons 2 to 4.

Season 1 is a great start to the series and introduces some very interesting characters who discover they all have super powers and how they effect their day to day lives. The performances are terrific with no weak link in the cast and featuring some very tense moments.

While Season 2 is a step down from the 1st season, it's not the disappointment some critics and fans claim it to be. While the infamous Writer's strike caused less episodes to be created, the characters still shine bright and the season had a satisfactory conclusion.

The shown improves with the 3rd season which features more episodes and further characters development as the heroes learn more of what The Company is all about. While the ratings started to drop towards the end of this season, it deserves more credit than it gets and is definitely an improvement on the 2nd season.

The fourth season would end up being the last as the ratings continued to slide, which is a shame as this season once again shows how underrated this show really is, though it seems to once again be going strong in terms of DVD sales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watching episode after episode, after episode. Perfect! Excellent quality, great boxing and disc storage per season. Very easy to open and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroes - Season 1-4 Complete [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
69.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews